Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
samuk
Expert
Posts: 127
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 18, 2009 2:15 pm
Full Name: Sam
Contact:

Replicating over a VPN Link

Post by samuk » Dec 07, 2009 12:17 pm

Just wanted to know if replciation is possible out of hours over a VPN link between two sites?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24812
Liked: 3572 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Replicating over a VPN Link

Post by Gostev » Dec 07, 2009 12:47 pm

Sure, why not? Please clarify where exactly do you suspect the issue?

samuk
Expert
Posts: 127
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 18, 2009 2:15 pm
Full Name: Sam
Contact:

Re: Replicating over a VPN Link

Post by samuk » Dec 07, 2009 12:52 pm

Hi Gostev,

I was thinking upload speeds the size of the replicaiton changes.

Servers include file Servers, Exchange and SQL etc..

I have done the initial replicaiton locally on the LAN, was going to take the DR server to the remote site.

Can i esitimate the size of the replciaiton looking at the size of the vrb file?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24812
Liked: 3572 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Replicating over a VPN Link

Post by Gostev » Dec 07, 2009 1:11 pm

Yes, this is exactly how you should do this.

samuk
Expert
Posts: 127
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 18, 2009 2:15 pm
Full Name: Sam
Contact:

Re: Replicating over a VPN Link

Post by samuk » Dec 07, 2009 1:18 pm

VRB file sizes for replicaiton:

Exchange: 4.4GB (not sure why this is soo big)
File Server: 1.5GB
Domain Controllers: 500MB
SQL: 3GB

Upload speed of our ADSL is 0.64Mb/s - so maybe it wont finish in one night?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24812
Liked: 3572 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Replicating over a VPN Link

Post by Gostev » Dec 07, 2009 1:31 pm

Yes, the link is probably too slow to replicate such amount of data.
Exchange and SQL VRBs are large because these applications use transaction logs, which in turn update many VMDK blocks.

vbussiro
Enthusiast
Posts: 64
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 18, 2009 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Replicating over a VPN Link

Post by vbussiro » Dec 08, 2009 8:52 am

Someone (...) told me it was possible to exclude swap files by moving them into separate virtual disks. You should have some improvement then.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], christopher-swe, FSenturk, SHL and 51 guests