Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
lladreyt
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Laurent

secondary copy backup

Post by lladreyt »

Hi all,

I'm quite new with Veeam Backup and Replication. I have Veeam B&R 8 Standard Edition.
I bacup only 3 VMs (around 600GB). I backup on a Synology NAS, so on disk with a fileshare.
I have an incremental job every working day, and on Satuday a synthetic full bckp is done.

I'd like to do a copy of the full backup on an USB Disk (so fileshare also) to take away from the site once a week, on Monday for instance.

but I don't really understand how the "secondary target" works, because I can't choose when this secondary copy takes place...
I saw we can do a script in the advanced options of the job, but i'd like to use this secondary copy option because I think Veeam can do it :)

would you help me please?

thx,

Laurent.
veremin
Product Manager
Liked: 2258 times
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: secondary copy backup

Post by veremin »

I'd like to do a copy of the full backup on an USB Disk (so fileshare also) to take away from the site once a week, on Monday for instance.
Are you going to rotate this drive? Say, each Monday current USB drive will be replaced with a different one?

Generally speaking, you'd probably need to create a backup copy job with 7 day copy interval and let it perform initial cycle on the desired day of week. Starting from this moment, once a week the backup copy job will create a new restore point on the inserted drive.

Thanks.
lladreyt
Novice

Post by lladreyt »

hey mate!

thx very much for your answer :)

indeed, it's exactly this: i'll have 2 USB HD for rotate (on at home and one on site), which i'll switch every monday.

I created the copy job, set to 7 days interval. so like the synthetic full is on saturday, the copy job will copy this full bckp to the usb hd after, and on Monday, i'll switch the USB HD, and same.. am I right?

thx again for your help :)
veremin
Product Manager