Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Doug99
Lurker
Liked: never
Full Name: Doug Bacon

throughput in veeam 6 backups

Post by Doug99 »

I am new to Veeam and installed and configured veeam 6 on my network. I am backing up vmware 4.1 virtual machines that are in the same subnet with the proxy server and NAS. When I test throughput between the proxy server and the NAS I get 56 mb/s, but when I perform a backup of a server using Veeam the throughput is only 3 mb/s. I have been working with a Veeam engineer and he suggested setting all the "automatic" setting to specific settings (which I did), but to no improvement. I am wondering if anyone else has had this issue and might know of some things I could try to overcome this slow issue.

Thanks,

Doug99
foggy
Veeam Software
Liked: 2115 times
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: throughput in veeam 6 backups

Post by foggy »

Doug, what are the bottleneck statistics numbers for this job (available when you right-click the job and click Realtime Statistics)?
Doug99
Lurker
Liked: never
Full Name: Doug Bacon

Post by Doug99 »

The bottleneck is saying proxy. I came to the conclusion that it might be the proxy server, so I added another processor and increased memory from 4g to 8g. I am now seeing 15 mb/s which is a good improvment. But is this going to be about the best I should expect?
foggy
Veeam Software
Liked: 2115 times
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Post by foggy »

Again, depends on the bottleneck stats for the job running with the new proxy configuration.. If proxy again is a bottleneck, you could split your job and involve another proxy to spread the load.
murdocmk
Enthusiast
Liked: 4 times

Post by murdocmk »

Also keep in mind that job performance can depend heavily on the type of backup job configured. See this link for an example of how a reverse incremental job can result in a lot of random IO to your backup target:

http://www.vuemuer.it/en/?p=3147