Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
sbaltic
Enthusiast
Posts: 29
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Nov 18, 2013 6:10 pm
Full Name: Sebastijan
Contact:

Re: Truncating SQL transaction logs - SUDDENLY trouble

Post by sbaltic » Jun 04, 2015 6:41 pm

The same probleme here, after v8 Patch2 ...

sbaltic
Enthusiast
Posts: 29
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Nov 18, 2013 6:10 pm
Full Name: Sebastijan
Contact:

Re: Truncating SQL transaction logs - SUDDENLY trouble

Post by sbaltic » Jun 04, 2015 6:48 pm

Andreas Neufert wrote:Just an Idea...
SQL2012 rights are too low, to allow truncation.
Please test it with the following.
SQL Management Studio - SQL-Secuity - Logins - NT Authority\system - Server Roles - Enable "sysadmin"
Nothing changed. Same problem.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24810
Liked: 3569 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Truncating SQL transaction logs - SUDDENLY trouble

Post by Gostev » Jun 04, 2015 8:29 pm

Hi Sebastijan - as explained earlier in this topic, issues with log truncation were simply not reported until Update 2, even if they existed. Update 2 merely started reporting those. If no suggestion in this topic help, feel free to open a support case for assistance in finding the issue with your SQL Server that prevents log from being truncated.

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 3824
Liked: 687 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Truncating SQL transaction logs - SUDDENLY trouble

Post by Andreas Neufert » Jun 05, 2015 7:11 am


tek
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 04, 2015 7:45 am
Full Name: Thor Egil
Contact:

Re: Truncating SQL transaction logs - SUDDENLY trouble

Post by tek » Jun 05, 2015 7:57 am

Thanks but we fixed it :)
Went for best practice and defined service accounts for Our SQL servers to fix it.

mbroeken
Service Provider
Posts: 26
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Apr 05, 2015 8:27 am
Full Name: Marco Broeken
Location: Rotterdam
Contact:

Re: Truncating SQL transaction logs - SUDDENLY trouble

Post by mbroeken » Jun 26, 2015 7:40 am

We also have the same issue at a client. Updated to U2 and lateest U2b patch yesterday.
Running in a lot of those errors on non SQL servers:

Code: Select all

Unable to truncate SQL server transaction logs. Details: Failed to process 'TruncateSQLLog' command.
Failed to truncate transaction logs for SQL instances: MICROSOFT##SSEE. Possible reasons: lack of permissions, or transaction log corruption. 
The server finds the MICROSOFT#SSEE registry key and tries to flush the logs of the non-SQL servers (and this fails)
Veeam Cloud Connect Provider

More info:
https://www.xtradesktop.com/backup/

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1565 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Truncating SQL transaction logs - SUDDENLY trouble

Post by foggy » Jun 26, 2015 11:14 am

Marco, looks like you have an instance of Windows Internal Database on this server. There's a fix available through support that allows to skip such instances during AAIP, since there's nothing to truncate there, anyway.

kewnev
Enthusiast
Posts: 64
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Jun 17, 2012 1:09 pm
Full Name: Nev V
Contact:

Re: Truncating SQL transaction logs - SUDDENLY trouble

Post by kewnev » Jul 01, 2015 1:52 am

foggy wrote:Marco, looks like you have an instance of Windows Internal Database on this server. There's a fix available through support that allows to skip such instances during AAIP, since there's nothing to truncate there, anyway.
hi Foggy, will this fix be included in a future release? (We're currently using 8.0.0.2021). If so, we will put up with the warning.
Thanks.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1565 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Truncating SQL transaction logs - SUDDENLY trouble

Post by foggy » Jul 01, 2015 9:35 am

It should be included in the next major release, which is not a matter of the nearest future. So I recommend requesting the hotfix.

lrosa
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Dec 11, 2012 9:11 pm
Full Name: Luigi Rosa
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Truncating SQL transaction logs - SUDDENLY trouble

Post by lrosa » Jul 28, 2015 3:09 am

Same problem here on a 2003 Server with MICROSOFT##SSEE after applying v8 Patch2.

It's a production server that will be decommissioned in a few months, according to master.mdf date stamp, MICROSOFT##SSEE was up last time in 2012.

Really don't want to mess with a server that os going to die, isn't it possible to tell Veeam to skip instances that are not up and running?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16901
Liked: 1439 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Truncating SQL transaction logs - SUDDENLY trouble

Post by veremin » Jul 28, 2015 7:44 am

As foggy's mentioned, the fix should be available through support. So, you might want to open a ticket and refer to this topic. Thanks.

mykl_74
Influencer
Posts: 21
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Feb 06, 2013 7:39 pm
Full Name: Mike Barnes
Contact:

Re: Truncating SQL transaction logs - SUDDENLY trouble

Post by mykl_74 » Oct 01, 2015 8:06 pm

Hello, I had this issue on our SQL servers and resolved most of them using the recommended permission updates. However, I have a SQL 2012 server that still gives the error.
I can't figure out how to update the permissions on the MSSQLSERVERTAB database, anyone know how to do it?

Code: Select all

9/30/2015 11:47:23 PM :: Unable to truncate SQL server transaction logs. Details: Failed to process 'TruncateSQLLog' command.
Failed to truncate transaction logs for SQL instances:  MSSQLSERVER MSSQLSERVERTAB. Possible reasons: lack of permissions, or transaction log corruption. 
Thanks!

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24810
Liked: 3569 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Truncating SQL transaction logs - SUDDENLY trouble

Post by Gostev » Oct 01, 2015 9:07 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi, please open a support case, and our engineers will help you to update permission on this database over a webex session. Thanks!

mbell98
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 21, 2011 5:41 pm
Full Name: Mark Bell
Contact:

[MERGED] error truncating SQL logs

Post by mbell98 » Oct 02, 2015 3:31 am

Over the last couple of days I've been seeing this error message when trying to back up a SQL server:

Failed to truncate transaction logs for SQL instances: MICROSOFT##WID. Possible reasons: lack of permissions, or transaction log corruption. (System.Runtime.InteropServices.COMException)

I'm not aware of any changes made on the server that would be causing this. All the databases appear to be working fine. Any thoughts?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1565 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Truncating SQL transaction logs - SUDDENLY trouble

Post by foggy » Oct 02, 2015 9:52 am

Mark, please contact technical support to get the newly available Veeam B&R v8 Update 3.

cdlane
Enthusiast
Posts: 53
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Aug 09, 2015 5:48 pm
Full Name: Chris Lane
Contact:

Re: Truncating SQL transaction logs - SUDDENLY trouble

Post by cdlane » Oct 10, 2015 9:12 pm

Hi,

We upgraded to update 3 and the following is now happening on two servers with MICROSOFT##WID.

Failed to finalize guest processing. Details: Failed to process 'TruncateSQLLog' command. Failed to truncate transaction logs for SQL instances: MICROSOFT##WID. Possible reasons: lack of permissions, or transaction log corruption.

Ideas?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23001
Liked: 1557 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Truncating SQL transaction logs - SUDDENLY trouble

Post by Vitaliy S. » Oct 11, 2015 2:46 pm

What's your case ID, so that our dev team could take a look?

cdlane
Enthusiast
Posts: 53
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Aug 09, 2015 5:48 pm
Full Name: Chris Lane
Contact:

Re: Truncating SQL transaction logs - SUDDENLY trouble

Post by cdlane » Oct 11, 2015 4:23 pm

No case ID I'm afraid, see: -

http://forums.veeam.com/veeam-backup-re ... 30710.html - post 6 so I assume you can't help me.

For what its worth (before my posts are removed) I have added sysadmin rights to the domain account used in the job and to NT AUTHORITY/SYSTEM but to no avail.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6974
Liked: 714 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Truncating SQL transaction logs - SUDDENLY trouble

Post by Shestakov » Oct 11, 2015 5:43 pm

Hello Chris,
We are asking you to contact Veeam support because it`s the fastest way to solve the problem. We`ve just released the 3rd update and haven`t faced the similar issue. Troubleshooting in the forums less effective and against forums rules. So, please contact them.
Thanks!

cdlane
Enthusiast
Posts: 53
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Aug 09, 2015 5:48 pm
Full Name: Chris Lane
Contact:

Re: Truncating SQL transaction logs - SUDDENLY trouble

Post by cdlane » Oct 11, 2015 6:50 pm

Hi Nikkita,

Firstly I believe I owe Veeam and my reseller an apology. I was unaware that the paid support was included as I didn't set up the Veeam install so was unaware of the existence of the Support ID etc.

Case ID = 01080564, please don't hesitate to let me know if you require more information/logs.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6974
Liked: 714 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Truncating SQL transaction logs - SUDDENLY trouble

Post by Shestakov » Oct 11, 2015 7:23 pm

Thanks Chris,
All users on an active maintenance are eligible to obtain the support.
No more logs are needed here, your support engineer is to collect them. We will keep track of the issue investigation.

cffit
Expert
Posts: 338
Liked: 34 times
Joined: Jan 20, 2012 2:36 pm
Full Name: Christensen Farms
Contact:

Re: Truncating SQL transaction logs - SUDDENLY trouble

Post by cffit » Oct 12, 2015 1:14 pm

I haven't opened a case yet, but I have the same issue. Right after I installed update 3 I now get this warning on one of our servers with the Windows Internal Database:

Unable to truncate SQL server transaction logs. Details: Failed to process 'TruncateSQLLog' command. Failed to truncate transaction logs for SQL instances: MICROSOFT##WID. Possible reasons: lack of permissions, or transaction log corruption.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6974
Liked: 714 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Truncating SQL transaction logs - SUDDENLY trouble

Post by Shestakov » Oct 12, 2015 1:47 pm

Our QA team is working on the issue solution. The explanation was given in the related topic:
foggy wrote:The "unable to truncate" warnings do not actually mean that something is unsupported, they just tell that logs for the particular database were not truncated. Everything else is working fine and logs are truncated where they should be. It is just some changes in instance detection logic introduced by Update 3 (to fix other issues around this functionality) that result in improper processing of internal databases (where there are no logs to truncate, anyway). R&D is currently looking into this and I believe the solution will be found soon.
Thanks!

cffit
Expert
Posts: 338
Liked: 34 times
Joined: Jan 20, 2012 2:36 pm
Full Name: Christensen Farms
Contact:

Re: Truncating SQL transaction logs - SUDDENLY trouble

Post by cffit » Oct 12, 2015 3:28 pm

This is the explanation given to me by support:

Instance 'MICROSOFT##WID' is internal MS instance and doesn't require log truncation. If this is the only SQL instance on server, the solution is to chose 'Perform copy only' on setting of processing of that VM. You choose this in 'Guest Processing' step -> Applications -> choose VM, 'Edit' (this screen: http://helpcenter.veeam.com/backup/80/v ... ob_vss.png)

I told them I understand this, but up until I put on update 3 I never got this warning. So while there is no problem, it is a different behavior.

Case #01081234

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1565 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Truncating SQL transaction logs - SUDDENLY trouble

Post by foggy » Oct 12, 2015 3:47 pm

That's why we are going to address this in a timely manner. Thanks for opening a case.

jed-hyper
Enthusiast
Posts: 39
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Feb 26, 2014 4:42 am
Full Name: Jed Parkes
Contact:

Re: Truncating SQL transaction logs - SUDDENLY trouble

Post by jed-hyper » Oct 14, 2015 10:24 am

I just updated to update 3 and i am also now getting the error.
14/10/2015 9:13:34 PM :: Failed to finalize guest processing. Details: Failed to process 'TruncateSQLLog' command.
Failed to truncate transaction logs for SQL instances: MICROSOFT##WID. Possible reasons: lack of permissions, or transaction log corruption.
Is there a fix for this ?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1565 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Truncating SQL transaction logs - SUDDENLY trouble

Post by foggy » Oct 14, 2015 10:26 am

Yes, please contact technical support to get it.

tomnewman
Enthusiast
Posts: 47
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Oct 14, 2015 10:12 pm
Full Name: Tom Newman
Contact:

Re: Truncating SQL transaction logs - SUDDENLY trouble

Post by tomnewman » Oct 14, 2015 10:40 pm

We have just started evaluating the product and have the same problem. Is there any way to get the patch if you haven't yet purchased?

Thanks, Tom

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6974
Liked: 714 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Truncating SQL transaction logs - SUDDENLY trouble

Post by Shestakov » Oct 15, 2015 9:36 am

Hello Tom and welcome to the community!
You can contact the technical support even having a trial version of the product.
Thanks!

tomnewman
Enthusiast
Posts: 47
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Oct 14, 2015 10:12 pm
Full Name: Tom Newman
Contact:

Re: Truncating SQL transaction logs - SUDDENLY trouble

Post by tomnewman » Oct 15, 2015 11:08 am

Thanks, will do

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: frigomiam, Google [Bot], markotsg and 74 guests