Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
jimmymc
Service Provider
Posts: 30
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Dec 09, 2010 3:06 pm
Contact:

Replicating single VM to multiple datastores - possible?

Post by jimmymc »

Hi

I notice from the FAQ and a couple of forum messages that there was an issue with v4 in that if you have a VM with a couple of disks on different datastores, you couldn't restore that virtual machine and keep those disks on different datastores. That I see, has been addressed in v5.

Does anyone know if this is the same for replication?

Cheers, James

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26679
Liked: 4268 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Replicating single VM to multiple datastores - possible?

Post by Gostev »

Hi James, no - this is for backup only... we are addressing this for replication as well in the next release. Thanks!

jimmymc
Service Provider
Posts: 30
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Dec 09, 2010 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Replicating single VM to multiple datastores - possible?

Post by jimmymc »

Cool thanks - the next minor or major release? Any timescales?

Ta for the info..

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26679
Liked: 4268 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Replicating single VM to multiple datastores - possible?

Post by Gostev »

Unfortunately, I am not able to provide any public information on the next release timelines at this point. Our policy is to only start talking about dates only when we get close to the actual release, not to set false expectations. Thanks.

jimmymc
Service Provider
Posts: 30
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Dec 09, 2010 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Replicating single VM to multiple datastores - possible?

Post by jimmymc »

Hi Anton

Just wondered if there was any news on the above?

Cheers, James

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26679
Liked: 4268 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Replicating single VM to multiple datastores - possible?

Post by Gostev »

Hi James, my previous reply is still applicable at this time. Thanks.

juz_far
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 21, 2009 1:10 am
Full Name: Justin Farrow
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Virtual Disk Mapping in replicas

Post by juz_far »

[merged into existing discussion]

Hi all.

I don't think it's possible but thought I woudl ask the question......

I currently have an iSCSI SAN configuration that is mapping internal vDisks of a VM to seperate VMFS volumes on the SAN for each of it's disks. This apparently increases performance in relation to iSCSI reads/writes but I'm yet to confirm this.

Anyway, we have just configured an identical hardware layout at a remote site and shall be replicating VMs for DR. What I would like to know is;

Can I configure virtual disk drive mappings within the replica in some way to have the same volume configurations at the DR site or am I better off creating large VMFS Datastores at the DR Site and just replicate the VMs into a single VMFS datastore? This would still mean I would have under 4 VMs within each datastore so I don't think I would encounter any performance degradation on the DR SAN with a few large datastores as opposed to individual datastores for vDisks.
Correct?

thanks

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24243
Liked: 1859 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Replicating single VM to multiple datastores - possible?

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hi Justin,

Currently there is no way to map virtual disks into different datastores, that functionality should be available in the next major release. That said, the only option you have now is to replicate VMs into a single VMFS LUN. Having 4 VMs per LUN shouldn't cause any performance degradation, however I should admit that this fact purely depends on the hardware storage you have on the DR site.

Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 34 guests