Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
lorengordon
Influencer
Posts: 23
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jul 01, 2011 12:50 pm
Full Name: Loren Gordon
Contact:

Restoring over an existing VM in a vApp

Post by lorengordon »

Hello,
I'm trying to perform a restore job of a VM that's in a vApp. The restore keeps failing with the message, "Restore job failed (the specified key, name, or identifier already exists)." It appears that Veeam Backup is not removing the existing VM prior to restoring the VM from the backup. Restoring over an existing VM works fine for VMs that are not in a vApp. Can anyone confirm this issue? I'm using the latest version of Veeam Backup, v5.0.2.230, and the latest patches on ESX 4.1U1 and vCenter 4.1U1.

Thanks,
-Loren

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26700
Liked: 4276 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Restoring over an existing VM in a vApp

Post by Gostev »

Hi Loren, I have asked our QC to confirm this. Thanks.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24256
Liked: 1863 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Restoring over an existing VM in a vApp

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hello Loren,

Yes, indeed. Seems to be a bug which affects restoring VMs into vApps only while original VMs are still in place. This behavior will be fixed in v6.

Thanks.

lorengordon
Influencer
Posts: 23
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jul 01, 2011 12:50 pm
Full Name: Loren Gordon
Contact:

Re: Restoring over an existing VM in a vApp

Post by lorengordon »

Thanks for confirming the issue! Any chance of a patch for v5? My client is pretty slow to roll out new versions. We're just getting ready to deploy vSphere 4 and Veeam Backup 5 now...

Cheers,
-Loren

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26700
Liked: 4276 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Restoring over an existing VM in a vApp

Post by Gostev »

At this point, we only major for fixing in v5 code, because v6 release is so close. And this specific issue has a simple workaround (delete existing VM manually before restoring). Nevertheless, I recommend opening a support case requesting the fix, as we may still have a patch for v5 down the road (based on vSphere 5 RTM testing), and this fix may get included there depending on how easy the issue is to fix. Thanks.

Nancy
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 06, 2018 4:04 pm
Full Name: Nncy Smith
Contact:

Re: Restoring over an existing VM in a vApp

Post by Nancy »

Hi,
I have a question,
For example, in the target currently I have VM1, VM2, VM3 (under 1 vApp). But only VM1 is backed up. When restore this vApp (for the scenario restore entire vApp into original location), VM2 and VM3 will be deleted or not?
Thanks,
Nancy

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19463
Liked: 1767 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Restoring over an existing VM in a vApp

Post by foggy »

VM2 and VM3 will be disconnected from network.

Nancy
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 06, 2018 4:04 pm
Full Name: Nncy Smith
Contact:

Re: Restoring over an existing VM in a vApp

Post by Nancy »

@foggy thank you for your comment

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 46 guests