Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
haslund
Veeam Software
Posts: 553
Liked: 96 times
Joined: Feb 16, 2012 7:35 am
Full Name: Rasmus Haslund
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Stop jobs before configuration backup restore?

Post by haslund » Jan 17, 2015 4:23 pm

Hello,

I was just reading http://helpcenter.veeam.com/backup/80/h ... begin.html and noticed it says "1.Stop all jobs that are currently running. During restore of configuration, Veeam Backup & Replication temporary stops the Veeam Backup services and jobs.". Just from a quick test, it seems to me as the text also says, all jobs are stopped, so why does it is stopping all jobs listed as a prerequisite? Anything special to be aware of in case someone did not stop all jobs before the restore? If yes, then why allow a restore to start while jobs are still started? If no, then why list it as a prerequisite?

Thank you.
Rasmus Haslund
Principal Technologist, Global Education Services @ Veeam Software
Veeam Certified Architect #1 | Veeam Certified Trainer #4 [v7,v8,v9] | Veeam Certified Trainer Mentor #1
Twitter: @haslund
Blog: www.perfectcloud.org

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23171
Liked: 1600 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Stop jobs before configuration backup restore?

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 17, 2015 4:55 pm

Hey Rasmus,

I think this note was mentioned just to be on the safe side and people do not try to restore the configuration while some jobs are running. I will double-check that with our QC team on Monday and will post back.

Thanks!

haslund
Veeam Software
Posts: 553
Liked: 96 times
Joined: Feb 16, 2012 7:35 am
Full Name: Rasmus Haslund
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Stop jobs before configuration backup restore?

Post by haslund » Jan 18, 2015 5:03 pm

Super, Thanks Vitaly :)
Rasmus Haslund
Principal Technologist, Global Education Services @ Veeam Software
Veeam Certified Architect #1 | Veeam Certified Trainer #4 [v7,v8,v9] | Veeam Certified Trainer Mentor #1
Twitter: @haslund
Blog: www.perfectcloud.org

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23171
Liked: 1600 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Stop jobs before configuration backup restore?

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 19, 2015 2:10 pm

The behavior you observe is expected - you can either stop all jobs manually and import Veeam backup configuration, or agree on stopping all jobs in the pop-up message box warning you that you have currently running jobs. If you do that manually, Veeam backup server will not attempt to stop them during configuration file import. It is done just to be on the safe side and prevent users from having different errors after import operation.

haslund
Veeam Software
Posts: 553
Liked: 96 times
Joined: Feb 16, 2012 7:35 am
Full Name: Rasmus Haslund
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Stop jobs before configuration backup restore?

Post by haslund » Jan 20, 2015 8:47 am

Why then list stopping all jobs as a pre-requisite if the process will do it anyway if you did not do it manally?
Rasmus Haslund
Principal Technologist, Global Education Services @ Veeam Software
Veeam Certified Architect #1 | Veeam Certified Trainer #4 [v7,v8,v9] | Veeam Certified Trainer Mentor #1
Twitter: @haslund
Blog: www.perfectcloud.org

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23171
Liked: 1600 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Stop jobs before configuration backup restore?

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 20, 2015 9:56 am

Cause you might not want to do that and for all continuously running jobs this could be the reason for postponing the upgrade. I believe all jobs are stopped, because all services are forced to do the restart.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 41 guests