Re-balance extents in a SOBR

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Re-balance extents in a SOBR

Veeam Logoby akrietsch » Thu Apr 12, 2018 5:14 pm

We have a SOBR with some extents that all match up to individual volumes on some Cisco storage servers. We are getting low on space across all of the extents, so we have purchased another Cisco storage server to add to the SOBR. My question is about our active backup jobs that go to this SOBR. I know that any newly backed up VMs would choose the new empty extents we add to the SOBR, but I believe that all existing backup chains would continue to write to the extents where they currently reside (which are getting full). This is because we are using the "Data Locality" policy. We do this because we use the per-VM backup chains and utilize the ReFS space savings, so we want an entire backup chain to be on the same extent.

What would be the best way to get some of our already backed up VMs to start writing to the new empty extents? The description of the data locality policy says that "...however, the next full backup can be created on another extent". If I add some empty extents to the SOBR, does this mean that the next time it takes full backups it will choose to write to the new extents since it sees there is free space and it generally tries to balance it all out?

If not and I am misunderstanding, is there something else we can do to migrate backup files from the current almost-full extent over to the new extents so that we do not run out of space?
akrietsch
Influencer
 
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2016 9:12 pm
Full Name: Alex Krietsch

Re: Re-balance extents in a SOBR

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Fri Apr 13, 2018 9:34 am 1 person likes this post

Hello Alex,
Indeed new chain, starting from full backup should be written on the new extent. Unless you have a dedup storage appliance as SOBR extent, otherwise new chain will be placed to the extent where the previous backup chain resides.
Thanks
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5673
Liked: 486 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Re-balance extents in a SOBR

Veeam Logoby akrietsch » Fri Apr 13, 2018 11:49 am

Thanks. Do I need to take active fulls, or if my backups are set up to take synthetic fulls once a week will it still place those on the new extents?
akrietsch
Influencer
 
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2016 9:12 pm
Full Name: Alex Krietsch

Re: Re-balance extents in a SOBR

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Fri Apr 13, 2018 12:21 pm 1 person likes this post

You don't need to start active full manually. Synthetically created full backup should be placed on the new extent.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5673
Liked: 486 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Re-balance extents in a SOBR

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Apr 13, 2018 12:38 pm 1 person likes this post

In case there's no sufficient space on the extent for incremental backup, it will be placed to the new extent even before new full is created.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 16024
Liked: 1228 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 41 guests