Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
lmsilvero
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 20, 2012 11:46 pm
Full Name: Lucas Matias Silvero
Contact:

Replica active on fileover status after delete VM replica lo

Post by lmsilvero » Jan 07, 2015 4:18 pm

Hi all,
I have two sites one of Production (CPP) and a Contingency (CAP) both VMWare Clusters. I had to take a test and sent a VM1 from CPP to CAP (failover). When I tried to get back VM1 from CAP to CPP (failback to production) the process failed and could not restore the VM1 in CPP. Then we decided to move the VM1Replica from CAP to CPP with other Veeam installation rename the VM from VMWare to VM1 and the process was successful, I mean the VM1 is already in CPP. The problem I have, is that the replica is in state of failover, having erased the VM1Replica in CAP and do a rescan of the replicas. Anyway now I make another replica successfully from CAP to CPP.
In short I am replicating VM1 from CPP to CAP but I still have to failover state.

The question is: if I do a failover undo that job, it will overwrite the current state of VM1 in CPP, or should fail?

Replicas Active (1)
Name Job Name Status Creation time Retore points Original location Replica location
VM1 VM1 Failover 11/12/2014 7:57pm 1 CPP CAP

Replicas Ready
Name Job Name Status Creation time Retore points Original location Replica location
VM1 VM1 Ready 07/01/2015 1:04pm 1 CPP CAP

Thx

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1564 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Replica active on fileover status after delete VM replic

Post by foggy » Jan 07, 2015 5:18 pm

Lucas, I suggest contacting technical support for assistance with Veeam B&R database cleanup, to get rid of the obsolete replica record. Thanks.

lmsilvero
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 20, 2012 11:46 pm
Full Name: Lucas Matias Silvero
Contact:

Re: Replica active on fileover status after delete VM replic

Post by lmsilvero » Jan 08, 2015 2:21 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi,
We have resolved the incident with the help of veeam support, it was necessary to access and update veeam db

First identify the id of the replica in failover state
Select * from [backup.model.oibs] where vmname = 'VM1';

Once obtained the id of the replica in failover proceed to update the db
Use Veeambackup
update [backup.model.oibs] set state = '0' where id = 'XXXXXXXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXXXXXXXXXX'
delete from [backup.model.restorejobsessions] where oib_id = 'XXXXXXXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXXXXXXXXXX'
delete from [backup.model.oibsfailoverinfo]

Thx

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6974
Liked: 714 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Replica active on fileover status after delete VM replic

Post by Shestakov » Jan 08, 2015 2:50 pm

Thank you for updating the topic, Lucas!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], derrick.chong and 27 guests