Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Veeam Logoby dave.webb » Fri Nov 16, 2012 11:07 am

I have just encountered this warning for the first time and wondered if anybody can shed light on it. I've Google'd and looked around this forum but can't find anything specific. I think the job completes but logs this warning:

Unable to truncate transaction logs. Details: FinishSnapshot error (over VIX): [Freeze job already stopped.]


It's Veeam Backup & Replication 6.1 running on a Windows 2008 R2 SP1 physical server. The job is backing up 3 VMs and only fails one 1 - it's a Windows 2008 R2 SP1 DFS server (not running Exchange or SQL).

I'm happy to come back with more details or screenshots if required.

Thanks in advance,
Dave
dave.webb
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 10:47 am
Full Name: David Webb

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Nov 16, 2012 11:33 am

David, for some reason this VM is treated as the one where the logs need to be truncated (probably, had SQL or Exchange installed on it previously). You can try to run this job with logs truncation disabled to get rid of the warning or, if you want to troubleshoot the issue more closely, contact our support team for assistance. Thanks!
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14346
Liked: 1054 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Veeam Logoby jpeake » Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:30 pm

I have seen this too. On a server that used to have SQL Express on it. Ignored the error at the time, and it's not complaining anymore.
jpeake
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 88
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 7:57 pm

[MERGED] Veeam Backup to Offsite

Veeam Logoby lsittech » Mon Dec 10, 2012 1:30 am

Hello All,

I am using Veeam B&R 6.5 on Server 2008 R2.

I run Veeam backup of VMWare Guest (Active Direcotry Server) to local SAN for onsite copy.
I have a second Veeam job which is backing up that same VMWare Guest to Offsite Storage in a Data Centre using the (Shared Folder - CIFS/SMB Repository Option)

The Initial Backup up the AD Server comes back completed but with Message:
"Warning - Unable to truncate transaction logs. Details: KeepSnapshot error: [Freeze job already stopped.]"
All following incremental hourly backups however work fine.

Is this warning message a huge concern to the integrity of my backups?

Thanks in Advance
Stephen
lsittech
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 10:26 pm
Full Name: Stephen Shortland

Re: Veeam Backup to Offsite

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Dec 10, 2012 7:48 am

Hi Stephen,

Transaction logs can only be truncated for SQL Server and Exchange VMs. Can you please tell me what applications (apart from AD) do you have installed on this server?

lsittech wrote:All following incremental hourly backups however work fine.

If subsequent backup job runs do truncate transaction logs for this VMs, then you should be fine.

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19240
Liked: 1071 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam Backup to Offsite

Veeam Logoby lsittech » Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:24 am

Hi Vitaliy,

At the moment I am just testing this offsite. If I can get it working ok then I plan to set up for all of my VM's.

This particular server is running AD/DHCP/DNS/Print Roles

Thanks
lsittech
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 10:26 pm
Full Name: Stephen Shortland

Re: Veeam Backup to Offsite

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:29 am

lsittech wrote:This particular server is running AD/DHCP/DNS/Print Roles

In this case I believe there is nothing to worry about, but if you want to investigate it further please contact our support team.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19240
Liked: 1071 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Veeam Logoby lsittech » Thu Dec 13, 2012 10:51 pm

Thanks for the advice. I raised a support call. For this particular issue, I had to set it to Truncate Logs immediately. then the job worked successfully without error.
lsittech
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 10:26 pm
Full Name: Stephen Shortland

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Thu Dec 13, 2012 11:01 pm

May be it used to have Exchange or SQL at some point, so the corresponding registry keys are still there. Possible?
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21166
Liked: 2305 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Full Name: Anton Gostev

[MERGED] Unable to truncate Exchange logs.

Veeam Logoby patrickl78 » Tue Dec 02, 2014 12:49 pm

I am getting an error message: "Unable to truncate Exchange transaction logs. Details: Cannot finish snapshot: no job found". The Veeam backup for this VM finished with a warning. This is the second server now that I've seen the error message on since updating to Veeam 8. In this case I upgraded the Veeam 8 console on my production side and built out a new DR Veeam 8 console. We use the Veeam console at the DR side to pull the replication jobs across. The initial case ID# is 00689855. The local backup jobs on all the same servers do not present any VSS issues and I know there is nothing wrong with the production environment. In this case I rebuilt both local and remote Veeam consoles and resolved the problem. I just can't keep doing this on each client I upgrade.

Thanks,
Patrick
patrickl78
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 27
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 11:16 pm
Full Name: Patrick Leonard

Re: Unable to truncate Exchange logs.

Veeam Logoby aharvey » Tue Dec 02, 2014 4:15 pm

I am getting this same warning randomly on VMs that don't, and have never had, Exchange installed. One was purely a file server, some are Server 2012, others are 2008. The next time the job runs, the VM may not have the warning, or it will appear for a different VM. The warnings started after I upgraded to Veeam v8. Just thought I'd chime in so Veeam knows others are having the same issue, and so I can monitor the progress in case there is a resolution.

Thanks
Aaron
aharvey
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 2:47 pm
Full Name: Aaron Harvey

Re: Unable to truncate Exchange logs.

Veeam Logoby patrickl78 » Tue Dec 02, 2014 8:25 pm

This happened on the first two servers I upgraded so I figured someone else would have seen this issue. Like you, our servers have never had Exchange on them. I really can't build out new consoles at every client to resolve this so I'm hoping Veeam will find a root cause and patch it asap.

Thanks,
Patrick
patrickl78
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 27
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 11:16 pm
Full Name: Patrick Leonard

Re: Unable to truncate Exchange logs.

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Dec 02, 2014 8:41 pm

Aaron, the best way to let Veeam team know about the issue is to submit all debug log files to our support team. I would appreciate if you could also provide your case ID, as the more information we have, the quicker the solution to this issue would be found.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19240
Liked: 1071 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Unable to truncate Exchange logs.

Veeam Logoby patrickl78 » Wed Dec 03, 2014 5:33 am

Vitaliy,

My original case was closed after I built out the new consoles and that seemed to get me going without the errors for that system. If you guys want to re-open it I will submit the logs from the replication jobs that are showing that error again on a different clients servers. The replication job is still in progress and will likely be for another 24 hours before I can grab the logs and send them.

Thanks,
Patrick
patrickl78
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 27
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 11:16 pm
Full Name: Patrick Leonard

Re: Unable to truncate Exchange logs.

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Dec 03, 2014 9:26 am

Hi, Patrick, if the issue reoccurs, kindly, open a ticket with our support team and let them investigate it directly. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 12703
Liked: 920 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Next

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests