Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
michaelryancook
Expert
Posts: 116
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Nov 26, 2013 6:13 pm
Full Name: Michael Cook
Contact:

Resetting vCenter Inventory service DB

Post by michaelryancook » Feb 02, 2016 10:20 pm

Our vCenter inventory service database has grown to over 52 GB. I'd like to reset the database using this article: http://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/micros ... Id=2042200

It states that if the environment uses VEEAM for backup operations the jobs must be mapped to the virtual machines again. Will this cause Veeam jobs to see the VMs as new and perform full backups?

TIA

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17931
Liked: 1512 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Resetting vCenter Inventory service DB

Post by foggy » Feb 03, 2016 9:25 am

I suspect this process triggers VM ID's change in the database, so VM's will be treated as new ones. Probably you can ask support to map old ID's to the new ones, if the tool they periodically use for that is applicable to this scenario.

michaelryancook
Expert
Posts: 116
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Nov 26, 2013 6:13 pm
Full Name: Michael Cook
Contact:

Re: Resetting vCenter Inventory service DB

Post by michaelryancook » Feb 03, 2016 3:52 pm

Thanks Alexander. I think I will give the vCenter server some more disk for now and when I have some more time I will bug support about remapping.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17931
Liked: 1512 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Resetting vCenter Inventory service DB

Post by foggy » Feb 03, 2016 3:57 pm

Ok. Though remapping will not be required once you have all the jobs completed the full run after VM ID's change, subsequent job runs will be incremental.

mpatrick
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 29, 2017 1:16 pm
Contact:

[MERGED] vCenter inventory service database

Post by mpatrick » Mar 29, 2017 1:50 pm

We have two 5.5 vCenter appliances using the embedded database. One is used for our production virtual machines. They are being backed up by Veeam 9.5. The other vCenter is used for DR. Veeam is replicating about 30 VMs onto its two ESXi hosts. The issue is that the inventory service database on the DR vCenter has increased to 30 GB and we are getting close to running out of disk space. The inventory service database on the production vCenter appliance is only 500 MB. Could Veeam replication be causing the inventory service database to increase in size that much?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22697
Liked: 1498 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Resetting vCenter Inventory service DB

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 29, 2017 8:40 pm

Do you also replicate this vCenter Server appliance to the remote site? If not, then maybe the database growth is caused by new VMs (VM replicas) registration by replication jobs?

mpatrick
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 29, 2017 1:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Resetting vCenter Inventory service DB

Post by mpatrick » Apr 04, 2017 7:02 pm

No we are not replicating the vCenter Server appliance to the remote site. Our Veeam administrator has reviewed and adjusted the replica jobs. We are monitoring to see if this stops or slows the inventory service database growth.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22697
Liked: 1498 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Resetting vCenter Inventory service DB

Post by Vitaliy S. » Apr 05, 2017 7:12 am

Can you please share how you've adjusted your replica jobs and how it affected the size of the db?

mpatrick
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 29, 2017 1:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Resetting vCenter Inventory service DB

Post by mpatrick » May 01, 2017 4:54 pm

We turned off the initial seeding mapping to specific replicas. But the inventory service database continued to increase in size. We decided to double the size of the vCenter drive that the db is on instead of resetting the db.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22697
Liked: 1498 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Resetting vCenter Inventory service DB

Post by Vitaliy S. » May 01, 2017 7:07 pm

Ok, please monitor the size of the DB and if it starts working abnormally quick, please contact our technical team.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Google [Bot] and 29 guests