Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
nmace
Enthusiast
Posts: 94
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Jul 23, 2012 3:48 pm
Contact:

SQL Server Restores?

Post by nmace » Aug 14, 2015 7:31 pm

I'm following the steps outlined in this blog post:

http://www.veeam.com/blog/how-to-restor ... abase.html

And what I'm seeing in the Veeam SQL Explorer isn't matching. I'm good to go up until I pick the restore point and then the blog post shows the option to pick the most recent restore point or a slider to restore to a specific transaction log. I don't see that at all. I get the "Standard" Veeam restore screen where there is the list of backup points. Why is mine different? Is the blog post version 9 and I'm running version 8? I am doing application aware processing, etc on the backup jobs. I am not sure what the difference could be other than maybe the blog post is version 9. Anyone have any other ideas?

JaxIsland7575
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 385
Liked: 104 times
Joined: Apr 27, 2015 1:59 pm
Full Name: Ryan Jacksland
Location: NY, USA
Contact:

Re: SQL Server Restores?

Post by JaxIsland7575 » Aug 14, 2015 9:20 pm

I am going to say it might be v9. I checked my v8 update 2 and I do not have those sliders or screens as well. Might be a little preview!

Cheers!
VMCE v9

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24282
Liked: 3325 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: SQL Server Restores?

Post by Gostev » Aug 15, 2015 12:41 am

This is v8 for sure, as v9 is not available even internally yet. If you don't have these controls available, this means you're simply not performing transaction log backups, which are required for point in time recovery. Without transaction log backup enabled, you can only perform the restore to a database state of an image-level backup. Thanks!

JaxIsland7575
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 385
Liked: 104 times
Joined: Apr 27, 2015 1:59 pm
Full Name: Ryan Jacksland
Location: NY, USA
Contact:

Re: SQL Server Restores?

Post by JaxIsland7575 » Aug 15, 2015 1:17 am

I double checked the SQL backup, and it was set to Truncate Logs. if I changed it to Backup Logs Periodically that would give the option with the slider to choose a point in time?
VMCE v9

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5680
Liked: 1600 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: SQL Server Restores?

Post by dellock6 » Aug 16, 2015 4:03 pm 1 person likes this post

Correct, the transaction log backup is what gives you point in time restore capabilities.
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests