Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
donikatz
Expert
Posts: 124
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: The real world use of Veeam Replication

Post by donikatz » Mar 19, 2010 8:28 pm

Haha, my original response was going to mention that, but I didn't want to sound like I had any insider info (since I don't). :)

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24197
Liked: 3309 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: The real world use of Veeam Replication

Post by Gostev » Mar 19, 2010 8:41 pm

Guess what, even insiders don't know any insider info yet ;)
Attachments
ricky.png
ricky.png (381.41 KiB) Viewed 1015 times

albertwt
Expert
Posts: 640
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW
Contact:

Re: The real world use of Veeam Replication

Post by albertwt » Mar 21, 2010 11:58 pm

LOL,

thanks to all who response to this thread, while reading all of the response I learn something new.

Yes, my current Exchange Server 2007 SP1 is physical and protected with BE 12.5 + Agent but then as soon as I ready to virtualize it, i'd like to shutdown all of the Exchange services and then convert it using VMware converter into a VM and then back it up using VBR 4.1
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */

rizks_2000
Enthusiast
Posts: 77
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 17, 2010 1:12 am
Full Name: Anthony Rizk
Contact:

Re: The real world use of Veeam Replication

Post by rizks_2000 » Apr 30, 2010 8:54 pm

Just starting using the Veeam product and believe it works great. Trying to nail down the use of Backups & Replicas. Am doing both. You would want to do both for sure. Notice that TrevorBell post has DR ESX host at same site, so must be using same network subnet. That works for sure. However, what about DR site on different subnet. Can failover to replica, but when on different subnet, things aren't going to work as smoothly? I need a virtual switch created through my vSphere client to enable the replicas to failover and we don't miss a beat? Again, great posts...I want to be right where you guys are now!

albertwt
Expert
Posts: 640
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW
Contact:

Re: The real world use of Veeam Replication

Post by albertwt » May 01, 2010 12:10 am

yes we are on the right track Rizks,
this product really works great and save me couple of times where one VM strangely hangs without no apparent reason.
therefore i'd just start the replica and all is good since then.
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24197
Liked: 3309 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: The real world use of Veeam Replication

Post by Gostev » Aug 05, 2010 9:32 am

Wow, talking about the need of off-site replication...

Data Center Security Cam recordings of 09.09.09 flood at Vodafone Istanbul, Turkey
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ttcQy3bCiiU

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 16 guests