Unable to detect database action - Upgrading Veeam to v9

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Unable to detect database action - Upgrading Veeam to v9

Veeam Logoby kawiMTF » Mon Jan 25, 2016 9:50 am

Hello everyone,

I'm trying to update Veeam Backup & Replication v8 to v9 at a customer. But it fails at the point where i have to specify the SQL database instance.

Error:
Unable to detect database action

At the first attempt i tried it with the existing database instance. The database of VBR v8 was set up on an existing SQL database instance, there was just created an additional database.

Then i tried to install SQL server 2012 R2 express and created a new database instance with its own database. Then i imported the backup file from the existing database into the new database on the new instance. When i run the setup again, the error persists.

Whats happening there? I'm not the SQL guru, so any help is appreciated.

Thank you very much!
Best regards,
Karl

-----------------------
Veeam Platinum Partner
Veeam Vanguard / VMCE v9 / VMTSP v9 / VMSP v9
vExpert / VCA6-DVC / VCA5-DVC / VCA5-Cloud
MCP / MCSA 2012
Personal blog: https://www.driftar.ch
Twitter: @widmerkarl
kawiMTF
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 106
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 10:03 am
Location: Switzerland
Full Name: Karl Widmer

Re: Unable to detect database action - Upgrading Veeam to v9

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Jan 25, 2016 10:24 am

Karl, please include a case ID to your post, when creating a topic about technical issues. Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19240
Liked: 1071 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Unable to detect database action - Upgrading Veeam to v9

Veeam Logoby kawiMTF » Mon Jan 25, 2016 10:27 am

Hello Vitaliy,

I did not create a support case for this issue yet. I just wanted to find out if any person here in the forums had the same issue and if it has been solved. I did not find a related thread or post to this problem.

But if its necessary i'll open a support case and provide the case number here, no problem.

Thanks.
Best regards,
Karl

-----------------------
Veeam Platinum Partner
Veeam Vanguard / VMCE v9 / VMTSP v9 / VMSP v9
vExpert / VCA6-DVC / VCA5-DVC / VCA5-Cloud
MCP / MCSA 2012
Personal blog: https://www.driftar.ch
Twitter: @widmerkarl
kawiMTF
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 106
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 10:03 am
Location: Switzerland
Full Name: Karl Widmer

Re: Unable to detect database action - Upgrading Veeam to v9

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Jan 25, 2016 10:38 am

You seem to be the first to report this, so opening a case is indeed recommended.

Btw, have you tried just to perform a clean install letting the setup to install SQL Express locally and create the database automatically? Then you could import the configuration from your previous version.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14346
Liked: 1054 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Unable to detect database action - Upgrading Veeam to v9

Veeam Logoby kawiMTF » Mon Jan 25, 2016 12:27 pm

Hi foggy,

Thank you. We performed a clean install, letting the setup install the SQL Express locally. We did nothing special, all log entries, job settings etc. were migrated without any action from our side (DB exports / imports or so).

So the problem is solved. But i'm wondering what produces this error message.

Should I now still a Support Case open, although the problem is solved?
Best regards,
Karl

-----------------------
Veeam Platinum Partner
Veeam Vanguard / VMCE v9 / VMTSP v9 / VMSP v9
vExpert / VCA6-DVC / VCA5-DVC / VCA5-Cloud
MCP / MCSA 2012
Personal blog: https://www.driftar.ch
Twitter: @widmerkarl
kawiMTF
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 106
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 10:03 am
Location: Switzerland
Full Name: Karl Widmer

Re: Unable to detect database action - Upgrading Veeam to v9

Veeam Logoby PTide » Mon Jan 25, 2016 12:40 pm

Yes, please open a case with support so they can gather all required information that can be used to improve future versions.

Thank you.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2860
Liked: 231 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Unable to detect database action - Upgrading Veeam to v9

Veeam Logoby kawiMTF » Mon Jan 25, 2016 1:04 pm

Hello,

I've created a support case for this issue:

Case # 01676621
Best regards,
Karl

-----------------------
Veeam Platinum Partner
Veeam Vanguard / VMCE v9 / VMTSP v9 / VMSP v9
vExpert / VCA6-DVC / VCA5-DVC / VCA5-Cloud
MCP / MCSA 2012
Personal blog: https://www.driftar.ch
Twitter: @widmerkarl
kawiMTF
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 106
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 10:03 am
Location: Switzerland
Full Name: Karl Widmer

Re: Unable to detect database action - Upgrading Veeam to v9

Veeam Logoby slider182 » Thu Feb 11, 2016 12:46 am 2 people like this post

Hello,

I recently had the same error message when trying to upgrade to v9.
In my case it was that the admin account with which the setup has been invoked had a roaming user profile.
Switching to a local user profile just for the upgrade solved the problem.
(Maybe something with folder redirection)

Best Regards,
Manfred
slider182
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 9:29 pm
Full Name: Manfred Sailer

Re: Unable to detect database action - Upgrading Veeam to v9

Veeam Logoby jim.montgomery » Thu Apr 28, 2016 7:47 pm

# 01784615

Trying simple upgrade from Veeam 8 to 9. Have done this for several clients and this time it failed with the vague unable to detect database action
jim.montgomery
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2015 2:52 pm
Full Name: Jim Montgomery

Re: Unable to detect database action - Upgrading Veeam to v9

Veeam Logoby Craigb » Thu Mar 02, 2017 12:12 am

I'm on the forums to find an answer for the same, or at least a closely related issue so I'll drop this here for now.
* This page >> https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backup/vsphere/upgrade_vbr.html?ver=95 << has the checklist but it doesn't mention the sql database version as being a prerequisite.
* my upgrade is from 9.0_u2 to 9.5.0.823.Update1
* my error is >> SQL Server version TAPESVR\VEEAM is not supported: SQL Server 2008 (10.0.0.1600.22) or later is required. <<
* same as KawiMTF (the op), I'm not an expert in sql local instances so I'm currently hunting around for an upgrade proc from whatever I have to this unlisted pre-requisite.
Craigb
Influencer
 
Posts: 12
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 2:28 am
Full Name: Craig Braithwaite

Re: Unable to detect database action - Upgrading Veeam to v9

Veeam Logoby Craigb » Thu Mar 02, 2017 3:03 am

-- best ignore that, I found the ref to sql2008 in the minimum specs area and it turns out I have 2005. This is not a veeam problem I guess.
Craigb
Influencer
 
Posts: 12
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 2:28 am
Full Name: Craig Braithwaite

Re: Unable to detect database action - Upgrading Veeam to v9

Veeam Logoby Craigb » Mon Mar 06, 2017 3:02 am

If it helps anyone else who isn't sure how to proceed, this is one way that worked.

It starts when you get the error "SQL Server version Your-Server\VEEAM is not supported: SQL Server 2008 (10.0.0.1600.22) or later is required"

* Make an encrypted backup from the Veeam menu that includes creds for jobs.
(my jobs have various credentials, I'd say that's normal for most of us.)
- use top-left-hamburger -> configuration backup -> select the encrypted option.

highest sqlexpress that can run on 2008R2 is SQL-EXPRESS-2014, download and extract it.
theoretically it'll run and upgrade existing instances, but whines and exits so no.
uninstall sqlexpress 2005 ( 1 item, Veeam's database)
uninstall sql2008 (many items including VIM databases from 5.0, 5.5, and 6.0)
no more sql applications
no more sql instances.
uninstall VMware client - (I'll put it back later though)

.. Now install sql-express-2014
the name it asked for is the instance name so call it VEEAM
.. this creates an empty database with the same instance name that B&R is going to look for.
.. Fire up Veeam (inc starting stopped services) and use top-left-hamburger -> configuration backup -> restore
.. I chose 'restore because I migrated' however when that was nearly done the Veeam installer slapped me on the wrist and did the 'recover failed server' parts as well.

Everything is fine, all my jobs etc. are still there and Veeam B&R is now running on an sql-express-14 database.
- caveat.. all my normal jobs are disabled, so I enable them again.
- It's currently rereading every tape in the library, perhaps I could have taken most of them out first but there's not that many.
- wait for the tape reading operation to finish.
- enable relevant jobs

Checks
test a manually kicked off job ==ok
let a scheduled job run and ensure it kicks off ==ok
browse VSphere from Veeam to ensure certs/perms are good == ok.
write a tape == ok
now ..
- wait for clear time with no backup tasks.
- make a new spare Veeam database backup (because tonight's backups will change the real data)
- upgrade to 9.5
.... went straight through with no issues.

so.. hope it helps...
Craigb
Influencer
 
Posts: 12
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 2:28 am
Full Name: Craig Braithwaite


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 23 guests