Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
ekisner
Expert
Posts: 195
Liked: 33 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2012 8:04 pm
Full Name: Erik Kisner
Contact:

Question About Replica Sources

Post by ekisner » Jan 07, 2015 6:37 pm

I see that I can source a replica from a backup job. That would be pretty cool, but I have a question about a planned failover.

Would I be able to initiate a planned failover, having it replicate right from the source VM and not from the backup job? Or would I need to re-run the backup first? Both have advantages, on one hand you've got a full backup of your VM prior to failing over, on the other you've got a faster failover if you don't do the backup. Just curious about capabilities.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18287
Liked: 1568 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Question About Replica Sources

Post by foggy » Jan 07, 2015 6:50 pm

During planned failover, VM data is always retrieved from the production so that VM replica be in sync with the latest state of the production VM.

ekisner
Expert
Posts: 195
Liked: 33 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2012 8:04 pm
Full Name: Erik Kisner
Contact:

Re: Question About Replica Sources

Post by ekisner » Jan 07, 2015 7:01 pm

Awesome, that is great to hear. Appreciate the reply, have yourself a great day.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 17 guests