Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
ej72
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 26, 2009 7:07 pm
Full Name: Erik Maurer

Replication job - user authentication failed

Post by ej72 »

I am evaluating Veeam Backup and Replication in a test environment with 2 vSphere boxes (4.0.0 build-171294), vsphere1 and vsphere2. I built a test VM on vsphere1 and am trying to replicate it to vsphere2 but I keep getting an error, the job summary shows this:
-------------------------------
Checking retention policy
Failed to login to "192.168.5.43" by SSH, port 22, user "root", elevateToRoot False, autoSudo False
User authentication failed.
-------------------------------
I was able to add the 2 vshpere servers to the servers list but for some reason I cannot run a backup or replication job. I checked the firewall and SSH server and client are enabled.

Any advice is appreciated. Thank you.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24260
Liked: 1865 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Replication job - user authentication failed

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hello Erik,

It seems like your root access is not enabled for the ESX hosts (it is disabled by default), after you enable it, the job should be successful. Also please check if you have specified root credentials for your Hosts at Veeam Backup and Replication console (try to browse your hosts using Veeam).

If you need any instructions of how to do both, please contact us writing to support@veeam.com

Thank you.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26706
Liked: 4277 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Replication job - user authentication failed

Post by Gostev »

PUTTY test is most convenient thing for troubleshooting this type of errors. Until you are able to connect to ESX host with PUTTY using the same credentails, Veeam Backup will not be able to work with the given ESX host either. By the way, PUTTY is included with Veeam Backup setup and can be started directly from Veeam Backup command menu - just a little convenience.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], neon_nico and 36 guests