Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
homerjnick
Expert
Posts: 211
Liked: 35 times
Joined: Feb 20, 2012 4:13 pm
Full Name: Nick Mahlitz
Contact:

Restore Exchange Item Mounts ALL DB's

Post by homerjnick » Feb 26, 2015 4:49 pm

When we choose Restore from B&R and choose an Exchange item to restore and our backup point the Veeam Exchange Explorer then mounts all our Exchange databases.

Is there anyway we can just choose which DB to mount?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24302
Liked: 3332 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Restore Exchange Item Mounts ALL DB's

Post by Gostev » Feb 26, 2015 9:10 pm

Certainly. Just start the regular file level recovery process instead, launch Veeam Explorer for Exchange from the Backup Browser tool bar, and add the required mailbox datastores manually. Thanks!

homerjnick
Expert
Posts: 211
Liked: 35 times
Joined: Feb 20, 2012 4:13 pm
Full Name: Nick Mahlitz
Contact:

Re: Restore Exchange Item Mounts ALL DB's

Post by homerjnick » Mar 02, 2015 9:31 am

That just does the same thing Gostev....

I select "Restore" from B&R...select "Guest OS Windows" and choose my Exchange server and backup point...then from the Backup Browser window I choose "Application Items > Exchange Items" which then brings up the Exchange Explorer window and at that point it proceeds to load up all my Exchange stores instead of me being able to select which store I want to load.

Have I followed your suggestion correctly?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22697
Liked: 1498 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Restore Exchange Item Mounts ALL DB's

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 03, 2015 1:15 pm

Hi Nick, I believe Anton is referring to this option > Adding and Removing Database Files. Hope it helps!

homerjnick
Expert
Posts: 211
Liked: 35 times
Joined: Feb 20, 2012 4:13 pm
Full Name: Nick Mahlitz
Contact:

Re: Restore Exchange Item Mounts ALL DB's

Post by homerjnick » Mar 04, 2015 10:03 am 1 person likes this post

Ok...the trick is NOT to launch Exchange Explorer from the Backup Browser toolbar but rather launch you normal file restore for Exchange and then manually open Exchange Explorer from the Start menu and then it does not autoload the stores and you can point it to VeeamFLR and add the store you want.

remko.de.koning
Enthusiast
Posts: 90
Liked: 16 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 12:15 pm
Full Name: Remko de Koning
Contact:

Re: Restore Exchange Item Mounts ALL DB's

Post by remko.de.koning » Mar 04, 2015 1:33 pm

Looking for the same thing here. But am a bit confused.
What do you mean with the "normal file restore for Exchange"? Which application is this? The Exchange Explorer only allows me to open .EDB files while I want to look into the backup file .vbk itself.
What steps do you take to accomplish this?

Do you mean that you need to select the mailbox server, right click and choose "Restore guest files" --> Microsoft Windows? Is my assumption correct?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22697
Liked: 1498 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Restore Exchange Item Mounts ALL DB's

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 04, 2015 2:02 pm

remko.de.koning wrote:Do you mean that you need to select the mailbox server, right click and choose "Restore guest files" --> Microsoft Windows? Is my assumption correct?
Correct, use regular FLR wizard.

homerjnick
Expert
Posts: 211
Liked: 35 times
Joined: Feb 20, 2012 4:13 pm
Full Name: Nick Mahlitz
Contact:

Re: Restore Exchange Item Mounts ALL DB's

Post by homerjnick » Mar 05, 2015 10:48 am 2 people like this post

Yup...the procedure is:

1. Launch Veeam B&R
2. Choose Restore from the top menu
3. Choose Guest Files Windows
4. Choose your Exchange server and backup point
5. When the Backup Browser window appears where you can view the files on your Exchange server minimize it
6. Launch Exchange Explorer from the Start Menu
7. Add your store by adding the relevant DB & Log folders from within the C:\VeeamFLR location

Thus you have just loaded one database store to restore from.

If you choose Application Items > Exchange Items from the main Restore menu OR from the Backup Browser you hit Exchange Items from the little toolbar it will automount all your stores which you do not want.

It would make sense that the process via Restore > Application Items > Exchange Items actually ask you which stores you wanted mounted rather than mount all.

Feature request?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22697
Liked: 1498 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Restore Exchange Item Mounts ALL DB's

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 05, 2015 10:54 am 1 person likes this post

Yes, I guess there could an option to select whether you want to mount all databases or pick only a couple of them. Thanks!

remko.de.koning
Enthusiast
Posts: 90
Liked: 16 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 12:15 pm
Full Name: Remko de Koning
Contact:

Re: Restore Exchange Item Mounts ALL DB's

Post by remko.de.koning » Mar 06, 2015 9:26 am 1 person likes this post

7. Add your store by adding the relevant DB & Log folders from within the C:\VeeamFLR location
This is cool! I didn't know that the C:\VeeamFLR folder was created. Excellent!

remko.de.koning
Enthusiast
Posts: 90
Liked: 16 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 12:15 pm
Full Name: Remko de Koning
Contact:

Re: Restore Exchange Item Mounts ALL DB's

Post by remko.de.koning » Mar 06, 2015 10:15 am

Just one thing I discovered and more than obvious when you think of it. The account you use to restore the Exchange item must have full access to the mailbox.
A nasty
"Exception of type 'System.Exception' was thrown"
was the result during the restore.

Strange thing was that after I added the Full Access permissions to the mailbox it took more than 5 min before I could actually restore the item. Not sure why it took so long before Veeam could actually restore the item.
Just thought I shared my experience.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16524
Liked: 1374 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Restore Exchange Item Mounts ALL DB's

Post by veremin » Mar 06, 2015 11:32 am

Has it been just a sporadic slowdown and the issue of VEX working slowly persists?

Reklov
Enthusiast
Posts: 63
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Aug 28, 2014 12:16 pm
Contact:

[MERGED] Exchange Restore

Post by Reklov » Dec 30, 2015 10:51 am

Hi there,

I have a couple of Exchange Databases. If a Restore is nessesary first, all the DBs must be mounted by Veeam B&R ( V8 ). This takes a time to complete.

Is there a way to mount only the DB containing the restored object ?

I wish you a happy new year !

Volker

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6742
Liked: 681 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Exchange Restore

Post by Shestakov » Dec 30, 2015 11:11 am

Hi Volker,
What kind of restore do you want to make(item, file, DB)?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17931
Liked: 1512 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Restore Exchange Item Mounts ALL DB's

Post by foggy » Dec 30, 2015 11:42 am

Please review the thread above. Basically, if you start FLR and then open Veeam Explorer for Exchange, you will be able to mount just the required database.

Reklov
Enthusiast
Posts: 63
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Aug 28, 2014 12:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Restore Exchange Item Mounts ALL DB's

Post by Reklov » Jan 05, 2016 10:41 am

GREAT !

This was what I'm was looking for !
Vitaliy S. wrote:Yes, I guess there could an option to select whether you want to mount all databases or pick only a couple of them. Thanks!
Yep !, this will be very nice :)

SvenP
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 31, 2016 12:53 pm
Full Name: Sven Putze
Contact:

Re: Restore Exchange Item Mounts ALL DB's

Post by SvenP » Mar 31, 2016 1:04 pm

Same problem here: waiting for more than 90 minutes now and there is still 45% left.

Yes, I could restore the database via FLR (or just use the mounted file inside C:\VeeamFLR\) and mount only that one. Granted. But that also means that the person who restores knows in which database the mailbox is stored. Certainly not in a huge enterprise...

So please, develop a search and mount only that database feature.

Daveyd
Expert
Posts: 279
Liked: 11 times
Joined: May 20, 2010 4:17 pm
Full Name: Dave DeLollis
Contact:

Re: Restore Exchange Item Mounts ALL DB's

Post by Daveyd » Jul 19, 2017 5:13 pm

Any update on this by chance?

We keep 90 days of Exchange backups on disk and I was asked to restore a mailbox from some point 3 months ago. We have 4 Exchange DBs and mounting through Exhange Explorer take at least an hour, which is quite painful. Even more painful, if I have to restore from a date prior. I have to close Exchange Explorer and mount the previous days backup, which is another hour. Unless I am doing something wrong.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17931
Liked: 1512 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Restore Exchange Item Mounts ALL DB's

Post by foggy » Jul 21, 2017 3:09 pm

Have you tried to open the database from FLR mount, like it is described above?

Daveyd
Expert
Posts: 279
Liked: 11 times
Joined: May 20, 2010 4:17 pm
Full Name: Dave DeLollis
Contact:

Re: Restore Exchange Item Mounts ALL DB's

Post by Daveyd » Jul 21, 2017 3:50 pm

I did not since I have no clue which of the multiple Exchange Databases the user was on since this user was disabled and the original mailbox was purged some time ago.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17931
Liked: 1512 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Restore Exchange Item Mounts ALL DB's

Post by foggy » Jul 21, 2017 3:59 pm

In this case I'm not sure how the option to mount just the required database requested here would help, since you wouldn't know which database to select. ;) Or am I missing your scenario?

Daveyd
Expert
Posts: 279
Liked: 11 times
Joined: May 20, 2010 4:17 pm
Full Name: Dave DeLollis
Contact:

Re: Restore Exchange Item Mounts ALL DB's

Post by Daveyd » Jul 21, 2017 5:07 pm

I guess I was just curious as to why it takes 90 minutes to mount the Exchange Databases to restore a mailbox and if there was a more efficient method in doing so. I do realize I am going back 90 days (which is all kept on Exagrid) but 90 minutes seems log to me.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24302
Liked: 3332 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Restore Exchange Item Mounts ALL DB's

Post by Gostev » Jul 21, 2017 6:55 pm

This comes down solely to the backup storage performance.

Daveyd
Expert
Posts: 279
Liked: 11 times
Joined: May 20, 2010 4:17 pm
Full Name: Dave DeLollis
Contact:

Re: Restore Exchange Item Mounts ALL DB's

Post by Daveyd » Jul 21, 2017 7:02 pm

Gostev, Are you referring to disk I/O performance on the backup storage or bandwidth from backup storage to Veeam serverr? I am using Exagrid dedupe appliances, would it be advisable to contact Exagrid to see if there is anything that I can do better on my part?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17931
Liked: 1512 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Restore Exchange Item Mounts ALL DB's

Post by foggy » Jul 21, 2017 9:28 pm

If everything is in a single site, then appliance random read performance is the culprit.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests