Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
perjonsson1960
Veteran
Posts: 492
Liked: 52 times
Joined: Jun 06, 2018 5:41 am
Full Name: Per Jonsson
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Restore fails

Post by perjonsson1960 »

Folks,

Yesterday I installed the new patch for v11, P20230227. Everything seems fine when it comes to backups and backup copies.
However, when I try to do a restore, I get these errors immediately in the Backup Browser:

"Failed to connect to backup server nt231: Access denied"
"Failed to connect to 172.23.8.11: Access denied"

And after I click okay:

"Mount wasn't found"

I wasn't prompted to restart the backup server after I installed the patch, so I didn't. And now there is a tape backup job running, that won't be finished until tomorrow, so I cannot restart it right now. Do you think that a restart of the backup server will solve this problem? I suspected that it has to do with the Mount Service, so I restarted that service, but that didn't help. The repository servers have been restarted.

Kind regards,
PJ
perjonsson1960
Veteran
Posts: 492
Liked: 52 times
Joined: Jun 06, 2018 5:41 am
Full Name: Per Jonsson
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Restore fails

Post by perjonsson1960 »

Hmm... It seems that the error occurs when I try to do a restore from the main backups, but not when I do a restore from the backup copies. The backup copies reside on a separate SOBR from the main backups.
Mildur
Product Manager
Posts: 8973
Liked: 2372 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian K.
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Restore fails

Post by Mildur »

Hi PJ

Sounds strange and unexpected.
I suggest opening a support case. I don't believe a restart will solve that issue.

Best,
Fabian
Product Management Analyst @ Veeam Software
perjonsson1960
Veteran
Posts: 492
Liked: 52 times
Joined: Jun 06, 2018 5:41 am
Full Name: Per Jonsson
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Restore fails

Post by perjonsson1960 »

I think I have found the problem... The patch did not update the services in one of the repo servers. The files are much older in that server. All restores from VM:s residing in that server fail, while it works with VM:s in the other repo servers. Is it possible to reinstall the patch?
Mildur
Product Manager
Posts: 8973
Liked: 2372 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian K.
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Restore fails

Post by Mildur »

Additional components must be upgraded from the Veeam console:
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... ml?ver=120
If you don't get the upgrade message, support will be able to help you.

Best,
Fabian
Product Management Analyst @ Veeam Software
perjonsson1960
Veteran
Posts: 492
Liked: 52 times
Joined: Jun 06, 2018 5:41 am
Full Name: Per Jonsson
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Restore fails

Post by perjonsson1960 »

No "Components Update" window is appearing when the console is started, and in the console, the "Update" button is not even present.
A consultant helped us to install a new virtual backup server in VMware, replacing the physical machine that was previously both backup server and repository server, and which is now only a repository server. The system has worked perfectly with the new virtual backup server until now, when I installed the latest patch for v11, and the old physical machine did not get updated by the patch. And no errors occured during the patch process, so I assumed that everything was okay.

It should be noted that the "Components Update" window opened the first time I started the console after the patch, and no errors occured there.

I guess I must open a support case.
perjonsson1960
Veteran
Posts: 492
Liked: 52 times
Joined: Jun 06, 2018 5:41 am
Full Name: Per Jonsson
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Restore fails

Post by perjonsson1960 » 1 person likes this post

Support case #05944330.
sergeyivanoff248
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mar 27, 2023 3:42 pm
Full Name: Sergei Ivanoff
Contact:

Re: Restore fails

Post by sergeyivanoff248 »

I have exactly the same problems after installing the latest patch. Could you share how your case ended?
sergeyivanoff248
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mar 27, 2023 3:42 pm
Full Name: Sergei Ivanoff
Contact:

Re: Restore fails

Post by sergeyivanoff248 »

perjonsson1960 wrote: Mar 15, 2023 9:16 am Support case #05944330.
I have exactly the same problems after installing the latest patch. Could you share how your case ended?
perjonsson1960
Veteran
Posts: 492
Liked: 52 times
Joined: Jun 06, 2018 5:41 am
Full Name: Per Jonsson
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Restore fails

Post by perjonsson1960 » 3 people like this post

I was told by support to uninstall VBR from the previous backup server (now only a repo server) that produced the error, so I went into "Programs and Features" and uninstalled VBR from there. After that there were a few services still in the list, so I uninstalled them all. And after that I went to managed servers in the Veeam Console, opened the properties for that server, and went through the wizard and pressed Next through to Finish. Then it installed the latest version of the needed services. And after that I ran through the wizard for the Repository properties as well. After that the restores worked again.
sergeyivanoff248
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mar 27, 2023 3:42 pm
Full Name: Sergei Ivanoff
Contact:

Re: Restore fails

Post by sergeyivanoff248 » 1 person likes this post

The solution really works. Thank you very much!
lando_uk
Veteran
Posts: 374
Liked: 32 times
Joined: Oct 17, 2013 10:02 am
Full Name: Mark
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Restore fails

Post by lando_uk »

I'm getting this same error since upgrading to the latest version. Case #05978002
Mildur
Product Manager
Posts: 8973
Liked: 2372 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian K.
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Restore fails

Post by Mildur »

Thanks Mark for the case number. I can see that you case was successfully resolved.

Best,
Fabian
Product Management Analyst @ Veeam Software
Steve-nIP
Service Provider
Posts: 123
Liked: 52 times
Joined: Feb 06, 2018 10:08 am
Full Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Restore fails

Post by Steve-nIP »

I saw this too, maybe a patch is coming for it? Strange.
michele.berardo
Service Provider
Posts: 11
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Feb 26, 2014 11:54 am
Full Name: Michele Berardo
Contact:

Re: Restore fails

Post by michele.berardo »

That works for me too. Thank you for sharing
m.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Semrush [Bot] and 111 guests