Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
DaStivi
Service Provider
Posts: 116
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Jun 30, 2015 9:13 am
Full Name: Stephan Lang
Contact:

running different Licenses when using Enterprise Manager

Post by DaStivi » Jan 25, 2019 2:27 pm

Hi is it possible to run with different Licenses when using Enterprise manger to "view/manage" multiple VBR Installations?
i can't add more then one License in Enterprise Manager (i also cant delete the one installed, i can only override)…
when installing directly in VBR Installation (instead) of EM, a few minutes later the License get's overwritten from EM...

best regards
Stephan

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16514
Liked: 1373 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: running different Licenses when using Enterprise Manager

Post by veremin » Jan 25, 2019 4:39 pm

Nope, EM can distribute only one license to the backup servers it controls. Thanks!

DaStivi
Service Provider
Posts: 116
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Jun 30, 2015 9:13 am
Full Name: Stephan Lang
Contact:

Re: running different Licenses when using Enterprise Manager

Post by DaStivi » Jan 28, 2019 1:08 pm

i can't tell it for sure, but pre U4 update. i could overwrite the License directly from Veeam VbR Console and the License didn't got overwritten from EM again? could that was the Case?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16514
Liked: 1373 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: running different Licenses when using Enterprise Manager

Post by veremin » Jan 28, 2019 4:01 pm

There's indeed a registry key on EM server that prevents EM from pushing the license to backup servers it manages - but that doesn't sound like something you're after? Thanks!

baywatch
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 07, 2018 4:30 pm
Full Name: Graham Hassall
Contact:

Re: running different Licenses when using Enterprise Manager

Post by baywatch » Apr 18, 2019 4:08 pm

I run both perpetual (per CPU) licenses and subscription licenses in my environment. The perpetual licenses are used for a VMware environment and the subscription licenses are currently used for physical windows servers. I merge the two license types into a single license file that is installed on the Enterprise Manager.

I need to add a new completely separate VMware environment to my Veeam infrastructure, which only has a small number of VMs. I would like to back these VMs up using the new instance licenses (at the hypervisor level i.e. no agent install), as buying perpetual per CPU licenses for this small number of VMs is extremely expensive. However because I have existing perpetual licenses and instance licenses merged into a single license file on the Enterprise Manager, I can't do that. If I try to back up a VM on the new VMware environment at hypervisor level, Enterprise Manager will try and consume a perpetual socket license and not an instance license.

This is a scenario where I could potentially have no licenses installed on EM, perpetual licenses installed on Backup server 1, (backing up the original VMware environment) and the instance licenses installed on Backup server 2 (backing up everything else, including the VMs on the new VMware environment)
Is this possible, or do I need to build two entirely separate Veeam environments with two enterprise managers, two management consoles etc, etc?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16514
Liked: 1373 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: running different Licenses when using Enterprise Manager

Post by veremin » Apr 19, 2019 11:52 am

If those are two different sites, then, yes, you can use the described approach: two independent backup server, not interconnected with each other anyhow (neither directly, nor trough EM), two ESXi hosts backed up, two different licenses installed. Thanks!

baywatch
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 07, 2018 4:30 pm
Full Name: Graham Hassall
Contact:

Re: running different Licenses when using Enterprise Manager

Post by baywatch » Apr 20, 2019 7:56 pm

So I have to have two completely separate environments then. that's disappointing. I was hoping that I could still run a single EM to manage the two backup servers.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24300
Liked: 3331 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: running different Licenses when using Enterprise Manager

Post by Gostev » Apr 23, 2019 11:43 pm

Single deployment requires a single license.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot], LaurentiuChiva, SergioVS and 48 guests