Sure Backup - Ping Virtual Appliance Gateway

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Re: Sure Backup - Ping Virtual Appliance Gateway

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Apr 30, 2015 5:07 pm

Please contact technical support to verify your guest OS and virtual lab network configuration. I've just checked with QC and according to them this should work after upgrading to Update 2.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Sure Backup - Ping Virtual Appliance Gateway

Veeam Logoby lightsout » Thu Apr 30, 2015 6:05 pm 1 person likes this post

Case 00900789 submitted!
lightsout
Expert
 
Posts: 185
Liked: 47 times
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2014 4:13 pm

Re: Sure Backup - Ping Virtual Appliance Gateway

Veeam Logoby lightsout » Fri May 01, 2015 10:17 pm

Support have confirmed the issue - they can't ping the gateway either.
lightsout
Expert
 
Posts: 185
Liked: 47 times
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2014 4:13 pm

Re: Sure Backup - Ping Virtual Appliance Gateway

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Sat May 02, 2015 8:35 pm

Thanks for the update, we will forward this details to our QC team.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Sure Backup - Ping Virtual Appliance Gateway

Veeam Logoby foggy » Sat May 02, 2015 10:01 pm

Yep, QC guys were also able to reproduce this, we will investigate this further, thanks for the heads up.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Sure Backup - Ping Virtual Appliance Gateway

Veeam Logoby lightsout » Tue May 05, 2015 6:51 pm

Thanks. Support couldn't help me any further as this is essentially a feature request at this point. Given the interest in this thread, I think that is sufficient justification to do it? :)
lightsout
Expert
 
Posts: 185
Liked: 47 times
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2014 4:13 pm

Re: Sure Backup - Ping Virtual Appliance Gateway

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue May 05, 2015 9:42 pm 1 person likes this post

Yes, definitely.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Sure Backup - Ping Virtual Appliance Gateway

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon May 25, 2015 3:43 pm

Here's a simple workaround that seems to help (at least in our tests) to address the issue while we're working on a fix. Ping starts to work if the Allow proxy appliance to act as internet proxy for virtual machines in this lab check box is selected.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Sure Backup - Ping Virtual Appliance Gateway

Veeam Logoby lightsout » Tue May 26, 2015 7:58 pm 1 person likes this post

Nice one foggy, that works. I just enabled the proxy with the defaults settings, so it won't actually route traffic, and now it pings.
lightsout
Expert
 
Posts: 185
Liked: 47 times
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2014 4:13 pm

[MERGED] VMs get Public Firewall Profile when running SureBa

Veeam Logoby cojaxx8 » Wed Dec 14, 2016 11:17 pm

Hello,

I'm just in the process of setting up SureBackup to test some VM's and they keep failing. The issue is that when the VM's boot the OS assigns the Public Firewall profile.

My VM can successfully ping the gateway and in this instance the VM I am testing is also a domain controller. My Virtual Lab network is set to replicate the production network (meaning the Virtual Lab IP has the same default GW as what the production servers have).

There is a section in this KB article (https://www.veeam.com/kb1067) that references "STATIC ROUTE NOT BEING CREATED", but I can't do that can I? Because since my Virtual Lab network is on the same subnet as my production network, wouldn't that break routing for my Veeam Backup Server?

I have also setup a proxy as per this (https://helpcenter.veeam.com/backup/80/ ... xy_vm.html). The port got changed to 80, but then it asks to change the proxy settings on each of the servers. I'm assuming this means the production servers, if that is the case, this is once again going to break internet access on my production servers, because I don't use a proxy in production.

I must be missing something.

PS. The VM I am testing this on is a Windows 2008 R2 DC, and have installed the following patch so that it keeps the same static IP (http://kb.vmware.com/kb/1020078). Veeam 9.5 is being used on Windows Server 2016.

Regards,
Peter
cojaxx8
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2016 12:12 am
Full Name: Peter

Re: Sure Backup - Ping Virtual Appliance Gateway

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Dec 15, 2016 2:16 pm

Hi Peter, please refer to workarounds mentioned above.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Previous

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 15 guests