Scale-Out Repositories on Enterprise Edition

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Re: Scale-Out Repositories on Enterprise Edition

Veeam Logoby PTide » Tue Mar 22, 2016 5:15 pm

It not seems to be good approach to continue adding 4TB luns...
Ramping up disks in a spanned volume is definitely not a good approach unless you have a secondary repository that holds copies. Every extra disk increases the probability that your spanned volume will eventually fail.

limit of 3 extents - not way to go
Have you considered using backup copy job in order to reduce the length of your primary backup chain and lower the risk of losing the whole backup set?

Thank you.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2953
Liked: 241 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Scale-Out Repositories on Enterprise Edition

Veeam Logoby bg.ranken » Tue Mar 22, 2016 11:27 pm

dellock6 wrote:So, just to recap, you'd be fine with 4 maximum extents, regardless if they are grouped in 1 or 2 scale-out repositories.


This would work for my environment as well. Of course I'd like 6 extents total across 2 scale-out repositories, but just having two scale-out repositories with 4 extents to split between them would be enough to get me by. It would be far better than what was offered especially since the current setup kind of ignores the basic 3-2-1 rule of backup since with the current setup the offsite copy can't get the scale-out repository if you're using the one given for your primary. And realistically the offsite needs the scale-out repository almost as much as the primary site since GFF transforms can benefit from the performance option. But it's hard to justify giving your offsite the single scale-out repository since your primary site can benefit from smaller backup windows by using it.
bg.ranken
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 55
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 8:13 pm
Full Name: Randall Kender

Re: Scale-Out Repositories on Enterprise Edition

Veeam Logoby Matts N » Mon Mar 28, 2016 10:48 am

Randall and Will, a thought about having one scale-out repository span two sites... I am not sure that would actually give you more redundancy. Assuming individual VM backup chains, if you chose a performance SOBR, a single backup will be spread over all disk volumes, both primary site and backup site. And if you chose the other kind (can't remember it's name) all backups for a VM are kept together on the same volume as long as there is space left. No second copy on the other site. And... Having a copy job use the same backup repository as the original backup...? Not a good idea I think, if it is even possible to configure in VBR.

EDIT: Having 2 scale-out repositories, one on each site, would make sense to me though. One for the primary backups and one for copy jobs.

Just some 2 cents, whatever they are worth today... ;)

// Matts
Matts N
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 29
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 10:41 am
Full Name: Matts Nilsson

Re: Scale-Out Repositories on Enterprise Edition

Veeam Logoby crazzyeddie » Mon Mar 28, 2016 1:12 pm

EDIT: Having 2 scale-out repositories, one on each site, would make sense to me though. One for the primary backups and one for copy jobs.


This is the reason. Having a single repository span two sites would be a horrible design.
crazzyeddie
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 29
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 9:01 pm
Full Name: Will

Re: Scale-Out Repositories on Enterprise Edition

Veeam Logoby bg.ranken » Mon Mar 28, 2016 4:31 pm

Matts N wrote:Randall and Will, a thought about having one scale-out repository span two sites... I am not sure that would actually give you more redundancy. Assuming individual VM backup chains, if you chose a performance SOBR, a single backup will be spread over all disk volumes, both primary site and backup site. And if you chose the other kind (can't remember it's name) all backups for a VM are kept together on the same volume as long as there is space left. No second copy on the other site. And... Having a copy job use the same backup repository as the original backup...? Not a good idea I think, if it is even possible to configure in VBR.

EDIT: Having 2 scale-out repositories, one on each site, would make sense to me though. One for the primary backups and one for copy jobs.

Just some 2 cents, whatever they are worth today... ;)

// Matts


Not sure if I was specific enough but I only wanted a separate scale-out repository for the second site where the backup copies go to.
bg.ranken
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 55
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 8:13 pm
Full Name: Randall Kender

Re: Scale-Out Repositories on Enterprise Edition

Veeam Logoby nmdange » Mon Mar 28, 2016 7:03 pm

I didn't realize there was a limit not just on the number of extents per SOBR, but also on the number of SOBR instances in Enterprise. Perhaps allowing repositories from a single repository server being added to only one SOBR at a time would make more sense than having a system-wide limit on the number of SOBR?
nmdange
Expert
 
Posts: 178
Liked: 52 times
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2015 9:30 pm

Re: Scale-Out Repositories on Enterprise Edition

Veeam Logoby jameskilbynet » Mon Apr 04, 2016 2:12 pm 1 person likes this post

Its very difficult to put a number on the amount of extents/SOBR's and i think Veeam have made a sensible choice. It would be nice to be able to pay for this feature only as some customers would definitely need this but may not need the other enterprise plus functions. Downside is you end up with more SKU's
jameskilbynet
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 11
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 11:18 am
Full Name: James Kilby

[MERGED] Scale-Out repository limit!

Veeam Logoby enoch » Thu Jun 30, 2016 11:20 am

Se subject.

My opinion is either remove this feature in version 9.5 for Enterprise Edition or please think about extending the number to more than 2.

For my and a lot other users 2 Scale-out is to little.

I cannot see any feature in Enterprise Plus that I can you and therefor is dosn't make sense to pay a lot more ONLY to get the possiblity to use more than 2.

I REALLY hope that you listen to this for upcoming patch or v.9.5 or makes it possible to buy features to add more.

Regards
enoch
Service Provider
 
Posts: 114
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 12:14 pm
Full Name: Peter Enoch

Re: Scale-Out Repositories on Enterprise Edition

Veeam Logoby nmdange » Mon Aug 08, 2016 4:03 pm

Any chance this might change soon? Not being able to create two Scale Out repositories (one in the local datacenter and one in a remote site) makes this feature pretty unusable in Enterprise Edition.
nmdange
Expert
 
Posts: 178
Liked: 52 times
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2015 9:30 pm

Re: Scale-Out Repositories on Enterprise Edition

Veeam Logoby DaveWatkins » Mon Aug 08, 2016 8:11 pm

I had hoped to see this change in 9U2 myself, but it still appears to be the same as there is no mention of any change in the release notes
DaveWatkins
Expert
 
Posts: 248
Liked: 61 times
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2015 11:33 pm

Re: Scale-Out Repositories on Enterprise Edition

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Mon Aug 08, 2016 10:19 pm

Hi, all - sorry for not providing any updates on this matter.

I actually did the poll internally among our systems engineers a few months ago, and the option to keep everything as is won by far (2 to 1). So please, provide your feedback to your Veeam sales reps - as this kind of licensing changes need to be driven from the sales side (I cannot make the call).

I personally am inclined to agree that we need to allow two scale-out backup repositories (with 3 extents max in each) in the Enterprise Edition. I do promise to support you from my end, if they ask for my opinion ;)

Thanks!
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21354
Liked: 2333 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Full Name: Anton Gostev

Re: Scale-Out Repositories on Enterprise Edition

Veeam Logoby crazzyeddie » Sun Aug 14, 2016 11:12 pm 1 person likes this post

As always, thank you for being so responsive to the community, even if it isn't the answer we want to hear. Your customer focus was one of the main reasons I moved our SME from BE to Veeam.
crazzyeddie
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 29
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 9:01 pm
Full Name: Will

Re: Scale-Out Repositories on Enterprise Edition

Veeam Logoby andyg » Wed Oct 05, 2016 3:57 pm

Please rethink this low limit, It would be much nicer to have a few more extents.

Also, would your internal poll be biased as you want people to pay for Enterprise plus?

Why not increase this limit when you release Veeam 9.5 soon?
-= VMCE v9 certified =-
andyg
Service Provider
 
Posts: 55
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 9:51 am
Full Name: Andy Goldschmidt

Re: Scale-Out Repositories on Enterprise Edition

Veeam Logoby ian0x0r » Mon Jun 12, 2017 9:10 am

Reviving a old thread here.

We know 9.5 brought no new changes in respect to maximum SOBR size and I did not hear anything about this for V10. What is the consensus on this feature from within Veeam? Even allowing more than 1 SOBR with an extent limitation would be very helpful.

There was mention of SE's not supporting the motion to increase the limits. I would be interested to see what sort of size data sets these guys are working with and what kind of tin is suggested to accommodate the backups?

Cheers,

Ian
https://www.snurf.co.uk
ian0x0r
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 188
Liked: 32 times
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 11:53 am
Location: UK
Full Name: Ian Sanderson

Re: Scale-Out Repositories on Enterprise Edition

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Jun 13, 2017 11:19 am

We know 9.5 brought no new changes in respect to maximum SOBR size and I did not hear anything about this for V10.

This is not 100% true. As starting from 9.5 you can now have up to 4 extents with no more than three extents being online at the same time.

What is the consensus on this feature from within Veeam?

We cannot provide any comments regarding future edition revision at this time.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13075
Liked: 949 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

PreviousNext

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 20 guests