Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
baber
Expert
Posts: 462
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 21, 2013 12:02 pm
Full Name: Babak Seyedi nejad
Contact:

Snapshot Hunter

Post by baber » Nov 22, 2017 7:00 pm

Dear friend
Hi

do snapshot hunter start automatically with backup or replication job or i have to run that manually?

BR

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16832
Liked: 1361 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Snapshot Hunter

Post by foggy » Nov 23, 2017 9:45 am

it is started automatically during each job session.

baber
Expert
Posts: 462
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 21, 2013 12:02 pm
Full Name: Babak Seyedi nejad
Contact:

[MERGED] snapshot hunter function

Post by baber » Dec 17, 2017 3:43 pm

dear all
Hi

in document said about snapshot hunter now i want to know
1- this feature by default is active and will be run after each backup and replication or have to enable that ?

2 - can run manually snapshot hunter ?

BR

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1220
Liked: 128 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: snapshot hunter function

Post by DGrinev » Dec 17, 2017 7:16 pm

Hi Babak,

1. Snapshot hunter starts as part of the job session.
2. No.

Thanks!

baber
Expert
Posts: 462
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 21, 2013 12:02 pm
Full Name: Babak Seyedi nejad
Contact:

Re: Snapshot Hunter

Post by baber » Dec 17, 2017 7:53 pm

now if on my vm appear warning consolidate and when run consolidate it will be fail now in this time if get backup from that machine is t hat possible do consolidate with snapshot hunter without fail?

BR

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16832
Liked: 1361 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Snapshot Hunter

Post by foggy » Dec 17, 2017 10:20 pm

Yes, since Snapshot Hunter tries several different consolidation methods.

baber
Expert
Posts: 462
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 21, 2013 12:02 pm
Full Name: Babak Seyedi nejad
Contact:

Re: Snapshot Hunter

Post by baber » Dec 18, 2017 5:37 am

so thanks in your document mention "The 3-steps consolidation procedure is launched up to 4 times with a 4-hour interval."

1- 3-step consolidate will be take 4hours ??
2- is that your means if appear consolidate warning on one of my VM then i create a backup from that VM this backup in last step (remove snapshot) maybe take 4 hours for delete snapshots or consolidate them ?

BR

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1220
Liked: 128 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Snapshot Hunter

Post by DGrinev » Dec 18, 2017 9:22 am

Hi,

1. No, there are 3 different consolidation algorithms which can be retried up to 4 times with the 4 hour interval between retries.
2. No, there is no strict time length of the consolidation process, it depends on different parameters of the infrastructure and snapshot itself. Thanks!

baber
Expert
Posts: 462
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 21, 2013 12:02 pm
Full Name: Babak Seyedi nejad
Contact:

Re: Snapshot Hunter

Post by baber » Dec 18, 2017 9:52 am

thanks

But 4hours that you mention in document what is means?
can you give an example?

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1220
Liked: 128 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Snapshot Hunter

Post by DGrinev » Dec 18, 2017 12:39 pm

Snapshot hunter retries to solve the issue with the orphaned snapshots every 4 hours, if the first try failed. So, 4 hour interval is set to wait for conditions to be changed before another try.
If all 4 retries failed, it will notify you by email and propose to solve the issue manually. Thanks!

baber
Expert
Posts: 462
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 21, 2013 12:02 pm
Full Name: Babak Seyedi nejad
Contact:

Re: Snapshot Hunter

Post by baber » Dec 18, 2017 2:17 pm

thanks
but you imagine untill now i did not install veeam and used other 3rd party applications for get backup from vms
and appear consolidate warning on one of my vm now i want to know if install veeam and get backup from that vm is that possible consolidate warning solve ?

BR

tdewin
Veeam Software
Posts: 1326
Liked: 436 times
Joined: Mar 02, 2012 1:40 pm
Full Name: Timothy Dewin
Contact:

Re: Snapshot Hunter

Post by tdewin » Dec 18, 2017 2:23 pm

If you have a consolidate warning today, right click the VM, snapshot > consolidate
https://kb.vmware.com/s/article/2003638

baber
Expert
Posts: 462
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 21, 2013 12:02 pm
Full Name: Babak Seyedi nejad
Contact:

Re: Snapshot Hunter

Post by baber » Dec 18, 2017 2:30 pm

dear tdewin
so thanks

but in above posts i said consolidate failed
now i want to know veeam with snapshot hunter feature can do this?

if consolidate appear on vm and now install veeam and get backup will that solve consolidate problem ?

BR

vmniels
Veeam Software
Posts: 2002
Liked: 442 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Snapshot Hunter

Post by vmniels » Dec 18, 2017 3:12 pm

If u keep getting consolidate failures please contact VMware as this is a VMware issue.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

baber
Expert
Posts: 462
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 21, 2013 12:02 pm
Full Name: Babak Seyedi nejad
Contact:

Re: Snapshot Hunter

Post by baber » Dec 18, 2017 3:15 pm

i know this is vmware issue but i want to know is that possible veeam can solve that ?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 37 guests