Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
jpaul
Enthusiast
Posts: 88
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Apr 19, 2010 1:14 am
Full Name: Justin Paul
Contact:

Slow Replicas

Post by jpaul » Dec 08, 2010 4:38 am

After reading the one sticky in the fastscp section http://www.veeam.com/forums/viewtopic.p ... 85&start=0

i was wondering .... if i were using ESX as a replication target would i get better speeds then if i were using esxi?

we have a customer who replicates data back to our office and we have an esxi VM that they are replicating to... would i be better of to use ESX?

I recieve SOAP errors every now and then and was told a while ago that ESXi just wasnt meant to have very many open connections like this.

The customer has a 15Mbps PtP Link to us.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24926
Liked: 3619 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Slow Replicas

Post by Gostev » Dec 08, 2010 5:50 am

Absolutely. I say this in every topic asking for best replication setup advice ;)

jpaul
Enthusiast
Posts: 88
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Apr 19, 2010 1:14 am
Full Name: Justin Paul
Contact:

Re: Slow Replicas

Post by jpaul » Dec 09, 2010 2:55 pm

If i keep esxi, but tell the VM's to replicate to a virtual center server (and let that trckel down to esxi) will that improve speed too?

im installing esx now.... but what is the plan after esx goes away ?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24926
Liked: 3619 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Slow Replicas

Post by Gostev » Dec 09, 2010 3:01 pm

Hi - no, the speed will not improve if you specify target via vCenter server.
The plan is to enhance our ESXi target support before ESX goes away.

Thanks!

jpaul
Enthusiast
Posts: 88
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Apr 19, 2010 1:14 am
Full Name: Justin Paul
Contact:

Re: Slow Replicas

Post by jpaul » Dec 10, 2010 6:06 pm

OK so i installed an ESX host which has access to the same storage as the ESXi server. I went into the job properties and switched it from one host to another hoping that it wouldnt make me reseed everything, but i get this error

Image

is this true? i cannot switch a job from an ESXi target to ESX without starting over?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24926
Liked: 3619 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Slow Replicas

Post by Gostev » Dec 10, 2010 10:56 pm

Yes, this is true.

jpaul
Enthusiast
Posts: 88
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Apr 19, 2010 1:14 am
Full Name: Justin Paul
Contact:

Re: Slow Replicas

Post by jpaul » Dec 12, 2010 2:33 pm

is that why im getting this error :?

Constructing rollback file name
Invalid SoapPath link: "<datacenterRef>ha-datacenter</datacenterRef><hostRef>ha-host</hostRef><datastoreRef>4cc9d927-0ea45c56-0bff-005056a24382</datastoreRef><datastoreGuid>4cc9d927-0ea45c56-0bff-005056a24382</datastoreGuid><FullName>[Backups] VeeamBackup/servercsb(vm-271)/replica.vbk<"
Unexpected end of file has occurred. The following elements are not closed: FullName. Line 1, position 263.

thank you for all your help !

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24926
Liked: 3619 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Slow Replicas

Post by Gostev » Dec 12, 2010 2:52 pm

No, this is unrelated.

jpaul
Enthusiast
Posts: 88
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Apr 19, 2010 1:14 am
Full Name: Justin Paul
Contact:

Re: Slow Replicas

Post by jpaul » Dec 12, 2010 11:15 pm

any hits on what i can do to fix it

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24926
Liked: 3619 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Slow Replicas

Post by Gostev » Dec 13, 2010 7:29 am

For any technical issues please contact our support directly providing full log files.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], perjonsson1960 and 53 guests