Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
Post Reply
F182
Service Provider
Posts: 19
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jun 03, 2018 3:13 pm
Full Name: Farzon David Almaneih
Contact:

Restore Optimization - Multi-site

Post by F182 » Jul 10, 2018 9:39 pm

Hello and thank you for the help in advance.

*I have a two site setup. A handful of servers in Site A and a handful of servers in Site B. The sites are connected via a 10mb MPLS.
*The B&R server is installed in site B.

*I have a backup repository setup in Site A and the backups for the servers in Site A go to Site A's repository.
*I have a backup proxy setup in Site A to handle the backup jobs there.

*I have a backup repository setup in Site B and the backups for the servers in Site B go to Site B's repository.
*I have a backup proxy setup in Site B to handle the backup jobs there.

If I am on my workstation on Site A and if I install the B&R console on my workstation, and if I mount a backup for a server from Site A (from the console on my workstation), will the restore use MPLS traffic or is the B&R console smart enough to access the resources locally and/or use the backup proxy locally?

Thank You

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1306
Liked: 140 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Restore Optimization - Multi-site

Post by DGrinev » Jul 11, 2018 9:51 am

Hello,

The restore process won't use MPLS traffic in your case, since all necessary components are present at each site.
The only traffic consuming communication will be between the Console and B&R Server, just to obtain information from the DB. Thanks!

F182
Service Provider
Posts: 19
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jun 03, 2018 3:13 pm
Full Name: Farzon David Almaneih
Contact:

Re: Restore Optimization - Multi-site

Post by F182 » Jul 11, 2018 12:21 pm

Thank you. One more question.

If I am on my workstation on Site B (console installed on my workstation), and I mount up a backup from Site A and try to restore a file from Site A's repository to a server on Site A, will the file cross the MPLS or just go direct from Sitea A Repository/proxy to Site A server?

Thank You

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15430
Liked: 1166 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Restore Optimization - Multi-site

Post by v.Eremin » Jul 11, 2018 12:34 pm

The traffic will be isolated to site, as long as mount server is also located there. Thanks.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17126
Liked: 1401 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Restore Optimization - Multi-site

Post by foggy » Jul 11, 2018 3:33 pm

Except for the initial mount (with the purpose of browsing files), since it is performed on the server initiated the restore. Actual restore to original location uses mount to the mount server configured on the repository.

F182
Service Provider
Posts: 19
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jun 03, 2018 3:13 pm
Full Name: Farzon David Almaneih
Contact:

Re: Restore Optimization - Multi-site

Post by F182 » Jul 11, 2018 3:44 pm

Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], foggy, Google [Bot], ivica.vujovic and 80 guests