Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
anbeca
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 21, 2012 10:04 pm
Full Name: Carsten Krämer
Contact:

Starting B&R 6.5 on Windows XP x64 takes forever

Post by anbeca » Oct 27, 2012 2:36 pm

Hi

i just updated a few B&R to version 6.5. Basically everything went without any problems.
On one installation the upgrade also went without problems but starting the gui takes about 30 minutes. The systems is hardly usable at this time with cpu usage not higher then 10 percent. So actually the system is doing nothing and still unusable. After waiting approx. 30 minutes the gui comes up und everything is working as normal.

B&R 6.5 runs on Windows XP x64 with 4 GB RAM and two virtual cores. Its a VM running on ESXi 5.0 U1.

Anyone have a hint what this can be?

Thanks

ta_jb
Service Provider
Posts: 20
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Sep 29, 2009 1:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Starting B&R 6.5 on XP x64 takes forever

Post by ta_jb » Oct 27, 2012 4:38 pm

Having the same problem with 6.1 on several XP virtual machines (but all 32 bit).
Thought that's get fixed with version 6.5 and just waited for the release of it 8)

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5732
Liked: 1622 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Starting B&R 6.5 on Windows XP x64 takes forever

Post by dellock6 » Oct 28, 2012 8:42 pm

Have you checked other performance metrics like underlying storage for example? Or memory balloning/swapping on that VM? XP has the default ide controller for its virtual disk?

Luca.
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

homerjnick
Expert
Posts: 211
Liked: 35 times
Joined: Feb 20, 2012 4:13 pm
Full Name: Nick Mahlitz
Contact:

Re: Starting B&R 6.5 on Windows XP x64 takes forever

Post by homerjnick » Oct 28, 2012 9:12 pm

Could it be a SQL issue on your Veeam server...

wonderboy
Influencer
Posts: 19
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Aug 25, 2010 11:15 am
Full Name: peter
Contact:

Re: Starting B&R 6.5 on Windows XP x64 takes forever

Post by wonderboy » Oct 29, 2012 1:42 pm 1 person likes this post

I have found in 6.1 and 6.5, if I'm RDP'd to the veeam server, the Splash screen freezes that way for ever. BUT if I disconnect the RDP session and immediately reconnect then the program appear open and all is normal. :?

kevinturner73
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 29, 2012 8:01 pm
Full Name: Kevin Turner
Contact:

Re: Starting B&R 6.5 on Windows XP x64 takes forever

Post by kevinturner73 » Oct 29, 2012 8:09 pm

I am having the same issue. Running the BR6.5 console from a Server2008-32bit machince. It was on 6.1 last week and was working fine Wednesday. Did some Windows security updates and when it came back up the same thing happened to mine (10 minutes to load, 2 minutes to change views, most backups fail) I didnt immedietaly think it would be the windows updates because the same updates were applied to our identical veeam-replication server and it fine all day long. I went ahead and did the 6.5 update and the same thing is occuring.

So long story short, it started on B&R 6.1 for me so it was not truely a "6.5 issue" for me. I am going to uninstall the updates and see if that was the issue for me. I will add my results.

ta_jb
Service Provider
Posts: 20
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Sep 29, 2009 1:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Starting B&R 6.5 on Windows XP x64 takes forever

Post by ta_jb » Oct 30, 2012 5:14 pm

wonderboy wrote:I have found in 6.1 and 6.5, if I'm RDP'd to the veeam server, the Splash screen freezes that way for ever. BUT if I disconnect the RDP session and immediately reconnect then the program appear open and all is normal. :?
Can confirm this behaviour. If I'm connected via VMware Console the GUI opens immediately.

kjc3303
Expert
Posts: 167
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Dec 02, 2010 12:25 pm
Full Name: Kevin Clarke
Location: Cheshire
Contact:

Re: Starting B&R 6.5 on Windows XP x64 takes forever

Post by kjc3303 » Oct 30, 2012 5:20 pm

wonderboy wrote:I have found in 6.1 and 6.5, if I'm RDP'd to the veeam server, the Splash screen freezes that way for ever. BUT if I disconnect the RDP session and immediately reconnect then the program appear open and all is normal. :?
Had the same issue today

kevinturner73
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 29, 2012 8:01 pm
Full Name: Kevin Turner
Contact:

Re: Starting B&R 6.5 on Windows XP x64 takes forever

Post by kevinturner73 » Oct 30, 2012 8:12 pm

kevinturner73 wrote:So long story short, it started on B&R 6.1 for me so it was not truely a "6.5 issue" for me. I am going to uninstall the updates and see if that was the issue for me. I will add my results.
Uninstalling the windows updates last night did not fix the issue.

m.novelli
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 355
Liked: 40 times
Joined: Dec 29, 2009 12:48 pm
Full Name: Marco Novelli
Location: Asti - Italy
Contact:

Re: Starting B&R 6.5 on Windows XP x64 takes forever

Post by m.novelli » Oct 30, 2012 10:14 pm

Same issue on a Windows 2003 - 32 bit server
If I disconnect and then reconnect the rdp sessions I can bypass Veeam splash screen. If I wait, the GUI appears after 20 - 30 minutes

I've about 30 Veeam installations and this is the only one with this behavior. Veeam 6.1 with latest cumulative patch.

Marco

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22965
Liked: 1555 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Starting B&R 6.5 on Windows XP x64 takes forever

Post by Vitaliy S. » Oct 31, 2012 7:21 pm

We would appreciate if one of you could open a support ticket with our technical team and let them investigate this issue live.

bdoellefeld
Influencer
Posts: 22
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 02, 2011 5:19 pm
Full Name: Bill Doellefeld
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: Starting B&R 6.5 on Windows XP x64 takes forever

Post by bdoellefeld » Nov 27, 2012 4:48 pm

Same with me, only happens when connecting via RDP and opening the B&R console. Your mileage may vary on this trick but it seems to work for me; Opening task manager before launching the B&R console seems to circumvent whatever the issue is and it launches normally. I can't explain it.

Forgot to add, this is Server 2003 R2 x64

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AdsBot [Google], tim.miller2 and 23 guests