Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
Fenikas
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 18, 2016 10:17 pm
Full Name: Kenny Placido
Contact:

replicate physical server to physical server

Post by Fenikas » Oct 18, 2016 10:39 pm

Hello,

Im new on the forum. I have had Veeam for a year and it has been great. Im in the process of doing my DR and using replication with Veeam has saved me alot of time. I have 2 physcial servers that need to be replicated to another DR server, but i dont know if veeam can do that. Is it true? If not, are there any cheap or free software that can do this?

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5264
Liked: 459 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: replicate physical server to physical server

Post by P.Tide » Oct 19, 2016 6:19 am

Hi,

Currently Veeam does not provide physical host replication function. Do you really need to replicate the whole server, or just some apps?

Thank you.

Fenikas
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 18, 2016 10:17 pm
Full Name: Kenny Placido
Contact:

Re: replicate physical server to physical server

Post by Fenikas » Oct 19, 2016 9:41 pm

It would the whole server. It has our SQL 2008 database. The os is 2008 R2

jmmarton
Veeam Software
Posts: 1655
Liked: 224 times
Joined: Nov 17, 2015 2:38 am
Full Name: Joe Marton
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: replicate physical server to physical server

Post by jmmarton » Oct 20, 2016 2:17 pm

One thing you can do once we release our new Agent for Microsoft Windows is to use the server edition of it to backup your physical SQL server, including periodic transaction log backups. Then you could easily spin up a replacement SQL server either as a VM or a separate physical box and restore the database in the event of a disaster to that replacement server.

Joe

sanjaykrk
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Apr 09, 2016 12:12 am
Full Name: Sanjay kumar
Contact:

Re: replicate physical server to physical server

Post by sanjaykrk » Oct 21, 2016 7:26 am

Kenny
Fenikas wrote:Im new on the forum. I have had Veeam for a year and it has been great. Im in the process of doing my DR and using replication with Veeam has saved me alot of time. I have 2 physcial servers that need to be replicated to another DR server, but i dont know if veeam can do that. Is it true? If not, are there any cheap or free software that can do this?
Not exactly a physical server replication, but depeending on your requirement, as an alternative you can look at Veeam Endpoint backup Free which is solution for backing up physical servers to a backup repository
https://www.veeam.com/endpoint-backup-free.html

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], NightBird and 15 guests