Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
tfloor
Expert
Posts: 270
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Jan 03, 2012 2:02 pm
Full Name: Tristan Floor
Contact:

Size of Full backup forever?

Post by tfloor » Mar 20, 2012 12:58 pm

Hello,

Example.

I have a server with 150 GB of data.
Doing a first FULL backup and forward incrementals for 14 snapshots and on saturday a synthetic full.

After that i will remove 50GB of data from that server. So my server has 100GB in use.
But in my first full there is 150GB of data, and with synthetic fulls it's always: Previous (synthetic)FULL+Incr=new synthetic Full.

So is it the case that the 50GB of data is forever in my backups?
Do you need to do active fulls or something to get the benefits of removed data

Thanks.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17712
Liked: 1481 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Size of Full backup forever?

Post by foggy » Mar 20, 2012 1:17 pm

Do you have the transform option enabled? Without transform, new synthetic full consists of only actual data blocks, while with transform enabled deleting data from VM won't decrease the VBK file size, but just mark all the corresponding blocks inside the file as unused (so that they could be reused by some other data). NTFS does not allow "shrinking files", so in order to reduce VBK file size, you need to run sdelete on the VM first to zero all unused blocks and then perform an active full backup.

tfloor
Expert
Posts: 270
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Jan 03, 2012 2:02 pm
Full Name: Tristan Floor
Contact:

Re: Size of Full backup forever?

Post by tfloor » Mar 20, 2012 1:44 pm

foggy,

I'm not using the transform option.
So i finished with only .VBK and .VIB files.

Is that clear enough?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17712
Liked: 1481 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Size of Full backup forever?

Post by foggy » Mar 20, 2012 1:52 pm

In this case synthetic full will not contain the deleted data.

tfloor
Expert
Posts: 270
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Jan 03, 2012 2:02 pm
Full Name: Tristan Floor
Contact:

Re: Size of Full backup forever?

Post by tfloor » Mar 20, 2012 4:20 pm

foggy wrote:In this case synthetic full will not contain the deleted data.
So what's the recommendation for this?
Is there a best practice....
Don't know how other organisations are playing with this thing?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24017
Liked: 3254 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Size of Full backup forever?

Post by Gostev » Mar 20, 2012 6:08 pm

They just don't worry about this. Your scenario is simply not valid. In real world workloads, data is never just removed, but is always replaced with more data (immediately, or eventually). When was the last time that you removed a hard drive from any of your computers, because you did not need the disk space that you needed before?

tfloor
Expert
Posts: 270
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Jan 03, 2012 2:02 pm
Full Name: Tristan Floor
Contact:

Re: Size of Full backup forever?

Post by tfloor » Mar 20, 2012 8:29 pm

I think that was in 1938 wednesday.

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5628
Liked: 1575 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Size of Full backup forever?

Post by dellock6 » Mar 21, 2012 1:28 pm

Why don't you run a transform job once and then wait for the retetion period to expire the old bigger backup?
Luca Dell'Oca
EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

tfloor
Expert
Posts: 270
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Jan 03, 2012 2:02 pm
Full Name: Tristan Floor
Contact:

Re: Size of Full backup forever?

Post by tfloor » Mar 21, 2012 2:54 pm

It's possible but not a nice one when you finally have my whole setup including backup to tape ready.
When I get rid of tape backups its much easier to redesign things fast without further impact

tfloor
Expert
Posts: 270
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Jan 03, 2012 2:02 pm
Full Name: Tristan Floor
Contact:

Re: Size of Full backup forever?

Post by tfloor » Mar 22, 2012 4:33 pm

How about simply right click on the job where the decreased vm's are in and select perform full backup. ?
Very simple brainwave but I think that is A solution?
Then there is a new decreased full forever.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17712
Liked: 1481 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Size of Full backup forever?

Post by foggy » Mar 22, 2012 4:42 pm

If your goal is to get the decreased full backup asap, then performing active full is the way to go.

tfloor
Expert
Posts: 270
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Jan 03, 2012 2:02 pm
Full Name: Tristan Floor
Contact:

Re: Size of Full backup forever?

Post by tfloor » Mar 23, 2012 6:46 am

Active full is the same result as ' perform full backup' manual option. Am I right ?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24017
Liked: 3254 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Size of Full backup forever?

Post by Gostev » Mar 23, 2012 7:37 am

Yes, same thing.

tfloor
Expert
Posts: 270
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Jan 03, 2012 2:02 pm
Full Name: Tristan Floor
Contact:

Re: Size of Full backup forever?

Post by tfloor » Mar 23, 2012 8:54 am

Normally I do a synthetic full on Friday. What If I start manually a full on that day. Is it again doing a synthetic full after that according to the schedule. I want to replace a scheduled synthetic with a manual active full. Does veeam understand that?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17712
Liked: 1481 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Size of Full backup forever?

Post by foggy » Mar 23, 2012 9:11 am

No, in this case synthetic full will not be performed (no increments to combine).

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: david.m, derek.davis, Karinne, Majestic-12 [Bot] and 23 guests