Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
fe333
Service Provider
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Remove of Snapshots

Post by fe333 »

Hi,

today i have a problem that a already know.
But i hope that it is possible to solve it easier...

Several times i had the problem that a backup job hang.
I have to stop the job by killing the process.

After this i have a snapshot on the vm and can´t remove it.
The ESX always says "Unable to access file since it is locked".

The backups are NOT in Virtual Appliance mode.
The Veeam Server ist physical.
I know the problem with "virtual Appliance" mode.

Actually i have to reboot the esx to release the snaphots files.
And sometimes i have to clone the vmdk-files to delete the snapshot.

It is possible to release snapshot files without reboot?

Thanks.

Frederik

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24075
Liked: 1807 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Remove of Snapshots

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hello Frederik,
fe333 wrote:Several times i had the problem that a backup job hang.
Could you please tell me what version of Veeam B&R are you using? Basically, it is not expected to have hung backup jobs, so this behavior should definitely be investigated by our support team. Once you resolve hung jobs issue, locked snapshots shouldn't appear any longer.

Thanks.

fe333
Service Provider
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: Remove of Snapshots

Post by fe333 »

In other cases it was Veeam 5. But there was the problem that the backup storage run full...

In this case it is Veeam 4.1.1.
I will update to Veeam 5.

Can Veeam 5 help at this moment to release snapshot
or does it only help to stop hanging jobs in the future
and i have to remove the snapshot manual?

Thanks.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24075
Liked: 1807 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Remove of Snapshots

Post by Vitaliy S. »

fe333 wrote:Can Veeam 5 help at this moment to release snapshot or does it only help to stop hanging jobs in the future and i have to remove the snapshot manual?
Neither v4 nor v5 process snapshot removal, this process is handled solely by VMware hypervisor (our code simply asks it to do so). However, with v5 you shouldn't have hung backup/replication jobs, so your main problem should go away "automatically". Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], JamesieA and 47 guests