Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
redhorse
Expert
Posts: 126
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Feb 19, 2013 8:08 am
Full Name: RH
Location: Germany
Contact:

SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Post by redhorse » Aug 15, 2016 7:27 am

Hello,

my DC for SureBackup starts (and stays) in safe mode and that's the reason why the whole SureBackup-Job fails. When I reboot my production DC it doesn't start in safemode so it should be an issue when it boots from the backup. This issue started after we upgraded to B&R 9 U2.

I followed the solution in KB1277 (https://www.veeam.com/kb1277) and removed the safemode flag manually (bcdedit /deletevalue safeboot) and after that the DC started correctly. Sure this is not the solution for the SureBackup-Environment, so what could be the reason for the safe mode?

Kind regards

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17931
Liked: 1512 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Post by foggy » Aug 15, 2016 3:05 pm

Are you using application-aware image processing in the corresponding backup job? Have you selected the DC role for that VM in the SureBackup job settings?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22697
Liked: 1498 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Post by Vitaliy S. » Aug 15, 2016 5:34 pm

If everything above is checked and enabled, can you try another restore point from the backup chain? Does it have the same issue?

redhorse
Expert
Posts: 126
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Feb 19, 2013 8:08 am
Full Name: RH
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Post by redhorse » Aug 15, 2016 7:43 pm

Yes, both is checked.

Although nothing changes on the DC some restore points work, the same issue with a second DC.

I opened a case: #01880046

DaStivi
Service Provider
Posts: 117
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Jun 30, 2015 9:13 am
Full Name: Stephan Lang
Contact:

Re: SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Post by DaStivi » Sep 12, 2016 7:58 am

anything new on the Case? I've opened one too, same issue!

redhorse
Expert
Posts: 126
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Feb 19, 2013 8:08 am
Full Name: RH
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Post by redhorse » Sep 12, 2016 8:01 am

The support told me to set a registry on the backup server, but that didn't work:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Veeam\Veeam Backup and Replication\
DWORD EnsureVeeamVssSvcRegistered = 1

After a few days the issue didn't occure anymore but since today it's back again, so I startet a new support call (case #01901929)

StefanB
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Oct 15, 2013 7:20 am
Contact:

Re: SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Post by StefanB » Sep 13, 2016 8:46 am

Same issue here,

Case # 01902353. Using 'bcdedit /deletevalue safeboot' and running the connectiontester.exe manually afterwards could reach every needed port for the dc running on win2012r2. V9 U2 is installed.

hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 352
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Post by hyvokar » Sep 14, 2016 7:13 am

I have the same issue here on two different systems. Problem started when upgraded to v9 u2, before that surebackup was working fine. Please post possible solutions.
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

StefanB
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Oct 15, 2013 7:20 am
Contact:

Re: SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Post by StefanB » Sep 14, 2016 8:04 am 2 people like this post

Support told me to set a new reg key on affected DCs:

Code: Select all

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Veeam\Veeam Backup and Replication]
"UseGranularBcdRestore"=dword:00000000
And yes - after a new quick backup of the vm - the next SureBackup run with this new restore Point was successful. Will hope there are no side effects if we need to restore a dc to production Environment due to some errors...

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17931
Liked: 1512 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Post by foggy » Sep 14, 2016 3:57 pm

Some DC recovery logic has changed in v9 Update 2, which affected DC recovery in isolated SureBackup environment. The mentioned registry value reverts the behavior back (for restore points created after editing registry), so should help in such cases.

hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 352
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Post by hyvokar » Sep 16, 2016 6:11 am

Didnt work for me. I guess I have to start opening support tickets again :(
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17931
Liked: 1512 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Post by foggy » Sep 16, 2016 9:59 am

Yes, verifying the issue with support is recommended.

Alec King
VP, Product Management
Posts: 965
Liked: 195 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Post by Alec King » Sep 19, 2016 8:47 am 1 person likes this post

Quick tip, the UseGranularBcdRestore registry key should fix the SureBackup problem - but there can be timing issues with Win2012R2 flushing data to disk. If the DC is backed up/replicated again right after the registry change, the new registry entry might not be captured.
If the DC is rebooted immediately after setting the registry key, Windows will flush all data to disk. Then run the backup/replication job again, and SureBackup / SureReplica job will verify the DC successfully.

hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 352
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Post by hyvokar » Sep 19, 2016 11:02 am

Oh snap! I really need to learn to read. I made those changes on vbr servers, not on the DCs.
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 352
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Post by hyvokar » Sep 20, 2016 6:51 am 1 person likes this post

StefanB wrote:Support told me to set a new reg key on affected DCs:

Code: Select all

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Veeam\Veeam Backup and Replication]
"UseGranularBcdRestore"=dword:00000000
And yes - after a new quick backup of the vm - the next SureBackup run with this new restore Point was successful. Will hope there are no side effects if we need to restore a dc to production Environment due to some errors...

confirmed working on two separate environments. thanks!
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

RolandSchauer
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: May 14, 2013 11:16 am
Full Name: Roland Schauer
Contact:

Re: SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Post by RolandSchauer » Sep 20, 2016 8:24 am

StefanB wrote:Support told me to set a new reg key on affected DCs:

Code: Select all

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Veeam\Veeam Backup and Replication]
"UseGranularBcdRestore"=dword:00000000
And yes - after a new quick backup of the vm - the next SureBackup run with this new restore Point was successful. Will hope there are no side effects if we need to restore a dc to production Environment due to some errors...
works in my test environment

thanks a lot!

bg.ranken
Enthusiast
Posts: 56
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Feb 18, 2015 8:13 pm
Full Name: Randall Kender
Contact:

Re: SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Post by bg.ranken » Oct 10, 2016 11:15 pm

It seems I'm also experiencing this same issue. Is reverting the DC recovery logic still the best solution or is there a hotfix out that resolves this issue? Or is this something that might wait till update 3 or the next version to fix?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17931
Liked: 1512 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Post by foggy » Oct 11, 2016 1:43 pm

Veeam B&R 9.5 will change the logic back.

hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 352
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Post by hyvokar » Oct 14, 2016 12:12 pm

Do we need to undo the registry changes made on DCs?
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17931
Liked: 1512 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Post by foggy » Oct 14, 2016 12:26 pm 1 person likes this post

No need, since the default behavior will be the same as prescribed by the registry value (UseGranularBcdRestore = 0).

hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 352
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Post by hyvokar » Oct 14, 2016 12:26 pm

Good to hear. Thanks!
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

Frosty
Expert
Posts: 164
Liked: 35 times
Joined: Dec 22, 2009 9:00 pm
Full Name: Stephen Frost
Contact:

Re: SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Post by Frosty » Nov 08, 2016 8:54 pm 1 person likes this post

I had this problem as well; can confirm that setting the Registry key fixed the SureBackup problems in our environment.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 63 guests