Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
vherdt
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 04, 2011 10:33 am
Contact:

Replication only works over network instead of san

Post by vherdt » Sep 27, 2011 12:07 pm

Hello,

I would like to configure our replication jobs over SAN. I created four vmfs volumes replica01-replica04 in the vSphere Farm where the replica vms should be placed. The veeam server sees also the four vmfs volumes like the other vmfs volumes where our vms are located.
If I configure a replication job and choose "SAN with failover" the replication process goes over network. Is my design incorrect?

We use ESXi 4.1, 433742 Hosts.

Thanks

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18244
Liked: 1558 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Replication only works over network instead of san

Post by foggy » Sep 27, 2011 12:21 pm

Please make sure you have correctly configured your Veeam Backup server to use direct SAN access mode (see this topic for details). Also, note that direct SAN access only refers to source data retrieval and replicated data are always transferred over the regular network. Thanks.

vherdt
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 04, 2011 10:33 am
Contact:

Re: Replication only works over network instead of san

Post by vherdt » Sep 27, 2011 12:25 pm

I configured the veeam server for SAN. The backup jobs works over SAN. So it means that a replication job always goes over network? Beacause I have only 2 MB/s at the first replication of a vm.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18244
Liked: 1558 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Replication only works over network instead of san

Post by foggy » Sep 27, 2011 12:54 pm

In both cases of backup and replication, the data should be retrieved directly from SAN and then transferred to the target storage over the network.

vherdt
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 04, 2011 10:33 am
Contact:

Re: Replication only works over network instead of san

Post by vherdt » Sep 27, 2011 2:27 pm

I started a replication job hours ago and all the time I have only 6 MB/s. Is this normal?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18244
Liked: 1558 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Replication only works over network instead of san

Post by foggy » Sep 27, 2011 3:10 pm

Processing rates depend on the job settings and your link/environment. If you don't see that the job is failing over to network mode in the session statistics, then review this thread for possible reasons of performance bottlenecks.

Sethbartlett
Expert
Posts: 282
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Nov 10, 2010 6:51 pm
Full Name: Seth Bartlett
Contact:

Re: Replication only works over network instead of san

Post by Sethbartlett » Sep 27, 2011 7:19 pm

We read data over the SAN but will not write the data over the SAN which is why you are seeing network traffic. The job processing modes are for read only, not write. Currently, it will write over the network.
Skype: Sethbartlett88 - Make sure to label who you are and why you want to add me ;)
Twitter: @sethbartlett
If my post was helpful, please like it. Sometimes twitter is quicker to hit me up if you need me.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], jewij, ned and 32 guests