Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
pmalinov
Enthusiast
Posts: 72
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Dec 15, 2009 6:14 pm
Contact:

Replication Speed / Size of replicated data

Post by pmalinov » Dec 06, 2010 8:44 pm

We have been using VEEAM backup for a while now, and really like the features of the backup and restore.
We also started replicating VEEAM to offsite DR site and noticed that it takes a very long time (over a 10mbps fiber pipe).

Our replication jobs are all set up the same way:
- Deduplication is checked
- Compression level is Optimal
- Storage optimization is Local Target
- Use changed block tracking data is checked
- Enable application-aware image processing is checked

Two questions:
1) Is VEEAM replication only replicating the equivalent of the backup size? We are using "reversed incremental" and I see that in some cases the incremental backups are GBs for VMs that dont get much changes. If that is the case then that would explain why replication take very long.
2) Do I need to make any adjustments to our replication setup (outlined above) in order to reduce the amount of data being replicated?

When I start a replication it is not displaying the data replicated, but rather the size of the VM, which doesn't help me a lot in determining what get replicated.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you!

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24972
Liked: 3628 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Replication Speed / Size of replicated data

Post by Gostev » Dec 06, 2010 8:52 pm

Hi, here is most recent existing topic talking about the same things, if you do not mind please continue posting there. Thanks!
VEEAM (v5) Replication (and Backup) explained

pmalinov
Enthusiast
Posts: 72
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Dec 15, 2009 6:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Replication Speed / Size of replicated data

Post by pmalinov » Dec 06, 2010 9:20 pm

Gostev,

Thank you for the suggested link, but that does not answer all of my questions.
- If I am replicating over WAN (10mbps) to a DR site do I need to uncheck the "Failover to network mode if primary backup mode fails"?
- How can I effectively tell how much data got changed and replicated when VEEAM only displays the actual VM size?
- Should my replicated data match the size of my daily "reversed incremental" backup?

Thanks again!

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24972
Liked: 3628 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Replication Speed / Size of replicated data

Post by Gostev » Dec 06, 2010 9:32 pm

OK, I was just hoping we could reuse that existing replication 101 topic and have everything in one place...
1. No, you do not need to change this setting.
2. You can approximate by looking at VRB file size generated by the corresponding replication pass.
3. Yes, but as explained in the above referenced topic, traffic-wise ESX replication target is much more effecient than ESXi.

pmalinov
Enthusiast
Posts: 72
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Dec 15, 2009 6:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Replication Speed / Size of replicated data

Post by pmalinov » Dec 06, 2010 9:44 pm

Gostev,

One more question:
- Do we have to wait on the backup to finish in order to replicate? Are replication & backup related at all?

Thank you - in the future, I will post in that other thread

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24972
Liked: 3628 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Replication Speed / Size of replicated data

Post by Gostev » Dec 06, 2010 10:05 pm

Backup and replication jobs are unrelated and not dependant on each other, so it is not necessary to wait for one job to finish before you start another one.

st0623
Technology Partner
Posts: 27
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 08, 2010 9:01 pm
Full Name: Steve Thompson
Contact:

Re: Replication Speed / Size of replicated data

Post by st0623 » Dec 06, 2010 10:17 pm

Peter,
I have responded to your email with your inquiry about HyperIP helping optimize Veeam Replication over your 10Mbs link.

Steve Thompson
steve.thompson@netex.com
Regards,
Steve Thompson
HyperIP team at NetEx Software
steve.thompson@netex.com
704.467.6749

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 121x, Google [Bot] and 57 guests