Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
chris.trotter
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 09, 2010 7:27 pm
Full Name: Chris Trotter
Contact:

Restored 2008 VM loses network adapter, resets IP to DHCP

Post by chris.trotter » Jul 22, 2010 8:31 pm 1 person likes this post

Has anyone had the following symptoms when restoring Windows Server 2008 R2 VMs?

- Restore is 100% successful.
- Change the vCPU to 1, RAM to 1GB, network label to our 'sandbox'. (did the same for the 2003/2008 VMs)
- When VM boots up, the 'computer did not shut down properly' screen comes up (i.e. choose between normal or safe mood boot).
- Network adapter name is showing as 'Local area connection 2'.
- Network settings are set to DHCP, all previous static entries gone (because it's a new adapter).
- Setting the new adapter to the old settings brings up a message: Another old adapter has these settings, clear them? (not verbatim)

I have restored multiple 2008 R2 VMs now, and every single one has this issue. When I restore Server 2003 or 2008, the adapter does not disappear, and the old settings are still present.

Any suggestions would be appreciated!

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22024
Liked: 1354 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Restoring 2008 R2 VMs - losing network adapter?

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jul 23, 2010 9:03 am

Hi Chris,

Dirty power off message is expected, you may find more info on that in the following topic: restore image question

As for the new network connection, could this issue be connected to a missing VM network at the ESX(i) host where you're restoring to? If you're restoring to a different VM network, I believe this could be an expected behavior.

I've just done the smoke test following your scenario above, and restored Windows 2008 R2 with the same network settings as it previously were.

Hope it helps!

chris.trotter
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 09, 2010 7:27 pm
Full Name: Chris Trotter
Contact:

Re: Restoring 2008 R2 VMs - losing network adapter?

Post by chris.trotter » Jul 28, 2010 2:26 pm

Vitaliy, could this be caused by a different network label? I am restoring to a network that is completely cut-off from our production network and is on a different vswitch/network label. These are just test restores, I cannot really test restoring to a box that has the same production settings without breaking things.

TMassa
Enthusiast
Posts: 34
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 08, 2010 10:46 pm
Full Name: Tony Massa
Contact:

Re: Restoring 2008 R2 VMs - losing network adapter?

Post by TMassa » Jul 28, 2010 2:31 pm

Every restore we've done (about 30 in the last week and a half) has been fine where the VM NICs are concerned, we just edit the VM settings to place the original NIC on our sandbox VLAN and start up the recovered VM. The original NIC is was still there with the static IP settings that were configured during the backup. Does the OS actually detect and install new hardware when you startup? We're all just 2008, no R2

chris.trotter
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 09, 2010 7:27 pm
Full Name: Chris Trotter
Contact:

Re: Restoring 2008 R2 VMs - losing network adapter?

Post by chris.trotter » Jul 28, 2010 2:35 pm

Yes, it detects new hardware on startup - it sees it as a new piece of hardware. The 2008 boxes had no issues at all, this is ONLY for 2008 R2.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22024
Liked: 1354 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Restoring 2008 R2 VMs - losing network adapter?

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jul 28, 2010 3:02 pm

Chris,

Yes, that's exactly what I've thought of. Additionally, if you're using completely different physical NIC on the ESX server you're restoring to, I believe that might also cause the creation of new network connection in Windows 2008 R2. I would try to backup a test VM with Windows 2008 R2 installed and then restore to it's original location, to see if this behavior confirms or not.

chris.trotter
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 09, 2010 7:27 pm
Full Name: Chris Trotter
Contact:

Re: Restoring 2008 R2 VMs - losing network adapter?

Post by chris.trotter » Jul 28, 2010 3:06 pm

Gotcha, will do. I'll report back later.

chris.trotter
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 09, 2010 7:27 pm
Full Name: Chris Trotter
Contact:

Re: Restoring 2008 R2 VMs - losing network adapter?

Post by chris.trotter » Jul 28, 2010 7:12 pm

Yes, confirmed this - if you change the vswitch and network label, that's what destroys the adapter. This is NOT a Veeam problem. Case closed!

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22024
Liked: 1354 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Restoring 2008 R2 VMs - losing network adapter?

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jul 28, 2010 8:22 pm

Chris, thank you for updating the topic! Glad that we've figured everything out.

RumataRus
Enthusiast
Posts: 78
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 21, 2010 5:30 am
Full Name: Dmitry Prokudin

[MERGED] How to keep IP address after restoring Windows 2008

Post by RumataRus » Feb 01, 2011 6:10 pm

If I restore a VM from a replica or by "Instant Recovery" I lose original IP-address in the recovered VM. Why? How to keep it?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22024
Liked: 1354 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: How to keep IP-address of a VM after restoring?

Post by Vitaliy S. » Feb 01, 2011 6:23 pm

I guess you've been using VMXNET3 network adapter on your Windows 2008R2 VMs, am I right?

If this is the case, then please have a look at this VMware KB article: http://kb.vmware.com/kb/1020078

Please note that this VMware issue relates to Windows 2008 R2 or Windows 7 VMs only, other VMs shouldn't be affected by this behaviour.

RumataRus
Enthusiast
Posts: 78
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 21, 2010 5:30 am
Full Name: Dmitry Prokudin

Re: How to keep IP-address of a VM after restoring?

Post by RumataRus » Feb 01, 2011 6:29 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote:I guess you've been using VMXNET3 network adapter on your Windows 2008R2 VMs, am I right?
Yes! You are right as usual. :)
Vitaliy S. wrote:Please note that this VMware issue relates to Windows 2008 R2 or Windows 7 VMs only, other VMs shouldn't be affected by this behaviour.
I use Windows 2008 R2 and I will try to apply the Microsoft hotfix for this issue.
Thank You!

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 23624
Liked: 3119 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Restoring 2008 R2 VMs - losing network adapter?

Post by Gostev » Mar 03, 2011 5:09 pm

VMware KB article about this issue:
http://kb.vmware.com/kb/1020078

cag
Enthusiast
Posts: 74
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 26, 2011 4:02 am
Full Name: Conrad Gotzmann
Contact:

[MERGED] DR Testing.

Post by cag » Apr 05, 2012 9:51 pm

I am see a problem testing a replica at our DR site. This may not be a Veeam issue, but how are people testing DR replica's.
What I did is use the vshpere client to start the VM. We are not using any re-ip etc, just starting the VM.
The VM is a 2008R2 Server.
This is a problem I am seeing. When the VM starts up it see's the network cards as new hardware and is using DHCP for startup.
I thought it would be static as the orginal source server. Is this normal ? for 2008 my windows XP workstations, linux servers etc work as expected.
This seems to be a Windows Problem, but would like to know how people solve this for testing.

samuk
Expert
Posts: 127
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 18, 2009 2:15 pm
Full Name: Sam
Contact:

[MERGED] Windows 2008R2 & VMXnet3 Nic Issue

Post by samuk » May 02, 2012 10:57 am

Hi,

Unsure if this is a VMware or a Veeam issue..

We have a Exchange 2010 server running on Windows 2008 R2 using VMXnet3 Nic.

We are testing the backup \ restores, and when restoring the server we have found that when booting up the Nic is disabled, servers hung.

If i edit setting disconnect and reconnect the nic, it works however all network settings are lost.

On another test - i found if i left the server for say 10mins - i wouldl see a popup saying installing vmxnet3 driver - nice would come online however all ip info is lost...(this is set static in the original server)

The server is part of a Exchange Cluster.


Any one got any idea's


Thanks

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: eee777, olavl, Pavel S., robinhollins and 64 guests