Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
martin_nz
Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 26, 2015 11:01 pm
Full Name: Martin
Contact:

Slow Network Speed Question

Post by martin_nz » Mar 04, 2015 12:04 am

Hello,

I am running a backup job to a repository on a virtual server on my network which has access to a lot of storage. I am noticing though that when I am backing up I am getting 26Mbps speed and I thought that I would be getting faster speeds than that.

is this normal?

v.eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16130
Liked: 1314 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Slow Network Speed Question

Post by v.eremin » Mar 04, 2015 9:44 am

Can you describe your infrastructure in more details? Also, can you provide your current bottleneck identified in job session statistics?

martin_nz
Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 26, 2015 11:01 pm
Full Name: Martin
Contact:

Re: Slow Network Speed Question

Post by martin_nz » Mar 04, 2015 8:32 pm

Okay,
I have a virtual network and my proxy server is a WIndows 2012 R2 box which is on the same virtual network subnet as all of my production boxes. I have a large VMDK hard drive attached to this proxy server to store my backup files prior to going to tape and these are reverse incremental backup jobs.

The bottleneck is the target according to the job.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22281
Liked: 1410 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Slow Network Speed Question

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 05, 2015 4:11 pm

What about full bottleneck stats showing the load across all components? Furthermore, do you have any requirement to use reverse incremental backup mode? Do you offload full backups (VBK files) to tapes daily?

martin_nz
Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 26, 2015 11:01 pm
Full Name: Martin
Contact:

Re: Slow Network Speed Question

Post by martin_nz » Mar 06, 2015 12:50 am

I am offloading my VBK files to tape daily hence why im using reverse incrementals.

Load: source 10% > Proxy 8% > network 0% > Target 99%

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22281
Liked: 1410 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Slow Network Speed Question

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 06, 2015 12:08 pm

According to the bottleneck stats, the real reason for this slow job performance is the target storage. Since you're storing data on the virtual disk, can you please tell me what latency/IOPs values you see when the job is running?

martin_nz
Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 26, 2015 11:01 pm
Full Name: Martin
Contact:

Re: Slow Network Speed Question

Post by martin_nz » Mar 15, 2015 8:09 pm

What's the best way to get that information?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22281
Liked: 1410 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Slow Network Speed Question

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 15, 2015 8:34 pm

Since your target storage is a regular vmdk disk, you can use Veeam ONE free edition to review datastore performance during job run.

martin_nz
Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 26, 2015 11:01 pm
Full Name: Martin
Contact:

Re: Slow Network Speed Question

Post by martin_nz » Mar 15, 2015 8:36 pm

great. how do I install Veeam ONE?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22281
Liked: 1410 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Slow Network Speed Question

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 15, 2015 8:40 pm

You can download it from this page, and then add your vCenter Server to start gathering all the stats.

martin_nz
Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 26, 2015 11:01 pm
Full Name: Martin
Contact:

Re: Slow Network Speed Question

Post by martin_nz » Mar 15, 2015 8:42 pm

Great. I will give it a go.

martin_nz
Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 26, 2015 11:01 pm
Full Name: Martin
Contact:

Re: Slow Network Speed Question

Post by martin_nz » Mar 15, 2015 9:22 pm

Do I install the server or the client? also I have Veeam B&R running on my vCenter server. will they run together?

v.eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16130
Liked: 1314 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Slow Network Speed Question

Post by v.eremin » Mar 16, 2015 9:11 am

Do I install the server or the client?
Server.
will they run together?
Nope, you will need a separate machine to install Veeam ONE server on. The reason for this is that vCenter is using Tomcat while Veeam ONE requires IIS, these two apps will try grab the same TCP port which will lead conflicts during initialization process.

Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests