Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
Profex
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 11, 2012 8:18 am
Full Name: Andre
Contact:

Splash Screen

Post by Profex » Sep 12, 2013 9:37 am

Hello Veeam Support & Veeam Experts,

is it possible to Disable the Start Splash Screen from Veeam 7 ?

We use RDP Session on some Igel ThinClients to Administrate Veeam and the Startscreen Logo of Veeam makes some problems.

is there any RegKey to disable it ?

Thx to all

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23638
Liked: 1712 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Splash Screen

Post by Vitaliy S. » Sep 12, 2013 10:13 am

Hello Andre,

Not sure there is a key for that, but can you please tell me what kind of problems do you have?

Thank you!

Profex
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 11, 2012 8:18 am
Full Name: Andre
Contact:

Re: Splash Screen

Post by Profex » Sep 12, 2013 12:24 pm

hello vitaly,

the screen starts with 8bit color..so we see always a grey/black Hole....so we want to disable if possible....thx!

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23638
Liked: 1712 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Splash Screen

Post by Vitaliy S. » Sep 12, 2013 1:54 pm

There is no registry key for this (just confirmed that), but thanks for the feedback.

m.novelli
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 362
Liked: 43 times
Joined: Dec 29, 2009 12:48 pm
Full Name: Marco Novelli
Location: Asti - Italy
Contact:

Re: Splash Screen

Post by m.novelli » Sep 24, 2013 6:49 am

Would like to add a similar request: I have a couple of customers where the IT Manager is changed and on Veeam 7 splash screen appear the name / email of previous IT Manager :wink:

Marco

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23638
Liked: 1712 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Splash Screen

Post by Vitaliy S. » Sep 24, 2013 6:53 am

Marco, you can always change the displayed name by requesting a new license key, but anyway thanks for the feedback.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25859
Liked: 3984 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Splash Screen

Post by Gostev » Aug 07, 2014 8:55 pm 1 person likes this post

We have added this option to v8.

m.novelli
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 362
Liked: 43 times
Joined: Dec 29, 2009 12:48 pm
Full Name: Marco Novelli
Location: Asti - Italy
Contact:

Re: Splash Screen

Post by m.novelli » Aug 08, 2014 7:22 am

Thanks! :)

emanuele.mure
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 07, 2015 12:05 am
Contact:

Re: Splash Screen

Post by emanuele.mure » Jun 01, 2016 11:35 am

Gostev wrote:We have added this option to v8.
Where can i do this?

tnks

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18811
Liked: 1655 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Splash Screen

Post by foggy » Jun 01, 2016 1:54 pm

Try the ShowSplashScreen (DWORD) registry value, should be set to "0" to disable splash.

JPMS
Enthusiast
Posts: 62
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Nov 02, 2019 6:19 pm
Full Name: Jason
Contact:

Re: Splash Screen

Post by JPMS » Feb 19, 2020 10:08 pm 1 person likes this post

A heads up for anybody using this with v10, it may stop you from being able to access the Licence menu!

We found that trying to select 'Licence' from the menu just brought up an error on our v10 installation. This was a significant issue as we were using the RTM v10 with a trial license and needed to install our own license before the trial license expired. In the end we had to delete the license entry in the registry and do a complete reinstall to get around the problem.

I have since identified this registry setting as the cause of the issue. Still to have this confirmed by support but I have replicated the issue on both our original B&R server and a complete new install on a separate VM.

Case #03997989

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18811
Liked: 1655 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Splash Screen

Post by foggy » Feb 20, 2020 2:59 pm

Thanks, Jason. This is currently under investigation by R&D - once we are able to confirm the behavior, we'll plan the fix for one of the future updates.

Steve-nIP
Service Provider
Posts: 54
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Feb 06, 2018 10:08 am
Full Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Splash Screen

Post by Steve-nIP » Feb 21, 2020 7:26 am

I know this is only vaguely related, but what's up with the ugly text on the new VBR 10 logon screen? (not the splash itself).
I hope a hotfix makes it look decent again :)

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25859
Liked: 3984 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Splash Screen

Post by Gostev » Feb 21, 2020 12:21 pm

Can you share a screenshot of how it looks for you?

JPMS
Enthusiast
Posts: 62
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Nov 02, 2019 6:19 pm
Full Name: Jason
Contact:

Re: Splash Screen

Post by JPMS » Feb 21, 2020 1:16 pm

Steve-nIP wrote:
Feb 21, 2020 7:26 am
I know this is only vaguely related, but what's up with the ugly text on the new VBR 10 logon screen? (not the splash itself).
I hope a hotfix makes it look decent again :)
High DPI Screen?

With reference to the problem I posted about above, the problem has been replicated by the support engineer and they are awaiting a response from R&D. It is easy to work around, just change the registry key and restart the console. You don't need to restart the server or any services.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 30 guests