Restore only non existing files

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Re: Restore only non existing files

Veeam Logoby dweide » Fri Dec 02, 2016 7:54 am

+1 vote for this request!
dweide
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 32
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 1:57 pm
Full Name: D. Weide

Re: Restore only non existing files

Veeam Logoby brett.hopkins » Thu Dec 22, 2016 8:41 pm

If it was, we would probably hear this request more than once in 8 years ;)


I am also surprised this isn't a feature. I have used it many times in backup exec. Hasn't been a huge deal yet in Veeam for us, as our file servers are still stuck on backup exec for the time being. I am in the middle of "copying" 18369 pdf's when 18325 files will be skipped. Thank goodness this is a new server and it calculates all this up front instead of per file
brett.hopkins
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 4:43 pm
Full Name: Brett Hopkins

Re: Recovering from ransomware

Veeam Logoby dgrambo » Fri Jan 27, 2017 12:11 am

Gostev wrote:If it was, we would probably hear this request more than once in 8 years ;)


Whatever. No one believes that. There are several pages right here on this thread alone!

Of course, there should be an option to restore only missing files. This is true of any enterprise recovery environment.

If you suggest to restore ALL DATA to a secondary location and then figure out how to select and move the data yourself (which I just did btw, shout out to ViceVersa Pro) then sorry VEEAM, but thats not enterprise level.

We paid for an enterprise level solution and so naturally we expected one.
dgrambo
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2017 11:34 pm

Re: Restore only non existing files

Veeam Logoby jmmarton » Fri Jan 27, 2017 2:22 pm

Quick note about current capabilities: there's no need to restore everything to an alternate location. Once you kick off FLR for a particular VM, all the volumes are mounted locally under C:\VeeamFLR, with a folder created underneath that location for the VM. At that point it's still up to you to then script copying everything that's missing. Robocopy should be able to do this, or possibly even xcopy with the /d switch. Yes, it's a workaround, but the main point here is that you do not need to restore everything first.

Joe
jmmarton
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 943
Liked: 101 times
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 2:38 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Full Name: Joe Marton

Re: Restore only non existing files

Veeam Logoby WRS2200 » Fri Jan 27, 2017 9:30 pm

When using robocopy make sure you don't forget to specify how many retries. The default for this switch is 1 million retries on failed copy actions.
WRS2200
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 28
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 8:21 pm
Full Name: Weston Strom

[MERGED] VBR9.5 Incremental Restore?

Veeam Logoby bhagen » Wed Aug 09, 2017 3:56 pm

I'm wondering if there's such thing as an "incremental restore"?

Say I restore a folder from a good backup to a separate drive, then continue to backup the original folder. Something changes in the original folder and gets backed up. If I then restore *that* backup over the top of the folder I restored to the seperate drive, will I restore only the changes? Or the entire folder?

Here's the "long" version, with the actual scenario I'm looking at.

ServerA is a Windows 2008 VM on a VMWare 5.1 host. Within Windows 2008, an iscsi connection was made to a NAS and the storage there is now the N: drive within ServerA. (Yes, that's real. Rather than attaching the NAS to the ESXi host as external storage, it was done this way. It was long ago, before we were experts. :-) ) Files on the N: drive take up about 5Tb of space.

Not only does VBR *not* backup iscsi attached drives, but that NAS is old and needs to be retired. (Veeam agent for windows backs up iscsi attached drives, but that's not a long term solution.)

So I'm spinning up a new wizbang VMWare 6.0U3 datacenter stack with gobs of VSAN space and moving servers to it. I of course want to move ServerA to the new datacenter and VSAN, and move everything from the iscsi NAS space to a VMDK on that VSAN.

I can only have the N: drive "down" for a night, or maybe a weekend.

So here's my thought on how to accomplish this:

1. Backup the N: drive via Veeam Agent for Windows
2. Restore that backup to a VMDK on the new VSAN
3. Rename the N: drive to Z:
4. Attach the restored VMDK to ServerA and assign it to N:
5. Profit

Problems with this scenario:
Step 2 is going to take about 3 days, maybe more. In the mean time, folks are still busily using the N: drive. It can't be down for the amount of time it will take to restore it to a VMDK. How am I going to capture the changed files?

Incremental Restore??

While the restore (N: drive to a vmdk, taking about 3 days) is happening, I'm still doing Agent backups on that N: drive and capturing the incrementals. This only takes an average of 45 minutes.
Once the restore is complete, I'm hoping I can:
1. Mount the VMDK to ServerA and give it a drive letter; say Y:
2. Kick everybody off the N: drive for the evening.
3. Do one last incremental.
4. Then restore *that* incremental to the Y: drive.
5. Change drive letters
6. Profit

Questions:
If I do this, will I only be restoring the delta files? Will it only take as long as restoring the changed files? Or is Veeam going to restore the *entire* 5TB again, taking another 3 days?

My apologies for the wall of text, but this is the scenario we're in, and I need to find a solution.

Thanks for your help!
bhagen
Influencer
 
Posts: 22
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 10:26 pm

Re: Restore only non existing files

Veeam Logoby bhagen » Wed Aug 09, 2017 8:49 pm

Wait...this seriously just got moved into a 2 year old feature request thread??? And the feature hasn't been implemented??

Well played, Veeam...well played.

Not. :-(
bhagen
Influencer
 
Posts: 22
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 10:26 pm

Re: [MERGED] VBR9.5 Incremental Restore?

Veeam Logoby einhirn » Mon Aug 28, 2017 11:13 am

Hello bhagen,

bhagen wrote:So I'm spinning up a new wizbang VMWare 6.0U3 datacenter stack with gobs of VSAN space and moving servers to it. I of course want to move ServerA to the new datacenter and VSAN, and move everything from the iscsi NAS space to a VMDK on that VSAN.

I can only have the N: drive "down" for a night, or maybe a weekend.


why not do it without having the "N:" drive "down" at all: Use Windows's own "Disk Mirror" feature.

Have "ServerA" moved to the new Datacenter, with the iSCSI mount working like before.
Add a new VMDK disk to the Server as the new Space. Do not create a partition on it yet.
Open Windows Disk Manager and right-click "Add Mirror" on the iSCSI mounted Volume ("N:").
Select the new Disk as a Target (it should be offered).

It will probably warn you that it'll convert both drives into "Dynamic Disk"s, but that didn't have any impacted for me before.

Now Windows will start to block-wise mirror the drive, this will take quite some time for the size you mentioned.

When the initial mirroring is finished, you can remove the old, iSCSI-mounted drive from the mirror. I have done this multiple times to move data off some RDM-LUNs when we moved off of our FC-SAN. It still is the go-to method for me when I have to reduce the size of a VMDK-based disk in Windows - shrink volume, add new vmdk with reduced size, mirror, remove oversized VMDK.

Hope that helps! If there are any questions, just ask - I'll gladly try to help.
einhirn
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 30
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 1:51 pm

Previous

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest