ReFS and Fast Clone without Active Full Backup

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Re: ReFS and Fast Clone without Active Full Backup

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Mon Dec 05, 2016 10:57 pm

You will see [fast clone] tag next to synthetic full operations in the job log.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21385
Liked: 2348 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: ReFS and Fast Clone without Active Full Backup

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Tue Dec 06, 2016 5:57 am

Gulzar,

Before you can start using block clone functionality of ReFS, you will need to have a windows server 2016 with an ReFS volume (a new one) and then use that volume as a backup repository. From that moment on it starts to vary. You can either move your backups from your old repository but then it won't start using that functionality because you will need to have an active full first (we need to write it correctly first before we can do this) or as you can read above (in case of a reverse incremental) you can use the compact utility.

Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3150
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: ReFS and Fast Clone without Active Full Backup

Veeam Logoby ptoro » Sat Apr 29, 2017 5:26 pm 2 people like this post

FAST CLONE IS AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!

What used to take 3 hours took 5 minutes. PERFECT!!

Also, did have to take a active full backup in order for fast clone to work next time around. All in all, can't complain about the results.
ptoro
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2015 4:41 pm

Previous

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests