Restoring stuff through guest interaction proxy

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Re: Restoring stuff trough guest interaction proxy

Veeam Logoby hyvokar » Tue Aug 02, 2016 9:57 am

Haven't heard of support for some time, so I went ahead and removed the Enterprise Manager. Restore directly to customers network (without preferred networks) is now working again. Cannot confirm, that it's because of EM, but that's only change made in the system.
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE
hyvokar
Service Provider
 
Posts: 294
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm

Re: Restoring stuff trough guest interaction proxy

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Aug 02, 2016 11:32 am

Have you installed EM on the backup server or guest interaction proxy?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 16299
Liked: 1302 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Restoring stuff trough guest interaction proxy

Veeam Logoby hyvokar » Tue Aug 02, 2016 1:03 pm

backup server
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE
hyvokar
Service Provider
 
Posts: 294
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm

Re: Restoring stuff trough guest interaction proxy

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Aug 02, 2016 4:19 pm

Not sure how this can affect restores... Could you please check whether the machine with console installed is specified as a mount host for the corresponding repository?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 16299
Liked: 1302 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Restoring stuff trough guest interaction proxy

Veeam Logoby hyvokar » Wed Aug 03, 2016 5:42 am

No it isnt. I cannot use that server as a mount server, since mount server has to have a network connection to vcenter. I'm using backup server as a mount server.
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE
hyvokar
Service Provider
 
Posts: 294
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm

Re: Restoring stuff through guest interaction proxy

Veeam Logoby billcouper » Wed Jul 11, 2018 1:45 am

Is this still a requirement? Installing a VBR console on every guest interaction proxy just to be able to do restores? This is a great joke.
As hyvokar pointed out, this basically defeats the purpose of the guest interaction proxy, for us at least.
For a hosting provider, it is impractical to install VBR consoles inside every customer environment.

edit: on second thought, this is actually FAR WORSE than first thought.... this means that firewall ports need to be open from customer environment to our Veeam server?????? this is completely unacceptable and is totally rubbish imo... a large part of putting in a guest interaction proxy is to get the application-level restores... which now can't be done because of SECURITAH!
billcouper
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 38
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2017 8:58 am
Full Name: Bill Couper

Re: Restoring stuff through guest interaction proxy

Veeam Logoby hyvokar » Thu Jul 19, 2018 6:36 pm

Hi,
yes, this was/is a major design flaw what comes to hosting services.
I resigned ~2years ago, so I'm not sure how things are handled nowadays, but back then we made a ton of scripts (two for each customer) which would open and close the ports on the windows firewall that was needed when we needed to do a restore. Major PITA.
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE
hyvokar
Service Provider
 
Posts: 294
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm

Previous

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: superbeta and 55 guests