Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
cvlr
Service Provider
Posts: 41
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Dec 14, 2010 1:04 pm
Full Name: Christophe Van Lierde
Contact:

Start SureBackup job with stopping application group

Post by cvlr » Oct 27, 2011 12:43 pm

I have a scheduled SureBackup job with a DC and an Exchange server. The option "Keep application group running ..." is ofcourse not ticked because of the schedule.
When I want to perform an AIR restore for a mail item, i need to edit the job, tick "Keep application group running ..." and then start the SureBackup job to start the AIR wizard.
I wonder if there is a more elegant way, eg without editing the job.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24793
Liked: 3536 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Start SureBackup job with stopping application group

Post by Gostev » Oct 27, 2011 12:56 pm

Just use virtual lab request system (via AIR wizards) and have it create the lab for you. The required VM will run for the specified duration for you. There is detailed explanation in the sticky FAQ topic on how this whole system works. Thanks!

cvlr
Service Provider
Posts: 41
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Dec 14, 2010 1:04 pm
Full Name: Christophe Van Lierde
Contact:

Re: Start SureBackup job with stopping application group

Post by cvlr » Oct 27, 2011 12:59 pm

But then I would need to install Enterprise Manager, correct?
Veeam Certified Engineer v9 / Veeam Gold Pro Partner

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24793
Liked: 3536 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Start SureBackup job with stopping application group

Post by Gostev » Oct 27, 2011 1:11 pm

That's right. You can install it right on your Veeam Backup server.

cvlr
Service Provider
Posts: 41
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Dec 14, 2010 1:04 pm
Full Name: Christophe Van Lierde
Contact:

Re: Start SureBackup job with stopping application group

Post by cvlr » Oct 27, 2011 1:16 pm

I find the use of Enterprise Manager to be cumbersome ( we have only 1 Veeam Backup server ) and I was glad to find that the Exchange AIR did not require Enterprise Manager. Maybe a future release will provide a way to start a SureBackup job once without stopping :lol:

Thank you for the feedbackup though.
Veeam Certified Engineer v9 / Veeam Gold Pro Partner

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 33minutesinheaven, backupquestions, Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], GregorS, jmoswetsi and 36 guests