SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Veeam Logoby redhorse » Mon Aug 15, 2016 7:27 am

Hello,

my DC for SureBackup starts (and stays) in safe mode and that's the reason why the whole SureBackup-Job fails. When I reboot my production DC it doesn't start in safemode so it should be an issue when it boots from the backup. This issue started after we upgraded to B&R 9 U2.

I followed the solution in KB1277 (https://www.veeam.com/kb1277) and removed the safemode flag manually (bcdedit /deletevalue safeboot) and after that the DC started correctly. Sure this is not the solution for the SureBackup-Environment, so what could be the reason for the safe mode?

Kind regards
redhorse
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 84
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 8:08 am
Full Name: RH

Re: SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Aug 15, 2016 3:05 pm

Are you using application-aware image processing in the corresponding backup job? Have you selected the DC role for that VM in the SureBackup job settings?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15089
Liked: 1110 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Aug 15, 2016 5:34 pm

If everything above is checked and enabled, can you try another restore point from the backup chain? Does it have the same issue?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19774
Liked: 1120 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Veeam Logoby redhorse » Mon Aug 15, 2016 7:43 pm

Yes, both is checked.

Although nothing changes on the DC some restore points work, the same issue with a second DC.

I opened a case: #01880046
redhorse
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 84
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 8:08 am
Full Name: RH

Re: SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Veeam Logoby DaStivi » Mon Sep 12, 2016 7:58 am

anything new on the Case? I've opened one too, same issue!
DaStivi
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 55
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 9:13 am
Full Name: Stephan Lang

Re: SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Veeam Logoby redhorse » Mon Sep 12, 2016 8:01 am

The support told me to set a registry on the backup server, but that didn't work:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Veeam\Veeam Backup and Replication\
DWORD EnsureVeeamVssSvcRegistered = 1

After a few days the issue didn't occure anymore but since today it's back again, so I startet a new support call (case #01901929)
redhorse
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 84
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 8:08 am
Full Name: RH

Re: SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Veeam Logoby StefanB » Tue Sep 13, 2016 8:46 am

Same issue here,

Case # 01902353. Using 'bcdedit /deletevalue safeboot' and running the connectiontester.exe manually afterwards could reach every needed port for the dc running on win2012r2. V9 U2 is installed.
StefanB
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 7:20 am

Re: SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Veeam Logoby hyvokar » Wed Sep 14, 2016 7:13 am

I have the same issue here on two different systems. Problem started when upgraded to v9 u2, before that surebackup was working fine. Please post possible solutions.
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE
hyvokar
Service Provider
 
Posts: 261
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm

Re: SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Veeam Logoby StefanB » Wed Sep 14, 2016 8:04 am 2 people like this post

Support told me to set a new reg key on affected DCs:

Code: Select all
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Veeam\Veeam Backup and Replication]
"UseGranularBcdRestore"=dword:00000000


And yes - after a new quick backup of the vm - the next SureBackup run with this new restore Point was successful. Will hope there are no side effects if we need to restore a dc to production Environment due to some errors...
StefanB
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 7:20 am

Re: SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Sep 14, 2016 3:57 pm

Some DC recovery logic has changed in v9 Update 2, which affected DC recovery in isolated SureBackup environment. The mentioned registry value reverts the behavior back (for restore points created after editing registry), so should help in such cases.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15089
Liked: 1110 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Veeam Logoby hyvokar » Fri Sep 16, 2016 6:11 am

Didnt work for me. I guess I have to start opening support tickets again :(
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE
hyvokar
Service Provider
 
Posts: 261
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm

Re: SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Sep 16, 2016 9:59 am

Yes, verifying the issue with support is recommended.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15089
Liked: 1110 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Veeam Logoby Alec King » Mon Sep 19, 2016 8:47 am 1 person likes this post

Quick tip, the UseGranularBcdRestore registry key should fix the SureBackup problem - but there can be timing issues with Win2012R2 flushing data to disk. If the DC is backed up/replicated again right after the registry change, the new registry entry might not be captured.
If the DC is rebooted immediately after setting the registry key, Windows will flush all data to disk. Then run the backup/replication job again, and SureBackup / SureReplica job will verify the DC successfully.
Alec King
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 720
Liked: 120 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am

Re: SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Veeam Logoby hyvokar » Mon Sep 19, 2016 11:02 am

Oh snap! I really need to learn to read. I made those changes on vbr servers, not on the DCs.
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE
hyvokar
Service Provider
 
Posts: 261
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm

Re: SureBackup DC starts in safe mode

Veeam Logoby hyvokar » Tue Sep 20, 2016 6:51 am 1 person likes this post

StefanB wrote:Support told me to set a new reg key on affected DCs:

Code: Select all
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Veeam\Veeam Backup and Replication]
"UseGranularBcdRestore"=dword:00000000


And yes - after a new quick backup of the vm - the next SureBackup run with this new restore Point was successful. Will hope there are no side effects if we need to restore a dc to production Environment due to some errors...



confirmed working on two separate environments. thanks!
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE
hyvokar
Service Provider
 
Posts: 261
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm

Next

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 48 guests