Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
kbassham
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 14, 2011 6:38 pm
Contact:

Trying to truncate old backups

Post by kbassham »

Migrating from one set of datastores (VMware) to another so I setup new jobs to start backing up new datastores. I thought I would be able to slowly truncate old restore points by changing the retention number and running the old job, however this is not working and just leaves the same number of restore points as before running the job. Currently, the old datastores have no VMs on them and I have turned off the 'remove deleted VMs from backup' setting on the old jobs. My normal retention is 31 days and I'd like to keep around that number between new and old jobs until I have 31 restore points on new jobs to save repository space.

Anyone know how I can do this since the retention policy doesn't seem to affect it?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24260
Liked: 1865 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Trying to truncate old backups

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hello,
kbassham wrote:however this is not working and just leaves the same number of restore points as before running the job.
Can you please tell me what backup job mode are you using?

Thank you!

kbassham
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 14, 2011 6:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Trying to truncate old backups

Post by kbassham »

Reversed incrimental

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19465
Liked: 1767 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Trying to truncate old backups

Post by foggy »

Retention should apply right after the successful run of the job. Since VMs backed up by the job do not exist anymore, I wonder what status does the job have after being executed?

kbassham
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 14, 2011 6:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Trying to truncate old backups

Post by kbassham »

it says successful...

Job started
Building VM list
Job finished

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24260
Liked: 1865 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Trying to truncate old backups

Post by Vitaliy S. »

How many VRB files do you have on the repository? BTW, what is your current retention policy setting for the old jobs?

kbassham
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 14, 2011 6:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Trying to truncate old backups

Post by kbassham »

23 VRBs, retention set to 20 restore points.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24260
Liked: 1865 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Trying to truncate old backups

Post by Vitaliy S. »

How many times did you run your job without VMs? Three? What is the size of the latest VRB files?

kbassham
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 14, 2011 6:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Trying to truncate old backups

Post by kbassham »

I have ran it a few times, I don't remember how many.

All the VRB files are between 45-60GB in size with the VBK at 600GB. The 'date modified' attribute of the VBM and VBK files has not changed since the last time it did any actually backup work.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24260
Liked: 1865 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Trying to truncate old backups

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hmm....ok! Let me try to reproduce this scenario in my lab, meanwhile can you please adjust the retention policy settings to 19 and run your job? Do you still have 23 VRBs?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17834
Liked: 1663 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Trying to truncate old backups

Post by veremin »

I'm wondering whether the corresponding restore points are even reflected in the backup console. So, can you go to Backups -> Disk -> select given job and see how many restore points are shown there?

Thanks.

kbassham
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 14, 2011 6:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Trying to truncate old backups

Post by kbassham »

Yes, they are there. Besides the number of VBRs that is how I'm validating the number of restore points.

kbassham
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 14, 2011 6:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Trying to truncate old backups

Post by kbassham »

v.Eremin wrote:I'm wondering whether the corresponding restore points are even reflected in the backup console. So, can you go to Backups -> Disk -> select given job and see how many restore points are shown there?

Thanks.
more info... if I delete the 3 oldest VRBs and re-run the job it still says I have 24 restore points.

kbassham
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 14, 2011 6:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Trying to truncate old backups

Post by kbassham »

In the disk view, I removed this job's backups from 'backup'. Rescanned repo, it imports backup, still says there are 24 restore points.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17834
Liked: 1663 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Trying to truncate old backups

Post by veremin »

What option you were using while deleting restore points? "Delete from disk" or "Delete from backups"? Thanks.

kbassham
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 14, 2011 6:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Trying to truncate old backups

Post by kbassham »

v.Eremin wrote:What option you were using while deleting restore points? "Delete from disk" or "Delete from backups"? Thanks.
I deleted some VRBs files from explorer, nothing via Veeam Console. I removed the backup by "delete from backups".

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17834
Liked: 1663 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Trying to truncate old backups

Post by veremin »

If you delete corresponding restore points manually, this changes won't be reflected in backup console, as the information regarding RPs is stored in metadata file. I'd suggest opening a ticket with our support team and letting them investigate why retention policy hasn't been applied properly.

Thanks.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19465
Liked: 1767 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Trying to truncate old backups

Post by foggy »

I'm also along the line of contacting support. Could be a database issue.

kbassham
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 14, 2011 6:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Trying to truncate old backups

Post by kbassham »

thank you for your help thus far

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17834
Liked: 1663 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Trying to truncate old backups

Post by veremin »

You're welcome. Once you open a ticket, please, post its number here for the convenience of future readers. Thanks.

DaFresh
Enthusiast
Posts: 64
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Aug 30, 2011 9:31 pm
Full Name: Cedric Lemarchand
Contact:

Re: Trying to truncate old backups

Post by DaFresh »

Hello,

In the way I would like to do the same thing with my archive jobs, could you please post the end of the story ? I hope it's a happy end ...

Thanks in advance,

Cédric

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24260
Liked: 1865 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Trying to truncate old backups

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Cédric, if you adjust the retention policy settings, old restore points should be removed. Do you see a different situation?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 37 guests