Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
Tommi
Enthusiast
Posts: 49
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 23, 2010 12:12 pm
Full Name: Tommi Wassini
Contact:

the veeam linux agent info

Post by Tommi »

Hi everyone.
I have a question.

I need to use the veeam Linux agent to make my incremental backups with synthetic full,run faster and use less bandwidth during the synthetic full part especially.
So I installed a openfiler server...
Cos I am a Windows guy I like to be able to see my files.
So I gave created a large share using xfs and using smb to make a share I can see with my Windows clients.

I have then made the backups and added the Linux box to the veeam console, and targeted the backup to the place where I made the smb share
That way I can see the backup files with my Windows clients.
But... do I get the Benefit of the veeam Linux agent with this setup ???

Cheers Tommi

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26683
Liked: 4268 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: the veeam linux agent info

Post by Gostev »

No, this way you do not get these benefits. Instead, you need to select your actual Linux box on backup destination step (not "My computer or shared folder"), and select required folder via browse. You do not need SMB share at all. Thanks!

Tommi
Enthusiast
Posts: 49
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 23, 2010 12:12 pm
Full Name: Tommi Wassini
Contact:

Re: the veeam linux agent info

Post by Tommi »

Gostev wrote:No, this way you do not get these benefits. Instead, you need to select your actual Linux box on backup destination step (not "My computer or shared folder"), and select required folder via browse. You do not need SMB share at all. Thanks!
I did this, when I made the backup job I did select the Linux box as a backup destination. Not a share.

I just made that destination shared as well using smb.
So... do I get the agent now ??

Cheers Tommi

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26683
Liked: 4268 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: the veeam linux agent info

Post by Gostev »

Yes, in that case you do get an agent. Communication with Linux target is simply not possible without an agent.

Tommi
Enthusiast
Posts: 49
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 23, 2010 12:12 pm
Full Name: Tommi Wassini
Contact:

Re: the veeam linux agent info

Post by Tommi »

Great thanks a lot for info
Cheers
Tommi

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 26 guests