Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
Stewart
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sep 20, 2011 2:29 pm
Full Name: Stewart Hyde

Replication licensing

Post by Stewart »

Hi

Is it possible to only license some processors within a VMware cluster?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 29372
Liked: 5486 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Replication licensing

Post by Gostev »

Hi, absolutely. The license only gets assigned to the host's sockets when you actually backup or replicate VM running on it for the first time. Thus, if you do not process VMs from some hosts, their sockets will not be accounted towards the used licenses. Thanks.

Stewart
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sep 20, 2011 2:29 pm
Full Name: Stewart Hyde

Re: Replication licensing

Post by Stewart »

Hi

This was a question regarding a cluster of 7 x 4-way servers (28 processors) and then setting affinity so certain protected VMs could only reside on 3 of the ESX hosts, and only buying 12 licenses.

From what you are saying this is possible.

Thanks again.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 29372
Liked: 5486 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Replication licensing

Post by Gostev »

That is correct!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 41 guests