Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
chris.childerhose
Service Provider
Posts: 104
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Aug 13, 2014 6:03 pm
Full Name: Chris Childerhose
Location: Toronto, ON
Contact:

SOBR - Replace Extents with New

Post by chris.childerhose » Jul 15, 2019 7:39 pm

Quick question - if I have a SOBR with 3 extents in it and want to replace the extents with 3 new ones (these will be ReFS) -- can this be done and how will it affect jobs?

I don't want to go through the evacuation procedure as it takes too long to complete for the amount of data we have. I am going to keep the existing repos around until data retention is over and then remove them to reclaim storage.

Will the jobs just run a new Full backup on the next run after the replacement? :?:
-----------------------
Chris Childerhose
Veeam Vanguard / VMCE v9
VCAP-DCA / VCP6 / MCITP
Personal blog: https://just-virtualization.tech
Twitter: @cchilderhose

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6830
Liked: 696 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: SOBR - Replace Extents with New

Post by Shestakov » Jul 16, 2019 9:57 am

Hello Chris,
Since you don't want to evacuate the backups, are you planning to create new SOBR with 3 new extents and point the jobs there?
Once new SOBR has enough restore points, the old one can be cleaned.

chris.childerhose
Service Provider
Posts: 104
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Aug 13, 2014 6:03 pm
Full Name: Chris Childerhose
Location: Toronto, ON
Contact:

Re: SOBR - Replace Extents with New

Post by chris.childerhose » Jul 16, 2019 10:35 am

No I was going to add new and remove old ones. Straight swap and I am ok with having to do full backups. I am constrained by having Enterprise license also with another SOBR already.

Also doing a new SOBR means cloning the jobs too since they will want data moved.
-----------------------
Chris Childerhose
Veeam Vanguard / VMCE v9
VCAP-DCA / VCP6 / MCITP
Personal blog: https://just-virtualization.tech
Twitter: @cchilderhose

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1678
Liked: 210 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: SOBR - Replace Extents with New

Post by DGrinev » Jul 16, 2019 11:12 am

After the replacement, you should use Remove from configuration for all previously created backup chains, thus, all the jobs will start new backup chains. Otherwise, backup jobs are going to fail since the backup chains are gone. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests