Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
bartelsr
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 09, 2009 12:50 pm
Full Name: Robèrt Bartels
Contact:

Replicate ESX hosts to eachother

Post by bartelsr »

Hi,

I want to replicate two ESX hosts to eachother.
When I select host1 and replicate them to host 2 that goes allright (all available VM's are called *-replica)
After this I want to replicate host 2 to host 1 that works also...
When looking at Host 1 I see the *-replica VM's are also copied...

So at host 1 I now have: VMserver1 :D
VM1server1_replica_replica :(

And at host 2 I now have: VMserver1_replica :)

How can I replicate between two hosts without replicate all replica's?
And I don't like the option to replicate each VM independent...

Thanks!,

Robèrt

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 27173
Liked: 4455 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Replicate ESX hosts to eachother

Post by Gostev »

Robèrt, in that case you should use VM folders to organize you jobs. Just create new VM folder and place all production VMs you want to replicate in it, then add the folder to the job. When replica VMs come over from another host, they will not be added to this folder, thus they will not get picked up by the replication job. Hope this helps!

bartelsr
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 09, 2009 12:50 pm
Full Name: Robèrt Bartels
Contact:

Re: Replicate ESX hosts to eachother

Post by bartelsr »

Hi Gostev,

Thanks for your reply!!!
I don't understand the folder option you mentioned.
Should I create a folder at the "Servers" container in Veeam Backup?
If I do that I can't move the VM's to that folder...

Perhaps you've got a link for me where it is described.

Thanks in advance!

Robèrt

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 27173
Liked: 4455 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Replicate ESX hosts to eachother

Post by Gostev »

Hi Robèrt, I am talking about VM folders that you can create using VMware Infrastucture Client (this is not a feature of Veeam Backup). As soon as you add VM folder in your VMware Infrastucture, you will be able to select them in Veeam Backup when stuffing the job (just switch to the folder view using mode switch on top of UI control where you select object to be added to the job).

bartelsr
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 09, 2009 12:50 pm
Full Name: Robèrt Bartels
Contact:

Re: Replicate ESX hosts to eachother

Post by bartelsr »

Allright, we are using two standalone hosts, is it possible that the functionality you discribed is not available then? :cry:

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 27173
Liked: 4455 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Replicate ESX hosts to eachother

Post by Gostev »

Robèrt, yes - unfortunately it only becomes available with vCenter.

bartelsr
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 09, 2009 12:50 pm
Full Name: Robèrt Bartels
Contact:

Re: Replicate ESX hosts to eachother

Post by bartelsr »

Gostev, thanks anyhow for your support, much appreciated! :wink:

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 27173
Liked: 4455 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Replicate ESX hosts to eachother

Post by Gostev »

Robèrt, no problems, sorry the solution did not work for you. Please note that we have added ability to exclude specific VMs from the job in the upcoming Veeam Backup 4.0 release, not sure if this will help you much in your scenario though (this would still require manually excluding unneeded replica VMs one by one).

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot] and 38 guests