Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
albertwt
Expert
Posts: 640
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW
Contact:

Re: The real world use of Veeam Replication

Post by albertwt » Mar 11, 2010 12:19 pm

great this is why I like Veeam and the waiting time to get ESXi replication is worthed :-)

Thanks to all who share your response here.

Cheers.
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */

donikatz
Expert
Posts: 124
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: The real world use of Veeam Replication

Post by donikatz » Mar 11, 2010 1:20 pm

TrevorBell wrote:With Exchange 2003 in my case what i did was make a new exchange VM server... then copy all mailboxes across..test they are working.. then VM the physical server ..test all fine and move mailboxes back...
Trev-- A little off-topic, but curious why you bothered to P2V the Exch 2003 server if you'd already built out a new one and migrated mailboxes? Why not just run the fresh VM in production? Personally I simply P2Ved Exch 2003 as-is during off-hours, I'm just curious re your procedure. (Actually, I wound up rebuilding the data partitions later to align them, but that's a different story...)

albertwt
Expert
Posts: 640
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW
Contact:

Re: The real world use of Veeam Replication

Post by albertwt » Mar 11, 2010 10:28 pm

hm.. that sounds interesting too.

I'm also thinking to create another new Exchange Server 2007 from scratch because the current Physical server wasn't as healthy as I 'd expected.
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */

albertwt
Expert
Posts: 640
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW
Contact:

Re: The real world use of Veeam Replication

Post by albertwt » Mar 12, 2010 11:50 pm

I have one box of Windows Server 2003 installed with Exchange Server 2007 SP1 (HT-CAS-MBx role) in my headquarter office, suppose I want to create another Exchange server 2007 box with similar role in the remote office (geographically different connected with 1 MB WAN link),

I'm also looking to replicate our exchange server across sites for disaster recovery. We have two goals in mind.
1. Replicate Exchange 2007 server to VM Exchange 2007 server at different site
2. Allow users at other site to use the VM excahnge server as their local server to speed up their Outlook.

Are both of these goals possible to do on the same VM Exchange 2007 server?

i'm now thinking to replicate the VM using VBR 4.1 hourly with the initial seeding using Removable HDD over the weeekend.
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */

TrevorBell
Expert
Posts: 353
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Feb 13, 2009 10:13 am
Full Name: Trevor Bell
Location: Worcester UK
Contact:

Re: The real world use of Veeam Replication

Post by TrevorBell » Mar 13, 2010 6:29 am

Guys,

I made an extra Exc vm as i didnt want to change the IP of the server through our firewall ( i didnt want to cange for our isp to make the changes which would of took a day or so )... it was a case of moving the mailboxes to a new VM to keep the exchange up and running then VM the original.. and move the mailboxes back,May sound abit strange but this process took only 2 hours from start to finish thats build vm and move mailboxes.

Im sure if i just cloned the machine 12 gig c: 55 gig d: and 250 gig e: it would of took longer and i didnt want to miss any emails that would be incoming between the clone start and when it had finished cloning.


as a side note: i have just Vm`d my Vcenter :) that was easier! made a new VM then shut down old databases copied to new serevr and overwrote exsisting then renamed the Vcener new vm to old IP and its all running sweetly :o

Have a good weekend

Trev

TrevorBell
Expert
Posts: 353
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Feb 13, 2009 10:13 am
Full Name: Trevor Bell
Location: Worcester UK
Contact:

Re: The real world use of Veeam Replication

Post by TrevorBell » Mar 13, 2010 6:35 am

albertwt

yes of course that is possible...

I have just one exchange 2003 FE webmail server and one BE exchange 2003 server, we have 9 sites over MPLS ( internet connection ) this works fine for me maybe a little slow retrieving data sometimes but we only have 1 pc in each remote site.

If you add another server at your other site it would indeed speed things up and be quicker for the users.

As for replication of the link yes that would work fine too

tsightler
VP, Product Management
Posts: 5294
Liked: 2146 times
Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler
Contact:

Re: The real world use of Veeam Replication

Post by tsightler » Mar 13, 2010 3:35 pm

albertwt wrote: I'm also looking to replicate our exchange server across sites for disaster recovery. We have two goals in mind.
1. Replicate Exchange 2007 server to VM Exchange 2007 server at different site
Well, you don' t say how many users, and you also mention a 1MB link. WAN links are usually measured in Mb, not MB, so can you clarify if you actually have a 1Mb link? I'd be amazed if you could replicate anything but a very small, lightly used Exchange server with Veeam over a 1Mb link.
albertwt wrote: 2. Allow users at other site to use the VM excahnge server as their local server to speed up their Outlook.
Certainly if you add an Exchange server at the remote site the remote users can use it, but then you confused me again. You ask "are both of these goals possible to do on the same VM Exchange 2007 server?" I'm not sure what that means. How can you have the "same VM Exchange 2007 server" at two locations? Obviously you can have two Exchange 2007 servers, one at each site, and replicate each of those to the other site with Veeam, but your statement seems to imply that you want to use the Veeam replicated VM at the remote site. This is not possible as Veeam is not a clustering solution, it's a simple, active/standby replication product, and only a one-way replication product at that, if you fail over you have to jump through hoops, promote the remote replicate to a normal VM, and preforming a full replica back, at least if you want to save the data that changed during a failover. If you have slow links that require seeding, you need to think very carefully about you failover and recovery scenario as this is a currently a weak spot for Veeam.

icebun
Enthusiast
Posts: 50
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 28, 2009 2:19 pm
Contact:

Re: The real world use of Veeam Replication

Post by icebun » Mar 18, 2010 4:17 pm

I am not sure if this is the right place but here goes.

Can anyone let me know what sort of Processing Rate, speed wise you are gettting based on the WAN link size?

Mines running at a painful 37 KB/S over a 6MB line.

Thanks.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24017
Liked: 3254 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: The real world use of Veeam Replication

Post by Gostev » Mar 18, 2010 4:27 pm

Hello, this topic would be a better place to discuss networking issues:
Problems with making replication work across a WAN/VPN?

albertwt
Expert
Posts: 640
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW
Contact:

Re: The real world use of Veeam Replication

Post by albertwt » Mar 19, 2010 2:59 am

tsightler,

thanks for your response I really appreciate it :-)

yes it is supposedly 1 Mbps (sorry for the typo that was late night). Now I understand there should be just one Active Exchange Server VM which is replicate once per 6 hours
the number of mailbox is under 60 with the average size of 1.1 GB per mailbox according to to the ExBPA.

and yes, you're right that it doesn't make sense to have VMware FT-like behaviour with Veeam, but anyway I'm still happy with Veeam.

Cheers,

AWT
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */

tsightler
VP, Product Management
Posts: 5294
Liked: 2146 times
Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler
Contact:

Re: The real world use of Veeam Replication

Post by tsightler » Mar 19, 2010 2:26 pm

Right, so a 1Mbps link, assuming no WAN acceleration devices, can only transfer about 11GB of traffic per day assuming 100% utilization. Our Exchange server is quite a bit larger than yours (550 users, ~400MB per mailbox), but it generates about 75GB of replication traffic per day, and that's with only a single replication a day, it would be more if we replicated more often because Exchange touches a lot of the same blocks during the day. Have you been running Veeam backups of your Exchange environment? You can judge how much replication traffic you might need by looking at the VBR sizes of your backups.

Even Vmware FT doesn't allow both systems to have active connections and doesn't work across a slow WAN link.

donikatz
Expert
Posts: 124
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: The real world use of Veeam Replication

Post by donikatz » Mar 19, 2010 2:34 pm

That may still be a tough incremental to expect of a 1 Mb link (which is likely less with overhead). Don't forget even seemingly small Exchange deployments can have a lot of incremental changes, so you may be replicating more than you expect. You'll just have to test it to see how it performs before you set expectations. Good luck and please let us know how it goes! :)

EDIT: Looks like Tom beat me to it, while I was composing...

kevindv10
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 19, 2010 4:56 pm
Full Name: Kevin Dyck
Contact:

Re: The real world use of Veeam Replication

Post by kevindv10 » Mar 19, 2010 5:42 pm

Yesterday was my first day using Veeam so please bear with me. I will say that it was the quickest install and test of critcal software that I've experienced in years. I installed the demo and had my first VM backup running in less time it takes me to drive to work! Love it!

A couple of posts mention replicating Exchange once a week. What are you doing during the rest of the week for store backups? Bringing a week old Exchange box online would result in an enormous amount of data loss. I'm sure you've though of this, but I'm curious what others are doing. We use Backup Exec 12.5 with an Exchange agent to backup stores, and in the event of a crash we would (well, this will all change now that I've found VBR!) build a new Exchange box and restore from our daily backup.

Are there any best practices when using VBR and Exchange or other databases? I'm scouring the forum for any gotcha's that other people have experienced but happily haven't really found anything earth shattering yet.

donikatz
Expert
Posts: 124
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: The real world use of Veeam Replication

Post by donikatz » Mar 19, 2010 5:58 pm

The posts re weekly replications are for offsite DR purposes, not daily backups. For that, you could backup and/or replicate Exchange daily like you do with BackupExec, or you can do it multiple times a day, as long as your storage can handle the load during business hours. BE is still easier for brick-level restores, but you can certainly restore brick level from Veeam, with a few more steps. Lots of threads re Exchange & VSS, so if you search around I'm sure you'll find a lot of good advice already here. :)

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24017
Liked: 3254 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: The real world use of Veeam Replication

Post by Gostev » Mar 19, 2010 8:10 pm

donikatz wrote:BE is still easier for brick-level restores, but you can certainly restore brick level from Veeam, with a few more steps.
We should talk more about this on Monday :wink:

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: aaron.wright2, Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Karinne and 19 guests