Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
psvab
Enthusiast
Posts: 31
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 14, 2011 12:51 pm
Full Name: Petr Svab
Location: Ostrava, Czech Republic
Contact:

SureBackup failed, because VM need reboot

Post by psvab »

Hi, have you similar experience?
SureBackup failed because VM (windows) have new updates and need reboot.
Can SureBackup write any message, why is failed?
It would be helpful.

Petr
PetrM
Veeam Software
Posts: 3325
Liked: 538 times
Joined: Aug 28, 2013 8:23 am
Full Name: Petr Makarov
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: SureBackup failed, because VM need reboot

Post by PetrM »

Hi Petr,

It would be helpful but also requires engineering efforts to develop and test such an algorithm. Does the same issue persist if you run a backup job once again to capture the state after reboot and start SureBackup from the most recent restore point?

Thanks!
psvab
Enthusiast
Posts: 31
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 14, 2011 12:51 pm
Full Name: Petr Svab
Location: Ostrava, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: SureBackup failed, because VM need reboot

Post by psvab » 1 person likes this post

After restart original VM and backup is SureBackup ok.
This "issue" is signal for check VM.
It's good hint for admin, because they don't know about it in many cases.
Message from SureBackup would be good. Maybe transfered from OS, VMagent, ... I don't know exactly

Petr
PetrM
Veeam Software
Posts: 3325
Liked: 538 times
Joined: Aug 28, 2013 8:23 am
Full Name: Petr Makarov
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: SureBackup failed, because VM need reboot

Post by PetrM »

Yes, I fully understand your idea. I cannot say right now whether we'll implement it or not, we'll need to weigh everything before making any decisions. I cannot say that we see such cases very often, but anyway, your request is noted.

Thanks!
psvab
Enthusiast
Posts: 31
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 14, 2011 12:51 pm
Full Name: Petr Svab
Location: Ostrava, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: SureBackup failed, because VM need reboot

Post by psvab »

Understand, thank you Petr.
Petr
Murigar
Enthusiast
Posts: 37
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Nov 05, 2014 4:19 pm
Contact:

Re: SureBackup failed, because VM need reboot

Post by Murigar »

Yes, I commonly run into this.
Regnor
VeeaMVP
Posts: 958
Liked: 298 times
Joined: Jan 31, 2011 11:17 am
Full Name: Max
Contact:

Re: SureBackup failed, because VM need reboot

Post by Regnor » 1 person likes this post

What error do you get in your case? Is the probem that the VM says it needs a reboot, or does it try to install updates and therefore not boot in time?
aidechoute
Influencer
Posts: 18
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sep 12, 2011 8:11 am
Contact:

Re: SureBackup failed, because VM need reboot

Post by aidechoute »

Hello,

I'm running the same "issue" on some customer. The error is that the VM checked can not boot in time.
I can change the time to 600 sec for example or sometimes more, but my sure backup are very long
jeroen_v
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 14, 2022 7:25 am
Full Name: Jeroen V
Contact:

Re: SureBackup failed, because VM need reboot

Post by jeroen_v »

Yes, we also commonly run in this kind of issues with surebackup.
AlexHeylin
Veeam Legend
Posts: 563
Liked: 173 times
Joined: Nov 15, 2019 4:09 pm
Full Name: Alex Heylin
Contact:

Re: SureBackup failed, because VM need reboot

Post by AlexHeylin »

Is this just a timing issue (takes extra time to boot, so times out) - or does giving it plenty of time not resolve this and there's some sort of error?
hexadecimal
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Apr 26, 2021 3:18 pm
Contact:

Re: SureBackup failed, because VM need reboot

Post by hexadecimal » 1 person likes this post

This is indeed just a timing issue. We automate windows update reboots which unfortunately occurs after the backup has been taken. So the surebackup has an image of the backup pending reboot. Depending on the resources assigned to the VM, windows updates could take minutes or darn near an hour to complete. By this time, Surebackup has failed. That said, once the backup takes another snapshot of the already rebooted server, we're golden.

As a result, we created a tight 3-day window where servers would be rebooted and we would launch our Surebackup job after that window. Not ideal but it helped clean up our logging/reporting. This way we didn't pick up servers that were pending reboot state.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Semrush [Bot] and 91 guests