Restore vCenter 6.5 from backup

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Restore vCenter 6.5 from backup

Veeam Logoby bonne » Sat May 20, 2017 9:35 am

Running Veeam 9.5 and created support case # 02162112

After a failed vCenter server 6.5d update, vCenter server is no longer responsive. I want to restore from backup, but regardless of what I do, Veeam wants to restore via vCenter (which is not there)

When I try to add standalone hosts, I am told that the host is already added, But it is not listed under hosts.

When I try to restore to "another destination", I can select a standalone host, but when I continue, Veeam later tells me that it cannot log into the vCenter.

How to successfully restore vCenter when vCenter is not responding?

Regards, Lars.
bonne
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 9:18 am
Full Name: Lars Bonnesen

Re: Restore vCenter 6.5 from backup

Veeam Logoby NightBird » Sat May 20, 2017 6:15 pm

Add one of your host with his ip address (not name)
NightBird
Service Provider
 
Posts: 148
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 8:33 am
Location: Strasbourg, FRANCE

Re: Restore vCenter 6.5 from backup

Veeam Logoby lbon » Sat May 20, 2017 6:36 pm

I am already using IPs

Regards.
lbon
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2016 10:30 pm
Full Name: Lars Bonnesen

Re: Restore vCenter 6.5 from backup

Veeam Logoby bonne » Sun May 21, 2017 10:04 am

NightBird wrote:Add one of your host with his ip address (not name)


I figered it out.. apparently it remembers the IPaddress (which is what the vCenter knows), so when adding a dns name in the hosts file, and using this, it works. Had a lot of VMware issues later, but it is up and semms to be running now.

Thanks.

Regards, Lars.
bonne
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 9:18 am
Full Name: Lars Bonnesen


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests