Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
sonic23
Influencer
Posts: 23
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Sep 23, 2016 1:31 pm
Full Name: Jesus Martin
Contact:

Replicate a VM without restore points, just Full image.

Post by sonic23 » Sep 23, 2016 2:09 pm

Hi,

We just switched from vRanger to Veeam in backup our VMware VMs and we love it. I just want to ask if there's a way to replicate the VMs with just consolidating the recent changes to the Full replica image? Basically we don't want restore points in replica VMs as it takes more space, with vRanger it just injects the changes on the VM replica so only keeps one image without any snapshots.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23001
Liked: 1557 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Replicate a VM without restore points, just Full image.

Post by Vitaliy S. » Sep 23, 2016 2:24 pm

Hello,

I would suggest to keep at least one snapshots, as imagine that your source VM got corrupted and then you replicate all the changes to the DR site. If you don't have at least 1 restore point to go back to, then your entire replica VM becomes also unusable/corrupted.

Thank you!

sonic23
Influencer
Posts: 23
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Sep 23, 2016 1:31 pm
Full Name: Jesus Martin
Contact:

Re: Replicate a VM without restore points, just Full image.

Post by sonic23 » Sep 23, 2016 2:46 pm

Thanks for the quick response. I see what you mean and honestly thinking about that but doing this means a longer replication window as it deletes the old full replica and recreates another full every other day. About corruption, we are expecting the backups to help us with that.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1564 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Replicate a VM without restore points, just Full image.

Post by foggy » Sep 23, 2016 2:47 pm

Replication job syncs only changes during each run, it doesn't delete/recreate full VM image every time.

sonic23
Influencer
Posts: 23
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Sep 23, 2016 1:31 pm
Full Name: Jesus Martin
Contact:

Re: Replicate a VM without restore points, just Full image.

Post by sonic23 » Sep 23, 2016 3:04 pm

Oh I see, thanks for clarifying.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23001
Liked: 1557 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Replicate a VM without restore points, just Full image.

Post by Vitaliy S. » Sep 23, 2016 3:45 pm

foggy wrote:Replication job syncs only changes during each run, it doesn't delete/recreate full VM image every time.
...and these changes are stored in the snapshot, and snapshot commit task doesn't take much time on the powered off VM, so replication window shouldn't be affected.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests