Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
MPev
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Dec 19, 2016 3:55 pm
Full Name: Martin Peverley
Contact:

Require Restore reason

Post by MPev » Dec 04, 2019 7:37 pm

Apologies if this has been posted or answered but I did try searching first. (You try searching on keywords restore and reason and see where you get!)

When performing a restore I'd like to require a restore reason to be entered (we use a helpdesk ticket number for reference). Failing being able to force it, is there a way to remove the checkbox to not show the page, or a way to restore the page if the checkbox was accidentally selected?

PetrM
Veeam Software
Posts: 178
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Aug 28, 2013 8:23 am
Full Name: Petr
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Require Restore reason

Post by PetrM » Dec 05, 2019 1:00 pm

Hi Martin!

Could you please clarify what checkbox are you talking about?

For example, you can enter restore reason at this step of restore wizard.

Thanks!

Egor Yakovlev
Veeam Software
Posts: 746
Liked: 195 times
Joined: Jun 14, 2013 9:30 am
Full Name: Egor Yakovlev
Contact:

Re: Require Restore reason

Post by Egor Yakovlev » Dec 05, 2019 1:04 pm

Hi Martin.

There is no way to enforce that page, however you can restore hidden Restore Reason page by editing user.config file under

Code: Select all

C:\Users\[you_account_name]\AppData\Local\Veeam_Software_Group_GmbH\
Open it and search for keyword "reason" - there is a setting "Show[Type_of_Restore]Reason" for every wizard - you can set True\False depending on your needs to restore hidden Restore Reason Pages.

Hope that helps!

MPev
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Dec 19, 2016 3:55 pm
Full Name: Martin Peverley
Contact:

Re: Require Restore reason

Post by MPev » Dec 05, 2019 1:30 pm

Petr, it's that checkbox on the image you linked: "Do not show me this page again".

I want to force an input in the Restore Reason field, we shouldn't be able to proceed without one. Sure, someone could just hit the spacebar but we can deal with that.

Failing being able to force an entry, could we disable that checkbox? The concern is that someone checks it accidentally and now we're not prompted for the reason. If it's me doing the restore then I'm familiar with it and expect to see Restore Reason, but if it's a junior admin then they may not expect to see it and wouldn't know anything was wrong.

jmmarton
Veeam Software
Posts: 1761
Liked: 244 times
Joined: Nov 17, 2015 2:38 am
Full Name: Joe Marton
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: Require Restore reason

Post by jmmarton » Dec 05, 2019 2:49 pm

You could push out the regkey Egor mentioned automatically which would insure even if someone checked the box not to display the page that the page would be re-enabled the next time the VBR console is launched.

Joe

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25141
Liked: 3692 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Require Restore reason

Post by Gostev » Dec 10, 2019 9:22 pm 1 person likes this post

Based on this thread and since this was already requested a few times before, we've just added a registry key to v10 that will disable the ability to select "Do not show me this page again" checkbox, and require at least one symbol provided as the restore reason (so that users can't just Next > Next > Next this step). Kudos to UI devs for this last minute development :D

UIRequireRestoreReason (DWORD) = 1

Note that this will work for new console installations only. If the wizard step was already "hidden" by the user, then you will need to do a one-time edit of the user.config file per Egor's post above.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 23 guests