Replicate a VM without restore points, just Full image.

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Replicate a VM without restore points, just Full image.

Veeam Logoby sonic23 » Fri Sep 23, 2016 2:09 pm

Hi,

We just switched from vRanger to Veeam in backup our VMware VMs and we love it. I just want to ask if there's a way to replicate the VMs with just consolidating the recent changes to the Full replica image? Basically we don't want restore points in replica VMs as it takes more space, with vRanger it just injects the changes on the VM replica so only keeps one image without any snapshots.
sonic23
Influencer
 
Posts: 20
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 1:31 pm
Full Name: Jesus Martin

Re: Replicate a VM without restore points, just Full image.

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Sep 23, 2016 2:24 pm

Hello,

I would suggest to keep at least one snapshots, as imagine that your source VM got corrupted and then you replicate all the changes to the DR site. If you don't have at least 1 restore point to go back to, then your entire replica VM becomes also unusable/corrupted.

Thank you!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19545
Liked: 1099 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Replicate a VM without restore points, just Full image.

Veeam Logoby sonic23 » Fri Sep 23, 2016 2:46 pm

Thanks for the quick response. I see what you mean and honestly thinking about that but doing this means a longer replication window as it deletes the old full replica and recreates another full every other day. About corruption, we are expecting the backups to help us with that.
sonic23
Influencer
 
Posts: 20
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 1:31 pm
Full Name: Jesus Martin

Re: Replicate a VM without restore points, just Full image.

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Sep 23, 2016 2:47 pm

Replication job syncs only changes during each run, it doesn't delete/recreate full VM image every time.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14728
Liked: 1077 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Replicate a VM without restore points, just Full image.

Veeam Logoby sonic23 » Fri Sep 23, 2016 3:04 pm

Oh I see, thanks for clarifying.
sonic23
Influencer
 
Posts: 20
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 1:31 pm
Full Name: Jesus Martin

Re: Replicate a VM without restore points, just Full image.

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Sep 23, 2016 3:45 pm

foggy wrote:Replication job syncs only changes during each run, it doesn't delete/recreate full VM image every time.

...and these changes are stored in the snapshot, and snapshot commit task doesn't take much time on the powered off VM, so replication window shouldn't be affected.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19545
Liked: 1099 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], RioUser1, Yahoo [Bot] and 35 guests