Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
wwickline
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 21, 2013 1:54 pm
Full Name: Warren Wickline
Contact:

Secondary Destination Job Question

Post by wwickline »

I have a question about setting up a secondary destination for a new backup job. When I go to make a "New Backup to Tape Job", and add a backup job, the job needs to exist first. When I go to make a "New Backup Job" and choose to a Configure secondary destination, the Backup to Tape job must exist first.

Am I just missing something concept wise? I looked through the manual and I don't see a clear common practice. What is the best situation? Define the job with no secondary, then define the tape job, then go back and edit the job and add the secondary? Or define a job, then define a tape, then define a third job?

Thanks

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17834
Liked: 1663 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Secondary Destination Job Question

Post by veremin »

What is the best situation?
In fact, it’s completely up to you what approach to choose here. Though, I'd say that in overwhelming majority of environments backup jobs either are created first or have been already created with previous product versions, so, the only thing you have to do in this case is to add corresponding "backup to tape" jobs in accordance with your needs and desires.

Thanks.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26708
Liked: 4277 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Secondary Destination Job Question

Post by Gostev » 1 person likes this post

Secondary Destination in primary backup jobs is designed for quick adding newly created primary backup jobs to existing Backup Copy or Backup to Tape job. This functionality is not for initial setup, but to make life easier in future. Just ignore this step when setting up your first primary backup job. Thanks!

wwickline
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 21, 2013 1:54 pm
Full Name: Warren Wickline
Contact:

Re: Secondary Destination Job Question

Post by wwickline »

That explains it.

Thanks!

tom11011
Expert
Posts: 160
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2010 8:40 pm
Full Name: Tom
Contact:

[MERGED] Quick Question about Backup Copy

Post by tom11011 »

Hi Group,

Running Veeam 7.0 patch 2 Enterprise Plus Edition.

I am creating a backup job and selecting the option to "Configure secondary destinations for this job". As soon as I click the box, a message box pops up and says "Create at least one backup copy or backup to tape job first".

I'm confused by this. If I create a separate backup copy job, why would I need to check this box in this job?

Thanks.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19465
Liked: 1767 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Secondary Destination Job Question

Post by foggy »

Tom, please see Anton's explanation above. Hope this answers your question. Thanks.

tom11011
Expert
Posts: 160
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2010 8:40 pm
Full Name: Tom
Contact:

Re: Secondary Destination Job Question

Post by tom11011 »

Ok, I still don't understand though :|

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19465
Liked: 1767 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Secondary Destination Job Question

Post by foggy »

Simply put, you need at least one backup copy or backup to tape job to be already created to be able to use this option. You cannot specify secondary destination for backups when there's no job that will perform the corresponding activity (copying backups to a secondary location).

tom11011
Expert
Posts: 160
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2010 8:40 pm
Full Name: Tom
Contact:

Re: Secondary Destination Job Question

Post by tom11011 »

ok, I see what you are saying. Basically, if I only want this to run once per day, there is no point in including it in the original job since the job already needs to exist.

Also, will copy backups work if my backup job that it will be copying is reverse incremental?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19465
Liked: 1767 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Secondary Destination Job Question

Post by foggy »

Yes, for backup copy job, it doesn't matter what source backup jobs are set to: forward or reversed incremental mode.

tom11011
Expert
Posts: 160
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2010 8:40 pm
Full Name: Tom
Contact:

Re: Secondary Destination Job Question

Post by tom11011 »

Thank you.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests