Restore Exchange Item Mounts ALL DB's

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Restore Exchange Item Mounts ALL DB's

Veeam Logoby homerjnick » Thu Feb 26, 2015 4:49 pm

When we choose Restore from B&R and choose an Exchange item to restore and our backup point the Veeam Exchange Explorer then mounts all our Exchange databases.

Is there anyway we can just choose which DB to mount?
homerjnick
Expert
 
Posts: 203
Liked: 35 times
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:13 pm
Full Name: Nick Mahlitz

Re: Restore Exchange Item Mounts ALL DB's

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Thu Feb 26, 2015 9:10 pm

Certainly. Just start the regular file level recovery process instead, launch Veeam Explorer for Exchange from the Backup Browser tool bar, and add the required mailbox datastores manually. Thanks!
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Restore Exchange Item Mounts ALL DB's

Veeam Logoby homerjnick » Mon Mar 02, 2015 9:31 am

That just does the same thing Gostev....

I select "Restore" from B&R...select "Guest OS Windows" and choose my Exchange server and backup point...then from the Backup Browser window I choose "Application Items > Exchange Items" which then brings up the Exchange Explorer window and at that point it proceeds to load up all my Exchange stores instead of me being able to select which store I want to load.

Have I followed your suggestion correctly?
homerjnick
Expert
 
Posts: 203
Liked: 35 times
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:13 pm
Full Name: Nick Mahlitz

Re: Restore Exchange Item Mounts ALL DB's

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Mar 03, 2015 1:15 pm

Hi Nick, I believe Anton is referring to this option > Adding and Removing Database Files. Hope it helps!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19556
Liked: 1101 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Restore Exchange Item Mounts ALL DB's

Veeam Logoby homerjnick » Wed Mar 04, 2015 10:03 am 1 person likes this post

Ok...the trick is NOT to launch Exchange Explorer from the Backup Browser toolbar but rather launch you normal file restore for Exchange and then manually open Exchange Explorer from the Start menu and then it does not autoload the stores and you can point it to VeeamFLR and add the store you want.
homerjnick
Expert
 
Posts: 203
Liked: 35 times
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:13 pm
Full Name: Nick Mahlitz

Re: Restore Exchange Item Mounts ALL DB's

Veeam Logoby remko.de.koning » Wed Mar 04, 2015 1:33 pm

Looking for the same thing here. But am a bit confused.
What do you mean with the "normal file restore for Exchange"? Which application is this? The Exchange Explorer only allows me to open .EDB files while I want to look into the backup file .vbk itself.
What steps do you take to accomplish this?

Do you mean that you need to select the mailbox server, right click and choose "Restore guest files" --> Microsoft Windows? Is my assumption correct?
remko.de.koning
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 72
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 12:15 pm
Full Name: Remko de Koning

Re: Restore Exchange Item Mounts ALL DB's

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Mar 04, 2015 2:02 pm

remko.de.koning wrote:Do you mean that you need to select the mailbox server, right click and choose "Restore guest files" --> Microsoft Windows? Is my assumption correct?

Correct, use regular FLR wizard.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19556
Liked: 1101 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Restore Exchange Item Mounts ALL DB's

Veeam Logoby homerjnick » Thu Mar 05, 2015 10:48 am 2 people like this post

Yup...the procedure is:

1. Launch Veeam B&R
2. Choose Restore from the top menu
3. Choose Guest Files Windows
4. Choose your Exchange server and backup point
5. When the Backup Browser window appears where you can view the files on your Exchange server minimize it
6. Launch Exchange Explorer from the Start Menu
7. Add your store by adding the relevant DB & Log folders from within the C:\VeeamFLR location

Thus you have just loaded one database store to restore from.

If you choose Application Items > Exchange Items from the main Restore menu OR from the Backup Browser you hit Exchange Items from the little toolbar it will automount all your stores which you do not want.

It would make sense that the process via Restore > Application Items > Exchange Items actually ask you which stores you wanted mounted rather than mount all.

Feature request?
homerjnick
Expert
 
Posts: 203
Liked: 35 times
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:13 pm
Full Name: Nick Mahlitz

Re: Restore Exchange Item Mounts ALL DB's

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Mar 05, 2015 10:54 am 1 person likes this post

Yes, I guess there could an option to select whether you want to mount all databases or pick only a couple of them. Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19556
Liked: 1101 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Restore Exchange Item Mounts ALL DB's

Veeam Logoby remko.de.koning » Fri Mar 06, 2015 9:26 am 1 person likes this post

7. Add your store by adding the relevant DB & Log folders from within the C:\VeeamFLR location

This is cool! I didn't know that the C:\VeeamFLR folder was created. Excellent!
remko.de.koning
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 72
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 12:15 pm
Full Name: Remko de Koning

Re: Restore Exchange Item Mounts ALL DB's

Veeam Logoby remko.de.koning » Fri Mar 06, 2015 10:15 am

Just one thing I discovered and more than obvious when you think of it. The account you use to restore the Exchange item must have full access to the mailbox.
A nasty
"Exception of type 'System.Exception' was thrown"
was the result during the restore.

Strange thing was that after I added the Full Access permissions to the mailbox it took more than 5 min before I could actually restore the item. Not sure why it took so long before Veeam could actually restore the item.
Just thought I shared my experience.
remko.de.koning
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 72
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 12:15 pm
Full Name: Remko de Koning

Re: Restore Exchange Item Mounts ALL DB's

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Mar 06, 2015 11:32 am

Has it been just a sporadic slowdown and the issue of VEX working slowly persists?
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

[MERGED] Exchange Restore

Veeam Logoby Reklov » Wed Dec 30, 2015 10:51 am

Hi there,

I have a couple of Exchange Databases. If a Restore is nessesary first, all the DBs must be mounted by Veeam B&R ( V8 ). This takes a time to complete.

Is there a way to mount only the DB containing the restored object ?

I wish you a happy new year !

Volker
Reklov
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 38
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 12:16 pm

Re: Exchange Restore

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Wed Dec 30, 2015 11:11 am

Hi Volker,
What kind of restore do you want to make(item, file, DB)?
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4856
Liked: 394 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Restore Exchange Item Mounts ALL DB's

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Dec 30, 2015 11:42 am

Please review the thread above. Basically, if you start FLR and then open Veeam Explorer for Exchange, you will be able to mount just the required database.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14736
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Next

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BrentBPPI, DGrinev, PaulJGamma and 45 guests