Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
Bunce
Expert
Posts: 259
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Sep 18, 2009 9:56 am
Full Name: Andrew
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Replicating Veeam Database

Post by Bunce » Sep 16, 2010 7:05 am

I've setup a replication job to replicate our V4 Veeam HO database (SQL Snapshot Replication) to our DR site (running its own SQL server). Call it VeeamV4HO.

At the DR site I have an existing Veeam server doing local backups with database - VeeamV4DR.

I've stopped the service on the Veeam server at the DR site, updated the 'SQLDatabaseName' registry entry to point to Veeam4HO, but when I restart the service I get an error:

"Configuration database is in use by the veeam Backup console installed on 'XXX-XXX'. To reconnect database to this console, please run Veeam Backup setup program"

So I'm guessing theres a record in the database somewhere which flags which server has created/connected to it.

Is there a way to update this value in the DB? I was hoping to be able to switch between database simply by stopping the service, updating the reg key, and restarting the service again.

Thanks,
A

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22760
Liked: 1519 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Replicating Veeam Database

Post by Vitaliy S. » Sep 16, 2010 8:05 am

Andrew,

To resolve this you should update the registry key on the DR site for Veeam backup server, please see all the instructions here:
http://www.veeam.com/forums/viewtopic.p ... nfo#p12702

Hope it helps!

Bunce
Expert
Posts: 259
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Sep 18, 2009 9:56 am
Full Name: Andrew
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: Replicating Veeam Database

Post by Bunce » Sep 17, 2010 5:43 am

Thanks Vitaly.

Figured it must have been something else in the Registry, as I couldn't find a record in the DB anywhere.

Cheers,
A

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24431
Liked: 3405 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Replicating Veeam Database

Post by Gostev » Sep 17, 2010 10:06 am

Sure, this is a registry key.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests